Five Times Revenge

Adam and Perk are tired of their middle school principal and his son Hill who is a bully. The last straw is when Hill locks Perk's developmentally disabled brother in a supply closet and leaves him there scared and crying. Adam and Perk decided to enlist some other kids that have been victims of HIll and his father and together the five of them set out to put an end to bullying.

The characters are all every day kids who have been singled out for being different. The characters were all entertaining but could have been a little more well developed. Hill and his father were a bit over the top with their bad guy roles but they were still fun to dislike. I read this and so did my 11 year old. It was a big hit with my son. I remember liking books like this as a kid but as a mom I kind of cringe when they do stuff like hack into computers etc. I felt compelled to say "You know this would not be ok to do right" and my son felt compelled to give me an eye roll and say "It's just a book".

Overall a fast paced and fun story that is good for the age range mentioned in the blurb.


Book Blurb for Five Times Revenge

Five unlikely friends. Two bullies. One epic prank. Part The Breakfast Club and part The View from Saturday, this funny, heartwarming novel about friendship and standing up for yourself will appeal to fans of Chris Grabenstein and Jennifer L. Holm.

Adam is the prank mastermind. Perk is his best friend and the computer genius. Pearl is the prettiest girl in school—and a violin prodigy. Ray looks like a big dumb jock, but he secretly wants to be an engineer. And Dutch is the often-bullied dork who is in tune with everyone’s feelings. The five of them couldn’t be more different. But there’s one thing they have in common: they are fed up with Hill Parmar, the school bully—and his dad, their school principal who’s always turning a blind eye. When Hill finally steps over the line, the five unlikely schemers band together for a prank like their middle school has never seen. Lindsay Eland weaves the five alternate points-of-view together for an accessible and funny school story—and a friendship story—for every reader.

Age Level: 8 - 12 / Grade Level: 3 - 7


Night Owl Reviews Aug, 2016 4.00