Author: Susan Branch

Susan Branch was born in Southern California but calls her 1849 home on the Massachusetts island of Martha's Vineyard her "heart magnet" because she was drawn to New England from childhood and loved it before she laid eyes on it. She finally moved there in her early 30's, no longer "able to live without four seasons and white picket fences as everyday architecture." She is the oldest of eight children and inspired by "almost everything." Her hand-lettered and watercolored Heart of the Home series of books are a reflection of the things she loves to celebrate, the home-arts of cooking, gardening, homemaking, family, best friends, entertaining, and the little things that make life sweet. Her newest book, A FINE ROMANCE ~ Falling in Love with the English Countryside, is a diary of her two-month jaunt through the back roads of England in search of her literary and artistic roots. It's filled with the little details, both in words and pictures, that readers have grown to love in Susan's books.

Susan has a large and loyal following on her blog at and her personal newsletter ("Willard," named for her grandfather, "another story"), filled with photos, recipes and art, is emailed to approximately 50,000 subscribers monthly.


The Fairy Tale Girl

The Fairy Tale Girl
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780996044011
  • Release: 2015-09-18
  • Author: Susan Branch
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Biographies & Memoirs
  • Publisher: Spring Street Publishing
  • Buy Now

Based on the diaries Susan has kept since she was in her 20s, THE FAIRY TALE GIRL is book one of a two part series. Together the books are an illustrated memoir, charmingly designed in Susan's style with her whimsical watercolors and personal photographs. It's an enchanting story of love and loss, mystery and magic that begins in a geranium-colored house in California, and ends up, like any good fairy tale, on the right side of the rabbit hole, in a small cottage in the woods on the New England Island of Martha's Vineyard.

THE FAIRY TALE GIRL humorously explores Susan's journey as an artist and as a girl/woman, from the 1950s through the 1980s. In the first book of the series we get a revealing view of Susan's early life as the oldest of eight children and the marriage she imagined would be forever; it's filled with inspiration, romance and discovery, and a leap into the unknown.

Journey back to the olden days with Susan, to the land of happily-ever-after, where men were men and girls just wanted to have fun. Bring a hankie, we think you might need it.

Coming Mother's Day, 2016, book two in the series: MARTHA'S VINEYARD, ISLE of DREAMS

Both books are prequels to Susan's 2013 bestselling book, A FINE ROMANCE, Falling in Love with the English Countryside, and both are proudly printed in the USA. More expensive, but hey, we're worth it.