Author: Una LaMarche

Una LaMarche is the author of two young adult novels, FIVE SUMMERS and LIKE NO OTHER, and UNABROW, a forthcoming collection of humor essays based on some of her more questionable life choices. She is also a contributing writer for The New York Observer and The Huffington Post, and blogs at The Sassy Curmudgeon. Una lives in Brooklyn with her husband and son. You can follow her on Twitter @sassycurmudgeon, and if you pre-order her next book, somewhere up in heaven, a dance circle will form and an angel will successfully jump over its own leg.

Library

Like No Other

Like No Other
  • Stars
  • Number: 9781595146748
  • Release: 2014-07-24
  • Author: Una LaMarche
  • Genre: YA
  • Tags: Romantic Elements, Diverse Books, Religion & Spirituality
  • Publisher: Razorbill
  • Buy Now

Fate brought them together. Will life tear them apart? 

Devorah is a consummate good girl who has never challenged the ways of her strict Hasidic upbringing. 

Jaxon is a fun-loving, book-smart nerd who has never been comfortable around girls (unless you count his four younger sisters). 

They've spent their entire lives in Brooklyn, on opposite sides of the same street. Their paths never crossed . . . until one day, they did. 

When a hurricane strikes the Northeast, the pair becomes stranded in an elevator together, where fate leaves them no choice but to make an otherwise risky connection. 

Though their relation is strictly forbidden, Devorah and Jax arrange secret meetings and risk everything to be together. But how far can they go? Just how much are they willing to give up? 

In the timeless tradition of West Side Story and Crossing Delancey, this thoroughly modern take on romance will inspire laughter, tears, and the belief that love can happen when and where you least expect it.

Age Range: 12 and up / Grade Level: 7 and up


Five Summers

Five Summers
  • Number: 9781595146724
  • Release: 2013-05-16
  • Author: Una LaMarche
  • Genre: YA
  • Tags: * Young Adult
  • Publisher: Razorbill
  • Buy Now

Bittersweet, funny, and achingly honest, Five Summers is a story of friendship, love, and growing up that is perfect for fans of Ann Brashare's The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants  and Judy Blume's Summer Sisters.

Four best friends, five summers of camp memories

Emma, Skylar, Jo and Maddie have all come back to camp for a weekend of tipsy canoe trips to the island, midnight skinny dipping in the lake, and an epic game of capture the flag--boys versus girls. But the weekend isn't quite as sunwashed as they'd imagined as the memories come flooding back...

The summer we were nine: Emma was branded ?Skylar’s friend Emma” by the infamous Adam Loring . . .   The summer we were ten: Maddie realized she was too far into her lies to think about telling the truth . . .   The summer we were eleven: Johanna totally freaked out during her first game of Spin the Bottle . . .   The summer we were twelve: Skylar’s love letters from her boyfriend back home were exciting to all of us?except Skylar . . .   Our last summer together: Emma and Adam almost kissed. Jo found out Maddie’s secret. Skylar did something unthinkable...and whether we knew it then or not, five summers of friendship began to fall apart.    A young adult book with a friendship story that will last long after the last s'more is gone.

Age Range: 12 and up / Grade Level: 7 and up


Book Library