Kept

Coveted Series Book 2

Okay I'm gonna say this right off the get go. I didn't realize this was the second book in the Coveted series. So my review is going to be a bit biased. Warning to all the Coveted series fans; you may feel completely different about this then me because you've read the first book and I haven't. This book seemed to be okay to read out of order. I have a feeling I would have been more attached to the characters had I more of an idea of what they had been through in the first book, but I was able to get a vague idea.

I thought the book was okay. It has a lot going for it. The chemistry in the love triangle is actually there to a degree you need to fan yourself. Still it doesn't all focus on the physical aspect. It also focuses on the mental aspect. And that's where some of the problem lies. I like Nat I really do, but she had a breakdown over her ex Thorn. Yet she still wants to be with him even though he abandoned her. Yes he had a reason for it. I don't think it was a perfectly good one but it does make the sting hurt a bit less. Still! when you have a breakdown over a guy that is a sign that maybe the relationship wasn't very healthy. I hate the fact they are just letting that slide by.

If the book actually dealt with the romantic issues in a realistic way I'd like it more, but until then I can't recommend it to anyone because it portrays an unhealthy relationship as true love.


Book Blurb for Kept

A funny and sexy new paranormal romance, perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Patricia Briggs, Kept features the charmingly quirky werewolf, Natalya Stravinsky, as she navigates the minefields of love and war in the Garden State.

Fresh from defending her pack in battle, Natalya Stravinsky, a whip-smart werewolf with a lovable neurotic streak, wants a little rest and relaxation. Once an outcast, she's now eager to rejoin the ranks of her New Jersey pack, and has even gotten a handle on her obsessive urge to hoard holiday ornaments. Yet Nat barely has time to revel in her progress before the next crisis comes howling at her door.

Nat's father has suddenly gone missing, captured by the Russian werewolf mafia. And as Nat steps up to save her dad from a mob boss's deadly game, two men step in to play another round for her heart: her gorgeous alpha ex-boyfriend, Thorn, and her new flame, the sweetly sensitive wizard Nick. With her life growing more harried by the minute, Nat must stay cool, calm, and collected . . . or else risk losing everything.


Night Owl Reviews Jan, 2013 2.50