Inheriting Edith

Buy Now

Inheriting Edith

“Inheriting Edith” by Zoe Fishman was for me a study about accepting challenges and forging a way to resolve or live with them. Maggie Sheets is a house cleaner who lives with her two-year-old daughter. Years before she cleaned Liza house. Liza was a famous author who had a dark side. Maggie and Liza became friends, but had a falling out. After Liza’s untimely death, Maggie finds that she has inherited Liza’s fine home and money; however, there is a catch. Maggie also inherits Liza’s eighty-two year old mother, Edith. Edith has been suffering from Alzheimer’s for a few years and is becoming steadily worse. Edith doesn’t appreciate the fact that Maggie has inherited HER, especially since she has a two-year old toddler. How is this going to work? Plodding through the stresses and antagonisms will either work or not and both Maggie and Edith have a lot to deal with.

I found this book to be an enlightening read. How does one cope with an Alzheimer’s patient with patience and empathy? How does the Alzheimer’s patient deal with the gradual eroding of everything comforting, knowing that the future holds more heartache for all? I was pleasantly surprised that the end of the book was almost a new beginning. This is a very encouraging novel. I found that through it all there is an uplifting storyline which makes the reader know that life is not futile, even when it is cursed with difficulties.


Book Blurb for Inheriting Edith

A poignant breakout novel, for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat—she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.

For years, Maggie Sheets has been an invisible hand in the glittering homes of wealthy New York City clients, scrubbing, dusting, mopping, and doing all she can to keep her head above water as a single mother. Everything changes when a former employer dies leaving Maggie a staggering inheritance. A house in Sag Harbor. The catch? It comes with an inhabitant: The deceased’s eighty-two-year old mother Edith.

Edith has Alzheimer’s—or so the doctors tell her—but she remembers exactly how her daughter Liza could light up a room, or bring dark clouds in her wake. And now Liza’s gone, by her own hand, and Edith has been left—like a chaise or strand of pearls—to a poorly dressed young woman with a toddler in tow.

Maggie and Edith are both certain this arrangement will be an utter disaster. But as summer days wane, a tenuous bond forms, and Edith, who feels the urgency of her diagnosis, shares a secret that she’s held close for five decades, launching Maggie on a mission that might just lead them each to what they are looking for.


Night Owl Reviews Jan, 2017 3.50