Downward Facing Death

As Kelley Carpenter goes back to Belfrey, a little village she was raised in, she has hopes of opening a yoga cafe. This is different for this village. Kelley plans on a place where people can take yoga classes and also have vegetarian food. She knows it will be hard but nothing prepared her for murder.

When she returns to her shop, she discovers that someone had tried to burn it down and a body was found. What follows next is mysterious. A letter comes that says Kelley should have been the victim. Kelley has no idea why. A former school pal is now Detective Constable Ben Taylor. As she tries to find out about the fire and murder, she butts heads with Taylor and some of the local citizens. What will happen to Kelley?

The author gives us characters that have been described so well that they become real to the reader. The reader can picture this as actually happening. Kelley is realistic because she has vulnerabilities, just like a regular person. It wouldn't be a British cozy without a little romance. The book has been well written and includes recipes and some information on yoga breathing. What will come next? Will there be another book on Kelley and her yoga center, or maybe a romance?


Book Blurb for Downward Facing Death

After ten years away, Keeley Carpenter is excited to be back in Belfrey, the traditional English village hometown she fled as a shy teen, with a plan to reopen her father's neglected butcher shop as a yoga café, where she will sell delicious vegetarian food by day and teach yoga classes at night. However the more traditional residents of Belfrey do not take kindly to this idea-or really anything they deem even remotely "New Age-y." Within an hour of her arrival, Keeley comes face to face with Detective Constable Ben Taylor, who tells her that someone has just tried to burn down her shop. When officers arrived to stop the blaze, a body was found upstairs. Horrified by this news, Keeley is also startled to be reintroduced to Ben as DC Taylor, as he was her high school crush. In spite of her instant attraction to him, Keeley is determined to keep Ben at arm's length.

As she settles back in to Belfrey and makes plans for her opening day, she soon finds herself embroiled in a murder investigation. When Keeley starts being threatened herself, she realizes someone may be out to kill more than her business prospects - but can she and Ben find the culprit before it's too late? A warm, intriguing cozy debut that includes recipes from Keeley's café, Downward Facing Death is perfect for fans of Laura Childs and Cleo Coyle.


Night Owl Reviews Mar, 2016 4.00