Valley of the Moon

Buy Now

Valley of the Moon

“Valley of the Moon” has an intriguing premise: what would a person do if they stumbled on to a town that was stuck in time? This is just one question the heroine of this story, Lux, has to answer. I love the world building created by Melanie Gidion, but the book does have some problems that made me put it down and walk away from it: it lags a lot and is confusing with the flashbacks that happen to major characters.

First, Lux is a single mother in the 1970s. She decides to go camping by herself in Sonoma Valley, California to get some time to herself since her son went and visited her parents back East. She wakes up in the middle of night with fog surrounding her. So she starts walking and enters a town called Greengage. Lux meets a man named Joseph, his wife Martha and several towns’ people. Time has stood still for them; to them it’s only 1902 and they cannot escape the fog that surrounds the town. Lux decides to live with them for a few days. However, one day for Joseph and his town is years for Lux in her timeline; so when Lux go back home her son has been living with her parents for 2 years and they all thought she was dead.

Next, I love Greengage since it’s such a beautiful place; its green all around and has no bad weather. In addition, it’s not like a regular town where people are fighting to be the leader of the town or the riches person in town. Also, there are no poor people in the town since everyone has a job that suits their talents: teacher, gardeners, doctor, and so on.

Last, I noticed no grammar errors that could have slowed the story down; yet it lags a lot so much so I got bored while reading this book. Some chapters are short; just one or two pages. Melanie Gideon also uses flashbacks in this book that several times made it confusing since you don’t know who is undergoing the flashback.


Book Blurb for Valley of the Moon

In this captivating novel from the author of Wife 22, a woman who feels lost in her own time stumbles across a California community that has, impossibly, been marooned in the early twentieth century—perfect for readers of The Time Traveler’s Wife, Time and Again, and Sarah Addison Allen.

Lux is a single mom struggling to make her way when she discovers an idyllic community in the Sonoma Valley. It seems like a place from another time—until she realizes it actually is. Lux must keep one foot in her world, raising her son as well as she can with the odds stacked against her, but every day she is more strongly drawn in by the sweet simplicity of life in Greengage, and by the irresistible connection she feels with a man born decades before her. Soon she finds herself torn between her ties to the modern world—her adored son—and the first place she has ever felt truly at home.


Night Owl Reviews Aug, 2016 2.50