The Safest Lies

“The Safest Lies” was a weird book to me. I can’t even imagine living with my mother knowing she was a survivor of a kidnapping. The things that Kelsey had to go through are unfathomable.

Kelsey's life is turned upside down when she comes home and finds her mother gone days after Kelsey was in a car accident. With the help of the firefighter’s that pulled her out and others, Kelsey will have to figure out what’s going on before it’s too late.

The cover was the first thing that caught my eye with this book and the description hooked me. When I started reading I was excited and my sister even got the book from the library, but as I continued to read my interest waned. There were a couple times where I had to put the book down and come back to it later. I don't know what it was, but I had a hard time staying interested in “The Safest Lies”.


Book Blurb for The Safest Lies

Fans of Jennifer Donnelly and E. Lockhart will be captivated by this YA psychological mystery about a girl who must face her darkest fears—but can she outrun the past?

Kelsey has lived most of her life in a shadow of fear, raised to see danger everywhere. Her mother hasn’t set foot outside their front door in seventeen years, since she escaped from her kidnappers with nothing but her attacker’s baby growing inside her—Kelsey.

Kelsey knows she’s supposed to keep a low profile and stay off the grid for their protection, but that plan is shattered when her dramatic car accident and rescue by volunteer firefighter and classmate Ryan Baker sparks media coverage.

A few days later, she arrives home to find her mother missing. Now, to have a chance at a future, Kelsey will have to face her darkest fears. Because someone is coming for her. And the truth about the past may end up being the most dangerous thing of all.


Night Owl Reviews Jul, 2016 3.00