The Pursuit of Pearls

Buy Now

The Pursuit of Pearls

Clara Vine, #4

“The Pursuit of Pearls” by Jane Thynne is book four in the Clara Vine series. Not only is the novel’s historical World War II setting my favorite setting but it is expertly written. This is a spy novel at its best.

The main character is actress Clara Vine. She is an actress for the Reich and a spy for the British government. Clara is wonderfully portrayed.

I was so immersed in this novel that I really read more slowly than I usually do. I didn’t want the book to end and tried to draw it out. Ms. Thynne’s inclusion of prominent names of the era and their interaction with Clara was brilliant. We get a sense in this book of the highly emotional, tense, and dangerous every day existence of the inhabitants of Berlin…the hunters and the hunted.

I have a tendency to live in the books I read. I feel as though I was actually experiencing what Clara did and having the same fear and terror that she felt at times. This to me is the epitome of good writing. Jane Thynne is one of my most favorite writers and I will read all that she writes.


Book Blurb for The Pursuit of Pearls

Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, here is the next thrilling historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the British actress and special agent who glides through the upper echelons of Nazi society, covertly gathering key intelligence—and placing herself in mortal peril.

In the spring of 1939, the drums of war beat throughout Europe, but nowhere more ferociously than in Berlin. The film studio where Clara Vine works is churning out movies, but each day that she stays in Germany is more dangerous than the last. Spying on the private life of the Third Reich, passing secrets to contacts in British intelligence, falling into a passionate affair—any of these risky moves could get Clara shot. So she is wholly shaken when someone close to her is murdered instead. The victim is Lottie Franke, an aspiring costume designer and student at the prestigious Faith and Beauty finishing school that trains young women to become the wives of the Nazi elite. While the press considers Lottie’s death in the Grunewald forest the act of a lone madman, Clara uncovers deeper threads, tangled lines that seem to reach into the darkest depths of the Reich—and to a precious discovery that Hitler and his ruthless cohorts would kill for.

Previously published in the U.K. as Faith and Beauty


Night Owl Reviews Aug, 2016 5.00