Mademoiselle Chanel

Buy Now

Mademoiselle Chanel

Gabriel Chanel and her siblings end up in an orphanage after their mother dies. The Nuns help Gabrielle's wonderful sewing ability. This talent would take the young willful woman into a life far from the terrible childhood she lived. She changed herself into Coco a wonderful seamstress and a once in a while singer. She thrives on ambition which brings a wealthy gentleman into her life. She begins to live the life of wealth and luxury. When they go to Paris, Coco discovers what will be her world.

This is a novel that about a woman who is very extraordinary. A woman who created the life she wanted. This is a story of an ambitious woman who took the world by storm and left her trademark on it. The author wrote a fictional-factional story of a woman who went from absolutely nothing to being a trademark that will never be forgotten.

This is a must read for fashion fans. They will get a bit of insight into Coco and how her empire was built as well as her beginnings. Overall this is an inspiring story of a woman’s life that went places based on her making it so.


Book Blurb for Mademoiselle Chanel

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes a vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman’s daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to orphanage after their mother’s death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle’s exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood.

Transforming herself into Coco—a seamstress and sometime torch singer—the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny.

Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco’s reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her.

An enthralling novel of an extraordinary woman who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark


Night Owl Reviews Mar, 2015 4.00