Autumn Winds

Buy Now

Autumn Winds

Seasons of the Heart, #2

Charlotte Hubbard has written a series of books called Seasons of the Heart. I just finished reading “Autumn Winds”, the second book in this series. I really enjoyed this book and the story of a quaint little town in Missouri where there are many Amish families. Miriam Lantz is a widow with three grown daughters who is making her living running a bakery and dining establishment. As she was baking early one morning an Amish man, Ben Hooley, has an accident in front of her establishment during a storm. She helps him in, gives him breakfast and makes sure that he is not injured. They form a strong friendship that quickly becomes more than that. As things progress, Ben decides to bring his brothers to Willow Ridge to start a mill. Bishop Knepp, a widower, has other plans for Miriam. He wants Miriam to marry him, mainly to care for his children. The problems that arise between the bishop and Ben’s plans to locate in Willow Ridge provide a wonderful story. I really want to read the whole series, because I’m sure I missed a lot by not reading the first novel in this series, “Summer of Secrets”. I can’t wait to find out what I missed.

Book Blurb for Autumn Winds

Winds of change are blowing through Willow Ridge, and they're bringing a stranger to the Sweet Seasons Cafe. At first, widowed Miriam Lantz has misgivings about Ben Hooley, a handsome but rootless traveling blacksmith. But as she gets to know the kind-hearted newcomer, she wonders if his arrival was providential. Perhaps she could find love again - if only there weren't so many obstacles in the way. With Bishop Knepp relentlessly pursuing her hand in marriage and the fate of her beloved cafe at stake, Miriam must listen to God and her heart to find the happiness she longs for, and the love she deserves.

Night Owl Reviews Oct, 2012 4.50