The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society

Buy Now

The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society

A Novel

I have to admit I was a little disappointed that I was unable to resist putting this book down. After reading Friendship Bread, I had high hopes for The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society, that fell slightly short. An avid scrapbooker, I thought this book would be right up my alley, yet I couldn't remain focused. It took me a longer than I like to get into the book, and by the time I did, I was already wondering if I'd ever want to keep my nose in it.

Aside from the slow start, the characters are wonderful. If you love a small town feel and the quaintness that goes along with it, you'll likely grasp on to the story and characters before I did. Just beware, there are a lot of characters, of which, the author switches between, telling each of their stories as she goes along. I think this aspect contributed to my slow start in the book. Once I had a firm grasp on the characters and their stories, I sailed through the pages at a quicker speed.

Mixed within the pages of this, overall, enjoyable book are some charming characters, a few quirky ladies and a group of woman who need just a little bit of time together, creating, to bring them closer as a group. Their stories will touch readers in many different ways as the reader connects with certain characters over the others, it has the potential to be a wonderful book club read.


Book Blurb for The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society

Perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Kristin Hannah, Beth Hoffman, and Kate Jacobs, this luminous novel from the author of Friendship Bread follows a group of fascinating women who form deep friendships through their love of scrapbooking—as memories are preserved, dreams are shared, and surprising truths are revealed.

Welcome to Avalon, Illinois, Pop. 4,243

At Madeline’s Tea Salon, the cozy hub of the Avalon community, local residents scrapbook their memories and make new ones. But across town, other Avalonians are struggling to free themselves of the past: Isabel Kidd is fixing up her ramshackle house while sorting through the complications of her late husband’s affair. Ava Catalina is mourning the love of her life and helping her young son grow up without his father. Local plumber Yvonne Tate is smart, beautiful, and new to Avalon, but finds that despite a decade of living life on her own terms, the past has a way of catching up—no matter where she goes. And Frances Latham, mother to a boisterous brood of boys, eagerly anticipates the arrival of a little girl from China—unprepared for the emotional roller coaster of foreign adoption.

Enter Bettie Shelton, the irascible founder of the Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society. Under Bettie’s guidance, even the most reluctant of Avalon’s residents come to terms with their past and make bold decisions about their future. But when the group receives unexpected news about their steadfast leader, they must pull together to create something truly memorable.

By turns humorous, wise, and deeply moving, The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society is a luminous reminder that the things we hold most dear will last a lifetime.


Night Owl Reviews Sep, 2013 3.50