The Cabinet of Curiosities

36 Tales Brief & Sinister

Ok what to say about The Cabinet of Curiosities. It is a pretty thick book of 36 tales that are set for the Middle School crowd. However, I wouldn't allow my middle school kids to read this one as it would give them nightmares. It would be better set for the teen crowd.

The stories range from 2-5 pages each and each story, after you really get into it, seem to have the same theme. People see the bad things happening then disappear etc. A lot of the stories feel like they are incomplete and that you are only getting part of it. You are left on a cliff with no way to leave.

The Cabinet of Curiosities is a 3 for me. If you’re looking for a book that will keep you up at night, or you just really want to scare your kids, then this one is for you!

Go into this one knowing that the stories are very similar. Even though they are from four different authors. For me none of the stories really stood out. It felt like a book of half stories that will give kids nightmares (I know it did me). Also know that if you are going to give this to your kid to read, read it first. You will want to know what you are getting them into.


Book Blurb for The Cabinet of Curiosities

A collection of thirty-six forty eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short stories by the acclaimed authors Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire LeGrand, and Emma Trevayne. The Cabinet of Curiosities is perfect for fans of Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and anyone who relishes a good creepy tale. Great for reading alone or reading aloud at camp or school!

The book features an introduction and commentary by the authors and black-and-white illustrations throughout.

Age Range: 8 - 12 years / Grade Level: 3 - 7


Night Owl Reviews Jul, 2014 3.00