Black Rabbit Hall

Buy Now

Black Rabbit Hall

Black Rabbit Hall rates an OK from me. I loved the cover which is pretty much why I grabbed it and well the thing about the ghosts etc. just made me want to read it more. The issue I had going into this one is the dual time lines. We get two storylines in this one. The first being set in the 1960s and the other one set decades later. Now each one was great in its own right but the switching back and forth got a little old. I really loved the past vs the present. And although the story is very easy to follow the one set in the present seemed very awkward and not as formatted and well told as the past. The world that is Black Rabbit was breathtaking and I really hope that this author thinks about writing teen because that would be awesome. This was an OK thriller full of mystery.


Book Blurb for Black Rabbit Hall

For fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Waters, here’s a magnetic debut novel of wrenching family secrets, forbidden love, and heartbreaking loss housed within the grand gothic manor of Black Rabbit Hall.

Ghosts are everywhere, not just the ghost of Momma in the woods, but ghosts of us too, what we used to be like in those long summers . . .

Amber Alton knows that the hours pass differently at Black Rabbit Hall, her London family’s country estate, where no two clocks read the same. Summers there are perfect, timeless. Not much ever happens. Until, of course, it does.

More than three decades later, Lorna is determined to be married within the grand, ivy-covered walls of Pencraw Hall, known as Black Rabbit Hall among the locals. But as she’s drawn deeper into the overgrown grounds, half-buried memories of her mother begin to surface and Lorna soon finds herself ensnared within the manor’s labyrinthine history, overcome with an insatiable need for answers about her own past and that of the once-happy family whose memory still haunts the estate.

Stunning and atmospheric, this debut novel is a thrilling spiral into the hearts of two women separated by decades but inescapably linked by the dark and tangled secrets of Black Rabbit Hall.


Night Owl Reviews Mar, 2016 3.00