Sense and Sensibility (Splinter Edition)

Buy Now

Sense and Sensibility (Splinter Edition)

I’ve read this novel twice now and found comfort in the fact that my opinion of it hasn’t changed. In Sense and Sensibility, Jane Austen introduces the Dashwood sisters, Elinor, Marianne and Margaret. When their father dies, the sisters along with their mother find themselves in poverty. The riches they were used to have been passed to their step brother who has a selfish and almost vile wife. When Elinor falls in love with Edward, their impoverished state begins to look better. Unfortunately they move, separating the love birds while bringing Marianne in the path of John Willoughby. The story continues to revolve around the women’s love lives and their journey through love.

I have to say, this is my least favorite novel by Jane Austen. I’m a huge fan of Pride and Prejudice and really liked Emma as well, but this novel pales in comparison. I can appreciate the writing, though it is quite dense and slow moving, but the characters never captured my attention. Their stories were difficult to read because of their personalities. As much as I wanted to be captured by these sisters, I couldn’t quite get hooked to this pair.

On the flipside, the novel has some entertaining spots and is full of wit. I happen to love the newly re-designed cover. While I think everyone should read Austen’s novels, I can’t say I recommend starting with this one; it’s just not my favorite, though it was her debut.

Book Blurb for Sense and Sensibility (Splinter Edition)

Two sisters, very different in attitude but both in search of the perfect man, are the heart of Sense and Sensibility. Sensible, restrained Elinor seems to have found a kindred spirit in Edward Ferrars, while the impetuous, romantic Marianne falls hard for the dashing Willoughby. But each man has a secret that may destroy the relationship. Will the sisters find happiness--or betrayal?

Night Owl Reviews Jun, 2012 3.00