Wife 22

Buy Now

Wife 22

A Novel

Wife 22 is an interesting little tale about a woman who takes a survey on marriage. I have very mixed feelings about this book. On one hand the concept is interesting and gives a somewhat realistic view of marriages. On the other hand the main character whose point of view we see everything from is a total undeletable to put it in the best terms bitch. It got to the point where it was a struggle for me to read the book because I disliked the main character so much. Every time she started complaining I wanted to shoot my brains out.

On one hand the main character Alice was supposed to be this amazing super mom yet on the other the author tried to make it so that the she didn't seem like a super mom and that she had problems like everyone else. Problem was that a lot of her problems especially in her marriage were because she didn't talk to people. Instead of talking to people she went all 'woe is me' and had so much internal angst she might as well have been a teenager. She doesn't deal with her problems like an adult, and then when things don't work out like she wants or if she is confronted about her bad choices then she freaks out and goes all holier than thou.

Another problem I had with the book was that the questions she was answering were found in the back. It never stated that the questions were in the back so when I did a read through of the book I had to try to guess what questions she was answering only to find out that the questions had been there all along. The author should have stated the questions were in the back or better yet just put the questions and answers together. Overall the book had an interesting premise but failed to live up to it due to the unlikable main character. I can't really recommend this book to anyone unless you are in desperate need of interesting idea.


Book Blurb for Wife 22

For fans of Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary and Allison Pearson’s I Don’t Know How She Does It comes an irresistible novel of a woman losing herself . . . and finding herself again . . . in the middle of her life.

Maybe it was those extra five pounds I’d gained. Maybe it was because I was about to turn the same age my mother was when I lost her. Maybe it was because after almost twenty years of marriage my husband and I seemed to be running out of things to say to each other.

But when the anonymous online study called “Marriage in the 21st Century” showed up in my inbox, I had no idea how profoundly it would change my life. It wasn’t long before I was assigned both a pseudonym (Wife 22) and a caseworker (Researcher 101).

And, just like that, I found myself answering questions.

7. Sometimes I tell him he’s snoring when he’s not snoring so he’ll sleep in the guest room and I can have the bed all to myself.

61. Chet Baker on the tape player. He was cutting peppers for the salad. I looked at those hands and thought, I am going to have this man’s children.

67. To not want what you don’t have. What you can’t have. What you shouldn’t have.

32. That if we weren’t careful, it was possible to forget one another.

Before the study, my life was an endless blur of school lunches and doctor’s appointments, family dinners, budgets, and trying to discern the fastest-moving line at the grocery store. I was Alice Buckle: spouse of William and mother to Zoe and Peter, drama teacher and Facebook chatter, downloader of memories and Googler of solutions.

But these days, I’m also Wife 22. And somehow, my anonymous correspondence with Researcher 101 has taken an unexpectedly personal turn. Soon, I’ll have to make a decision—one that will affect my family, my marriage, my whole life. But at the moment, I’m too busy answering questions.

As it turns out, confession can be a very powerful aphrodisiac.


Night Owl Reviews Jul, 2012 3.00