The Darkest Hour

Buy Now

The Darkest Hour

Have you ever wondered what it would have been like if the Nazis had won the Second World War? What if they had invaded England and continued their reign of terror, especially focusing on the Jewish population? “The Darkest Hour” by Tony Schumacker is a novel that gives a vivid picture in words of what that might have been like.

The novel follows John Rosset, a decorated war hero and former police sergeant, who is called upon by the Nazi commanders to work for them to round up Jews for deportation. John lost his wife and son in a bombing by resistance fighters in London. He takes the job because it is all he can do without bringing the wrath of the SS down on him. Eventually, he finds that the Gestapo is spying on him to make sure that he is following orders. All comes to a halt when he discovers a little Jewish boy hidden from sight by his grandfather after Rosset and his men clean out a Jewish apartment building. Everything he believes in comes back to rule and he finds that there are others fighting against the Nazis too.

I found this book to be almost frightening to read because I thought, “what if this had happened? What would the world be if this War was won by the Axis powers? It is really sobering to realize that life as we know it today would not be the same. I enjoyed reading this book because it put a new spin on history.


Book Blurb for The Darkest Hour

A crackling, highly imaginative thriller debut in the vein of W.E.B. Griffin and Philip Kerr, set in German-occupied London at the close of World War II, in which a hardened British detective jeopardizes his own life to save an innocent soul and achieve the impossible—redemption.

London, 1946. The Nazis have conquered the British, and now occupy Great Britain, using brutality and fear to control its citizens. John Henry Rossett, a decorated British war hero and former police sergeant, has been reassigned to the Office of Jewish Affairs. He now answers to the SS, one of the most powerful and terrifying organizations in the Third Reich.

Rossett is a man accustomed to obeying commands, but he’s now assigned a job he did not ask for—and cannot refuse: rounding up Jews for deportation, including men and women he’s known his whole life. But they are not the only victims, for the war took Rossett’s wife and son, and shattered his own humanity.

Then he finds Jacob, a young Jewish child, hiding in an abandoned building, who touches something in Rossett that he thought was long dead.

Determined to save the innocent boy, Rossett takes him on the run, with the Nazis in pursuit. But they are not the only hunters following his trail. The Royalist Resistance and the Communists want him, too. Each faction has its own agenda, and Rossett will soon learn that none of them can be trusted . . . and all of them are deadly.


Night Owl Reviews Nov, 2014 4.00