Starling

Secrets of the Eternal Rose, #3

I have to say this is another series that I am so happy that I got a chance to read it all the way through. As if I had to wait for each book to come out I would have cried. Starling was an amazing conclusion to this wonderful series.

The author, Fiona Paul, did a wonderful job of sucking me in until the very last page. The characters in the Secrets of the Eternal Rose series grew so much over the past three books and come to full bloom in book three. My favorite character was Cass as she uses her brain to deal with situations even in the face of death and insurmountable circumstances she stays strong.

Starling does have a love triangle, but I must say that this has got to be one of the best ones I’ve read. I don't normally like love triangles. The author does a great job with the twists, turns, and conflicts in this conclusion and ties up all the loose ends very nicely. (But not too nicely)


Book Blurb for Starling

In the stunning conclusion to the Secrets of the Eternal Rose tirlogy, there is nothing more dangerous that a secret closely kept?

Cass and Luca are fugitives, on the run from the law and the deadly Order of the Eternal Rose. As they separate to pursue the only evidence that could save them, their worlds?and their romance?are torn apart by spiteful friends and murderous enemies.

When Cass finds herself ensnared in the Order’s twisted plot, Falco emerges once again as her only hope for freedom. But it turns out Luca has a shocking scheme of his own.

From ancient mercenaries to sly magicians, from clever courtesans to vengeful killers, no one can be trusted. In the breathtaking conclusion to the Secrets of the Eternal Rose trilogy, Cass must confront the Order and once and for all decide her destiny. Who will fly beside her when she finally finds her wings?

This historical romantic thriller is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory's The Other Boleyn Girl, Anna Godberson's The Luxe, and Libba Bray's A Great and Terrible Beauty and The Diviners.


Night Owl Reviews Apr, 2014 5.00