The Long Way Home

Buy Now

The Long Way Home

The Chesapeake Diaries

Within Maryland lies the beautiful town of St. Dennis, a town Ellie Chapman has only heard of. Ellie, the only child of a successful investment manager, had known only a life of privilege until her life takes a turn when her father is exposed for swindling billions of dollars from investors in a massive Ponzi scheme. Ellie loses her money, job, home and her fiancé who is found guilty along with her father. Her life in pieces, Ellie has only one place to go, St. Dennis.

Ellie arrives in St. Dennis with plans to leave as soon as she can sell the house her late mother left her. With hopes of moving on with her life, Ellie keeps her true identity a secret from the residents of St. Dennis. Unfortunately, Ellie’s luck hasn’t changed and her only chance at a new beginning is a house in dire need of expensive improvements. In addition, Ellie will be the one who has to make most of the improvements, a task larger than life for a former rich lady. Ellie soon becomes one with the hardware store, as she works toward fixing the house on Bay View Road. Soon the charms of St. Dennis and Cameron O’Conner begin to grow on Ellie, who’s not the only one with secrets. Soon Ellie’s renovations become the beginning of rejuvenation as she learns more about herself, her past and her future in St. Dennis.

Within this beautiful town of St. Dennis are gorgeous houses, colorful characters, and a descriptive setting that’s sure to please contemporary fiction readers. The novel is full of romance, warmth, personality and characters that capture the reader’s attention. Ellie is a character who’s known one way of life and had complete trust in the one person who pulled her life out from underneath her, leaving her with no one and nothing. Ellie is a character in survival mode; unsure of where to go or what to do she turns to the only home she has, her mother’s last gift to her, and the house on Bay View Road in the sleepy town of St. Dennis. What begins as a place Ellie can’t see herself staying in, ends as an awakening of the heart, mind and spirit. Ellie finds a home unlike any other she has known. It’s a beautiful story to watch unfold as she finds her way and in-turn helps Cameron find his way as well.

I love Mariah Stewart’s novels and always look forward to more stories surrounding St. Dennis and its residents. The Long Way Home did not disappoint me in my expectations. I highly suggest this book and any other novel that you have not yet read in this series. They are novels you won’t want to miss.


Book Blurb for The Long Way Home

New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart presents a captivating contemporary romance novel in the tradition of Robyn Carr, Susan Mallery, and Barbara Freethy.

As the only child of a wealthy investment manager, Ellie Chapman has never known anything besides a life of perfect privilege. But her years of good fortune come to an abrupt end when her father is exposed for swindling billions of dollars from innocent investors in a massive Ponzi scheme. And just like that, Ellie loses everything: money, job, home—even her fiancé, who’s jailed as her father’s partner in crime. With no job prospects on the horizon, no cash, and her family name in tatters, Ellie has only one place to go.

Sleepy St. Dennis, Maryland, is hardly where Ellie intends to stay, however. Keeping her identity a secret, she plans to sell the house her late mother left her in the small town and use the proceeds to move on with her life. Unfortunately, her ticket to a new beginning is in dire need of a laundry list of pricey improvements, many of which she’ll have to do herself. And until the house on Bay View Road is fit to be sold, the sole place Ellie will be traveling is the hardware store. But as the many charms of St. Dennis—not to mention Cameron O’Connor, the handsome local contractor who has secrets of his own—begin to work their magic, what begins as a lesson in do-it-yourself renovations might just end up as Ellie’s very own rejuvenation.


Night Owl Reviews Aug, 2013 4.50