Nightfall

Although this CREEPY dystopian was a little slower than I would have liked and I was really REALLY hoping we were going to get a little extra to the story's end. However, I have to say that it was still beyond amazing! The creep factor in this one hit it out of the park and I am not afraid to tell you I slept with the lights on for three whole days. I didn’t even want to get up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night it creeped me out so much.

Being in a world where the sun rises for 14 years then sets for another 14 where you only have a few hours to get your things and flee. This is NOT a world I would want to live in.

I would love to see this as a movie as I know it would do well as a great teen or YA horror film!

As the book says, three teens get left behind. And you have to think about how they are now left behind in a world that is so dark you can't see ANYTHING! Now the moon is there to shed a little light but not much. Now think of how scary that is on its own. Then add creepy sounds in the night!

This was one fully formed creeptastic story for this Oct! The characters both normal and creepy were great! And I really want a book two with the same characters!


Book Blurb for Nightfall

A story where edge-of-your-seat horror meets post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of Lois Lowry and The Mazerunner

On Marin’s island, sunrise doesn’t come every twenty-four hours—it comes every twenty-eight years. Now the sun is just a sliver of light on the horizon. The weather is turning cold and the shadows are growing long.

Because sunset triggers the tide to roll out hundreds of miles, the islanders are frantically preparing to sail south, where they will wait out the long Night.

Marin and her twin brother, Kana, help their anxious parents ready the house for departure. Locks must be taken off doors. Furniture must be arranged. Tables must be set. The rituals are puzzling—bizarre, even—but none of the adults in town will discuss why it has to be done this way.

Just as the ships are about to sail, a teenage boy goes missing—the twins’ friend Line. Marin and  Kana are the only ones who know the truth about where Line’s gone, and the only way to rescue him is by doing it themselves. But Night is falling. Their island is changing.

And it may already be too late.

Age Range: 12 and up / Grade Level: 7 and up


Night Owl Reviews Sep, 2015 5.00