Dark Witch

Buy Now

Dark Witch

Book One of The Cousins O'Dwyer Trilogy

This is the beginning of a new trilogy by Nora Roberts and she does not disappoint. This is a great beginning to the Cousins O'Dwyer trilogy. I couldn't put it down. Once again Nora hits the mark.

This story begins in winter 1263 with the original "Dark Witch," Sorcha and her three children, Teagan, Eamon and Brannaugh. Sorcha's husband has gone to war and a dark power that craves Sorcha's power is crouching at her door. She had fought long and hard and does a final bit of magic that divides her great power and gives it to her children. Each one with an affinity to a particular animal. The horse, the hawk, and the dog. When the time is right her descendants will either vanquish or join with the evil that has come after her.

Skip ahead to present day and we meet these three: Iona, Connor and Branna.

Each one with the gift handed down from the first "Dark Witch" and the affinity with their familiars; a horse, a dog and a hawk.

This is Iona's story and how she starts the battle with her cousins and her familiar a horse by the name of Alastar. Will she discover her power in time and will she be able to wield it against the foe that has come to claim the power he has craved from the beginning? Take the journey across the sea and join in this terrific story about the Cousins O'Dwyer.

Book Blurb for Dark Witch

First in the all-new Cousins O’Dwyer Trilogy

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts comes a trilogy about the land we’re drawn to, the family we learn to cherish, and the people we long to love?

With indifferent parents, Iona Sheehan grew up craving devotion and acceptance. From her maternal grandmother, she learned where to find both: a land of lush forests, dazzling lakes, and centuries-old legends.


County Mayo, to be exact. Where her ancestors’ blood and magic have flowed through generations?and where her destiny awaits.

Iona arrives in Ireland with nothing but her Nan’s directions, an unfailingly optimistic attitude, and an innate talent with horses. Not far from the luxurious castle where she is spending a week, she finds her cousins, Branna and Connor O’Dwyer. And since family is family, they invite her into their home and their lives.

When Iona lands a job at the local stables, she meets the owner, Boyle McGrath. Cowboy, pirate, wild tribal horsemen, he’s three of her biggest fantasy weaknesses all in one big, bold package.

Iona realizes that here she can make a home for herself?and live her life as she wants, even if that means falling head over heels for Boyle. But nothing is as it seems. An ancient evil has wound its way around Iona’s family tree and must be defeated. Family and friends will fight with each other and for each other to keep the promise of hope?and love?alive?

Don’t miss the next two books in the Cousins O’Dwyer Trilogy

Shadow Spell and Blood Magick

Night Owl Reviews Jan, 2014 5.00