The Ex

Buy Now

The Ex

When she hears that her former boyfriend is the prime suspect in three homicides, Olivia Randall decides she’ll step in and lend a hand in his defense.

A well known defense lawyer, Olivia certainly has the expertise to assist in the case, plus she feels guilty about how she ended her relationship with Jack Harris years earlier.

Both individuals have moved on since then, although Jack’s eventual wife was slain, leaving him a single father. Since one of the murder victims is a person Jack holds responsible for his wife’s death, he naturally heads the suspect list.

Convinced her former lover could never kill one let along three people, Olivia comes to his rescue, but as she digs into the case and evidence, she’s not so sure he really is innocent.

An intriguing suspense story with some ingenuous twists, “The Ex” will have the reader wondering along with Olivia if she hasn’t made a terrible mistake in coming to her former fiancé’s assistance. Although she believes this is an elaborate frame job, this may not be correct.

Well plotted with plausible characters, this Alafair Burke novel is as unsettling as it is entertaining. You’ll not be able to set it aside once you begin reading and you’ll also be shaking your head with surprise after you finish the last chapter.


Book Blurb for The Ex

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder—but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.

Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it.

Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night’s party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That’s when Jack’s world falls apart.

 Olivia Randall is one of New York City’s best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide—and that one of the victims was connected to his wife’s murder—there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him—and why?

 For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?


Night Owl Reviews Jul, 2016 4.50