Blood Brothers

Buy Now

Blood Brothers

Sign of Seven Series #1

Hawkins Hollow Maryland is where three men have been best friends forever. Coming from different backgrounds they were all born shortly after midnight on July 7, 1977 {07/07/77). On their 10th birthday Cal, Gage and Fox set out through the woods on an adventure to camp by mysterious Pagan Stone. While there they take an oath to be Blood Brothers by the stone and unleash an evil entity that dates back to 1652. The next day when they go home Cal no longer needs glasses, Gage's injuries have healed and Fox can sense things. The safe little haven of Hawkin's Hollow is about to spend a week in evil like they have never known. When the week has past no one remembers any of the horror that has happened and the boys think that they have won.until 7 years later.

Now it is twenty years later, 6 months before the July 7 date and Quinn, an author specializing in the unknown comes to the town to research what happened 20 years ago and what happens to the town and its inhabitants on 7th day of 7th every year thereafter.

Events are starting to take place quicker this time and now involving Quinn, Layla and Cybil who have no link to Hawkins Hollow...or do they?

I wished that this book had a little more information in it on the women but.I do understand that when you are setting up a trilogy you have to leave details for the following books. I also wished for stronger sense of what the women were doing there and more of the town's history. This book left me a bit wanting but I do think that Ms Roberts is setting the storyline to lead us to places that we need to go at her pace.

Book Blurb for Blood Brothers

In the small village of Hawkins Hollow, three best friends who share the same birthday sneak off into the woods for a sleepover the evening before turning 10. But a night of pre-pubescent celebration turns into a night of horror as their blood brother oath unleashes a three-hundred year curse. Twenty-one years later, Cal Hawkins and his friends have seen their town plagued by a week of unexplainable evil events two more times - every seven years. With the clock winding down on the third set of seven years, someone else has taken an interest in the town's folklore. Quinn is a well known scholar of local legends, and despite Cal's protests, insists on delving in the mystery. But when the first signs of evil appear months early, it's not only the town Cal tries to protect, but also his heart. Biography One of the most prolific and popular writers in the world, Nora Roberts (who also writes as her edgier alter-ego J. D. Robb) publishes multiple books a year. Not that it’s enough for her fans, who tear through her unconventional romances. With her trademark mix of fantasy, mystery, and romance, Roberts has created her own genre -- and romance fans are grateful for it!

Night Owl Reviews Jun, 2008 4.50