The Great Christmas Knit-Off

When I first read the black blurb of this book and found out there was a “Star Wars” theme wedding in it I thought it was going to be a funny book to read about a British heroine who loves “Star Wars”; Boy was I wrong! Instead this book stars a heroine, Sybil, whose fiancé left her at the alter on their wedding day. This story also covers the other missteps Sybil took in her life during the time of her wedding and how she came to a village called Tindledale, England. Sybil meets some new people in town.

First of all, as I said above I thought the heroine of this novel loved “Star Wars” movies but instead it was her fiancé. In addition, we don’t get any long scenes from the wedding in this book instead the first page of the novel starts off with the heroine being in her flat (apartment) in London, England days later. While reading a newspaper article Sybil finds out that a female taxpayer got an unexpected windfall of money from the place where Sybil works for the government. Since she was always thinking about her wedding or playing on the internet while at work during the time the error occurred at work Sybil thinks she is responsible for the woman getting the money.

Next, instead of to trying to clear up her problems Sybil runs away to Tindledale and to her friend Cheryl (AKA Cher). While there in town Sybil meets a lot of new friends: a nice old lady named Hettie who runs a haberdashery (a fabric and knitting store), Hettie’s friend Marigold who grew up on the wrong side of town but is now called Lady Marigold, and the small town’s doctor who might or might not turn out to be a love interest for Sybil.

Last, there were no grammar errors in this book that slowed down my reading, however, it’s pacing is really slow and sometimes staggers in the middle. I had to put the book down and come back to it at a later time. I kept coming back to this novel is because I fell in love in with the small, snowy village setting of Tindledale and its residents.


Book Blurb for The Great Christmas Knit-Off

In the tradition of Trisha Ashley and Jenny Colgan, this first book in a new series by Alexandra Brown—author of the popular Cupcakes at Carrington’s series—tells the hilarious, heartwarming story of a jilted bride who anticipates a lonely Christmas but instead finds herself in the tiny village of Tindledale, where the residents share her obsession with knitting.

When life unravels, it’s time to knit…

Sybil has always taken comfort in her passion for knitting, creating beautiful knits stitch by stitch. But her world suddenly unravels when her fiancé ditches her for her identical twin sister at her Star Wars-themed wedding, leaving her sporting a Princess Leia do. Then things go from bad to worse when an incident at work jeopardizes her job.

Hoping to escape her woes and forget that she’ll be alone for Christmas this year, she visits her friend in Tindledale—a winter wonderland of quaint shops and snowy rooftops. When she arrives in the idyllic town, she can’t help feeling like she’s in a Hallmark greeting card. She’s embraced by welcoming—if eccentric—locals wearing handmade knits that remind Sybil of her own creations as well as her unrealized ambitions of selling them. So when the vintage boutique asks her to make an assortment of knits for their display window, she’s thrilled. The hot town doctor has even taken an interest in Sybil, hoping to heal her broken heart.

But just when Sybil thinks she’s going to have her fairytale Christmas after all, an unexpected turn of events threatens to unspool her happily ever after.


Night Owl Reviews Dec, 2015 3.50