Author: Teresa Toten

Being a writer is almost as good as being a mermaid...

Although Teresa tends to fall deeply in love with her stories and her characters she is not so deeply in love with the actual writing part per se. Like so many writers, Teresa battles with self-consciousness, perfectionism, and a loud-mouthed, bossy internal critic who tends to obliterate the "gosh this is fun" aspect of writing. Added to this, is Teresa's life-long difficulty of sitting still for longer than two minutes, which can be a bit of a problem for a writer. Yet, she is obsessed with writing, and is grateful for the privilege of having supportive and vocal readers! And sometimes, when there is a purple sky and the writing is going really well... she believes that being a writer is almost as good as being a mermaid.

Library

Beware That Girl

Beware That Girl
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780553507904
  • Release: 2016-05-31
  • Author: Teresa Toten
  • Genre: YA
  • Tags: * Young Adult, Suspense: Action / Thriller
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press
  • Buy Now

For fans of We Were Liars, The Girl on the Train, and Gone Girl, this powerful psychological thriller with multiple mysteries is set against the backdrop of the megawealthy elite of New York City. Toten delves into the mesmerizing yet dysfunctional world of those who manipulate but seem ever so charming. With its gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists, Beware That Girl will keep readers guessing until the very last line.

The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O’Brien appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she’s had to snake her way out of—some more sinister than others. But she’s determined to change that. She’s book smart. She’s street-smart. Oh, and she’s also a masterful liar.

As the scholarship student at the Waverly School in NYC, Kate has her work cut out for her: her plan is to climb the social ladder and land a spot at Yale. She’s already found her “people” among the senior class “it” girls—specifically in the cosseted, mega-wealthy yet deeply damaged Olivia Sumner. As for Olivia, she considers Kate the best friend she’s always needed, the sister she never had.

When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration, he immediately charms his way into the faculty’s and students’ lives—becoming especially close to Olivia, a fact she’s intent on keeping to herself. It becomes increasingly obvious that Redkin poses a threat to Kate, too, in a way she can’t reveal—and can’t afford to ignore. How close can Kate and Olivia get to Mark without having to share their dark pasts?