Author: Simon R. Green

Simon R. Green is the New York Times–bestselling author of Blue Moon Rising, Beyond the Blue Moon, the Adventures of Hawk & Fisher, the Novels of the Nightside, the Secret Histories Novels, and the Ghost Finders Novels. He is a resident of Bradford-on-Avon in England.

Library

DR. DOA - Secret Histories, #10

DR. DOA
  • Number: 9780451476937
  • Release: 2016-06-07
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Sci-Fi / Fantasy
  • Tags: * Science Fiction
  • Publisher: ROC
  • Buy Now

From the New York Times bestselling author of From a Drood to a Kill comes the next Secret Histories adventure...

The name is Drood, Eddie Drood, also known as Shaman Bond. My family has been safeguarding humanity for generations, facing the hidden horrors of the world so you can sleep at night and remain oblivious to the existence of the monstrous nightmares that walk and stalk among us.

Speaking of predatory night terrors, there is a man who gets away with murder. A man who specializes in removing the problems from other people’s lives, by killing the people who cause those problems. He operates from the darkest shadows of the hidden world, coming and going unseen. No-one knows who he is, just his nomme du muerte. Dr. DOA.

Somehow, this demented doc poisoned me. I don’t know how he did it, when or where, but whatever is coursing through my veins seems to be immune to magic cures and treatments. But that’s not going to stop me from finding him and whoever hired him and give them both a taste of their own medicine...


From a Drood to a Kill - A Secret Histories Novel, #9

From a Drood to a Kill
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9780451414342
  • Release: 2016-06-07
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: ROC
  • Buy Now

New York Times bestselling author Simon R. Green “continues to deliver enjoyable, fast-paced, and fun entertainment” (SF Revu) in his Secret Histories novels featuring supernatural arse kicker Eddie Drood—who’s about to play a most dangerous game in his latest adventure....

Some call me Shaman Bond, but I was born Eddie Drood, the latest in a long line of folks who chase monsters out of closets for a living to keep humanity safe from all that is dark, demonic, and just downright evil. Needless to say, we’ve made our fair share of enemies over the centuries—and made some questionable bargains.

In exchange for the power to fight the forces of darkness, my parents signed over their souls. They’re not the only ones who’ve made deals with Heaven, Hell, and every otherworldly realm in between, but now the bill’s due for several big names in the supernatural community.

Including my girl, Molly. She, my parents, and other major players have been kidnapped so they’ll pay up—or participate in the “Big Game.” The rules are simple: get from one side of the pocket dimension to the other and kill your competitors. The winner’s debt is paid in full, and the losers get themselves permanently lost, body and soul, forever.

To save my loved ones, I’ve got to become a ringer in this deadly contest that’s undoubtedly rigged by the Powers That Be....


Tales from the Nightside - A Nightside Book

Tales from the Nightside
  • Number: 9780425270752
  • Release: 2015-01-06
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

New York Times bestselling author Simon R. Green returns to the ?bizarre and gleefully dangerous backdrop” (Jim Butcher, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Dresden Files) of the Nightside with this landmark collection of short fiction.

Welcome to the Nightside. It’s the secret heart of London, beating to its own rhythm, pumping lifeblood through the veins of its streets and alleys hidden in eternal darkness, where creatures of the night congregate and where the sun is afraid to shine. It’s the place to go if you’re looking to indulge the darker side of your nature?and to hell with the consequences.

Tales from the Nightside presents ten macabre mysteries that shine a dim beam into the neighborhood’s darkest corners to reveal things that should never come to light. Take a walk with such deadly and dangerous denizens of the Nightside as Razor Eddie, Dead Boy, and Larry Oblivion as they encounter things even more inhuman and inhumane than they are. And join John Taylor, the PI with a knack for finding lost things, as he confronts Sir Francis Varney, King of the Vampires, in a never-before-published novella-length adventure.

There may be nothing to be afraid of in the dark, but there’s plenty to be afraid of in the Nightside?

Includes ?The Big Game,” a Never-Before-Published Nightside Novella and Nine Other Favorite Nightside Stories


Voices from Beyond - A Ghost Finders Novel, #5

Voices from Beyond
  • Number: 9780425259948
  • Release: 2014-08-26
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Supernatural
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

Meet the operatives of the Carnacki Institute?JC Chance: the team leader, brave, charming, and almost unbearably arrogant; Melody Chambers: the science geek who keeps the antisupernatural equipment running; and Happy Jack Palmer: the terminally gloomy telepath. Their mission: Do Something About Ghosts. Lay them to rest, send them packing, or just kick their nasty ectoplasmic arses?

In a quiet London suburb, four university students participating in an experiment inside a reputed haunted house hold a séance that goes terribly wrong. What?or who?ever they summoned has taken their minds away, leaving them empty shells.

Enter the Ghost Finders, ready to confront an enraged poltergeist for the students’ very souls.

All in a day’s work?except the team doesn’t know that in another part of the city, a different entity has also breached the threshold between worlds. And this time what is at stake is not four lives?but the very existence of all humanity.


Tales of the Hidden World

Tales of the Hidden World
  • Stars
  • Number: B00JMTS53O
  • Release: 2014-07-08
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal, Collections & Anthologies
  • Publisher: Open Road Media
  • Buy Now

Seventeen delightfully unexpected stories from Simon R. Green—including a brand-new adventure of the Droods—take us deep into the Darkside, embroil us in the Secret Histories, and lead us into the shadowy places where monsters and demons roam

Welcome to the worlds of Simon R. Green. In this wide-ranging collection, the New York Times–bestselling urban fantasist opens doors into hidden places: strange realms bordering our own mundane existence and prowled by creatures of fancy and nightmare. Here are the strange, frequently deadly—and sometimes even dead—things that lurk in garbage-strewn city alleyways and grimy subway stations after midnight, visible only to the most perceptive human or inhuman eye.

In these tales, Green revisits the ingenious worlds within worlds that he created for his wildly popular novels. Take a stroll on the Darkside with a jaded street wizard, an underpaid government functionary responsible for keeping demons, vamps, and aliens in line. Enter the hidden recesses of Drood Hall, where the aging family member who creates powerful weapons that protect humankind recalls his long and bloody career. Join a squad of no-longer-human soldiers dispatched to combat the all-consuming jungle on a distant planet. Visit a house at the intesection of two realities that serves as a sanctuary from the evil of all worlds. Confront the unstoppable zombie army of General Kurtz in a brilliant homage to Apocalypse Now. And whatever you do, never forget that there are monsters out there. Really.

Each story includes a new afterword by the author.


Property of a Lady Faire - A Secret Histories Novel, #8

Property of a Lady Faire
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9780451414311
  • Release: 2014-06-03
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: ROC
  • Buy Now

The Secret Histories novels deliver ?a terrific, adventurous blend of genres...[and] high-octane heroism,” (SFRevu) wrapped up in a thrilling and dangerous supernatural world that only New York Times bestselling author Simon R. Green could dream up....

Call me Drood, Eddie Drood. Some know me as Shaman Bond and most simply don’t want to know me at all. For centuries, my family has been keeping the things that lurk on the darker side of existence as far away as possible from humans like you, without you even knowing we’re there.

Unfortunately for us, not everybody appreciates what we Droods do. Recently, I personally managed to survive yet another attempt on my life, but the rest of my relatives weren’t so lucky. My parents are missing in action. My grandfather has been murdered. And the future of my family lies in the iron grasp of the Lady Faire, an incredibly seductive, mysterious, and powerful being.

She possesses an ancient object that can save them. I have to steal it from her. Easy enough to say, difficult?and very, very dangerous?to do...


Beyond the Blue Moon - Forest Kingdom, #4

Beyond the Blue Moon
  • Number: B00GXSG6XS
  • Release: 2013-12-17
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Sci-Fi / Fantasy
  • Tags: * Fantasy
  • Publisher: Open Road Media
  • Buy Now

Years after they saved the Forest Kingdom, Rupert and Julia are called back

It has been many years since the long night of the Blue Moon. King Harald is dead, and chaos reigns in the Forest Kingdom. The long-lost heroes of Blue Moon Rising must return in order to save the nation of their birth—and it may already be too late.

A stunning revelation about the true identities of two Haven cops (whom readers will recognize from Green’s popular Hawk & Fisher series) awaits. At long last, revisit the world of the Blue Moon.

A continuation of several of New York Times–bestselling author Simon R. Green’s most beloved series, Beyond the Blue Moon was chosen as one of the year’s best books by Science Fiction Chronicle.


Spirits From Beyond - Ghostfinders, #4

Spirits From Beyond
  • Number: 9780425259931
  • Release: 2013-08-27
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Supernatural
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

THE NEW GHOST FINDER NOVEL from the bestselling author of the Nightside and Secret Histories series...

Meet the operatives of the Carnacki Institute?JC Chance: the team leader, brave, charming, and almost unbearably arrogant; Melody Chambers: the science geek who keeps the antisupernatural equipment running; and Happy Jack Palmer: the terminally gloomy telepath. Their mission: Do Something About Ghosts. Lay them to rest, send them packing, or just kick their nasty ectoplasmic arses?

Their latest assignment takes JC and the team to a small country village, site of a famously haunted inn. At first, JC thinks that the spirits in the King’s Arms are more the stuff of urban legend than anything that needs the Ghost Finders’ expertise. Then one story rings true: the tale of a traveler trapped by an unusual thunderstorm who retired to her room for the night?and vanished.

Trapped by an unusual thunderstorm?like the one that begins raging outside shortly after they arrive?

As the team investigates, they are forced, one by one, to face some hard truths about themselves, their relationships, and the haunting itself?truths that may push Happy Jack over the edge into the madness that he has always feared...


Ghost of a Dream - A Ghost Finders Novel

Ghost of a Dream
  • 3 Stars
  • Number: 9781937007737
  • Release: 2012-08-28
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

Meet the Carnacki Institute’s operatives—JC Chance: the team leader, brave, charming, and almost unbearably arrogant; Melody Chambers: the science geek who keeps the antisupernatural equipment running; and Happy Jack Palmer: the terminally gloomy telepath. Their mission: Do Something About Ghosts. Lay them to rest, send them packing, or just kick their nasty ectoplasmic arses…

The Ghost Finders are investigating a haunting at the long-abandoned Haybarn Theater, which is being renovated. But work has been thrown off-schedule by the some peculiar and unnatural activities. And after the potentially world-altering recent events of their previous assignment, the team thinks that a haunted theater (aren't they all?) will be a walk in the park.

Until they encounter the Phantom of the Haybarn—an ancient evil whose ability to alter reality itself will test the skills, science, and blind luck of the Ghost Finders to the limit.


Live and Let Drood - A Secret Histories Novel

Live and Let Drood
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9780451464521
  • Release: 2012-06-05
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: ROC
  • Buy Now

The name is Bond, Shaman Bond. Better known as Drood, Eddie Drood Yes, I’m one of those Droods—the family who’ve been keeping the forces of evil contained in the shadows for as long as humans have walked the earth. Recently, I suffered a slight case of death, but thanks to Molly, my best girl (who happens to be a powerful witch), I got over that right quick. Unfortunately, my family wasn’t so lucky. In my absence, Drood Hall was destroyed and all my relatives were killed. Which left me as the Last of the Droods. I didn’t much like being The Last Drood, I can tell you—and then I realized that things weren’t as they seemed. Someone had activated a dimensional engine, sending my Drood Hall off to an alternate Earth, replacing it with a burnt-out doppelganger. My family is still alive out there. Somewhere. And nothing’s going to stop me from finding them…


Hex Appeal

Hex Appeal
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780312590727
  • Release: 2012-06-05
  • Authors: Lori Handeland, Ilona Andrews, Simon R. Green, Rachel Caine, Jim Butcher, Erica Hayes, P. N. Elrod, Carrie Vaughn, Carole Nelson Douglas
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: * Romance: Speculative / PNR, Urban Fantasy / Paranormal, Collections & Anthologies, Supernatural
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Buy Now

Fall under the intoxicating spell of their hex appeal…

In the magical world that lies hidden beneath our own, witches and conjurers play deadly games. They know just the right spell to kill a man with one kiss—or raise him back again. And they’re not afraid to exact sweet revenge on those who dare to cross them. But what if you’re the unlucky soul who falls victim to a conjurer’s curse? And if you had the power to cast a magic spell of your own, would you use it?

In this bewitching collection, nine of today’s hottest paranormal authors tell all-new, otherworldly tales.  Spellbinding stories featuring bigfoot, albino vampires, professional wizards, resurrected boyfriends and even a sex droid from the twenty- third century named Silicon Lily.  But as our conjurers are about to discover, it’s all fun and games until someone gets hexed.  And sometimes, even the best spun spells can lead to complete and utter mayhem.

Includes Stories From: Ilona Andrews, Jim Butcher, Rachel Caine, Carole Nelson Douglas, P. N. Elrod, Simon R. Green, Lori Handeland, Erica Hayes and Carrier Vaughn


The Bride Wore Black Leather - Nightside

The Bride Wore Black Leather
  • Stars
  • Number: 9781937007133
  • Release: 2012-01-03
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

In the secret heart of London, under the cover of endless darkness, the Nightside caters to anyone with any unusual itch that needs to be scratched. But enter at your own risk. The party animals who live here may be as inhuman as their appetites...

My name is John Taylor. The Nightside is my home. I didn't plan it that way. In fact, I once tried to get away. But I came back. And now it seems I'm settling down, with a full-time job (in addition to my work as a very private eye) as Walker-the new Voice of the Authorities in the Nightside-and a wedding in the offing.

I'm marrying the love of my life, Suzie Shooter, the Nightside's most fearsome bounty-hunter. But nothing comes easy here. Not life. Not death. And for certain, not happily-ever-after. Before I can say "I do," I have one more case to solve as a private eye-and my first assignment as Walker.

Both jobs would be a lot easier to accomplish if I weren't on the run, from friends and enemies alike. And if my bride-to-be weren't out to collect the bounty on my head...


Ghost of a Smile - A Ghost Finders Novel

Ghost of a Smile
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780441020751
  • Release: 2011-08-30
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

The Ghost Finders answer a distress call from the private research center of one of the biggest drug companies in the world, where a team of police enforcement agents have vanished. They have no idea what they're facing-except a deadline that threatens to remove the entire building from existence if they fail to get to the bottom of the mystery.


Home Improvement - Undead Edition

Home Improvement
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780441020355
  • Release: 2011-08-02
  • Authors: Heather Graham, Patricia Briggs, Simon R. Green, Charlaine Harris, E E Knight, Melissa Marr, Toni L. P. Kelner, James Grady
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal, Supernatural, Suspense: Mystery
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

The editors of the New York Times bestselling Death's Excellent Vacation bring home a new collection...with a never-before- published Sookie Stackhouse story!

There's nothing like home renovation for finding skeletons in the closet or otherwordly portals in the attic. Now, for any homeowner who's ever wondered, "What's that creaking sound?" or fans of "how to" television who'd like a little unreality mixed in with their reality shows, editors Charlaine Harris and Toni L. P. Kelner return with an all-new collection of the paranormal perils of Do-It-Yourself.

Sookie Stackhouse resides in these pages, in a never-before-published story by #1 New York Times bestselling author Charlaine Harris. And New York Times bestselling authors Patricia Briggs, James Grady, Heather Graham, Melissa Marr, and nine other outstanding writers have constructed more frightening and funny fixer-upper tales guaranteed to shake foundations and rattle readers' pipes.


For Heaven's Eyes Only - A Secret Histories Novel, #5

For Heaven's Eyes Only
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780451463951
  • Release: 2011-06-07
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: ROC
  • Buy Now

The fifth Eddie Drood novel from the New York Times bestselling author.

After the murder of the Drood Matriarch, the family finds itself vulnerable to evil. This time, it's a Satanic Conspiracy that could throw humanity directly into the clutches of the Biggest of the Bads...


A Hard Day's Knight - Nightside

A Hard Day's Knight
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780441019700
  • Release: 2011-01-04
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Sci-Fi / Fantasy
  • Tags: * Science Fiction
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

John Taylor is a P.I. with a special talent for finding lost things in the dark and secret center of London known as the Nightside. He's also the reluctant owner of a very special-and dangerous-weapon. Excalibur, the legendary sword. To find out why he was chosen to wield it, John must consult the Last Defenders of Camelot, a group of knights who dwell in a place that some find more frightening than the Nightside.

London Proper. It's been years since John's been back-and there are good reasons for that.


The Good, the Bad, and the Uncanny - Nightside

The Good, the Bad, and the Uncanny
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780441019779
  • Release: 2010-12-28
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Sci-Fi / Fantasy
  • Tags: * Science Fiction
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

John Taylor, the PI with a knack for finding things, gets a visit from Walker-the powerful, never-to-be-trusted agent who runs the Nightside on behalf of The Authorities. He tells John he's dying, and wants to offer him an important job: His....


Ghost of a Chance - Ghostfinders Series #1

Ghost of a Chance
  • 3 Stars
  • Number: 9780441019168
  • Release: 2010-08-31
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: Penguin Group
  • Buy Now

A brand-new series from the New York Times bestselling author of the Nightside novels

The Carnacki Institute exists to "Do Something" about Ghosts-and agents JC Chance, Melody Chambers, and Happy Jack Palmer will either lay them to rest, send them packing, or kick their nasty ectoplasmic arses with extreme prejudice.


From Hell with Love - Secret Histories Series, Book 4

From Hell with Love
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780451463326
  • Release: June 01, 2010
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Sci-Fi / Fantasy
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: Penguin Group
  • Buy Now

It's no walk in the park for a Drood, a member of the family that has protected humanity from the things that go bump in the night for centuries. They aren't much liked by the creatures they kill, by ungrateful humans, or even by one another.

Now their Matriarch is dead, and it's up to Eddie Drood, acting head of the family, to figure out whodunit. Unpopular opinion is divided: it was either Eddie's best girl, Molly. Or Eddie himself. And Eddie knows he didn't do it.


Mean Streets

Mean Streets
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780451462497
  • Release: January 2009
  • Authors: Thomas E. Sniegoski, Simon R. Green, Kat Richardson, Jim Butcher
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal, Collections & Anthologies
  • Publisher: Penguin Group
  • Buy Now

From four of today's hottest fantasy authors-all-new novellas of dark nights, cruel cities, and paranormal P.I.s.

The best paranormal private investigators have been brought together in a single volume-and cases don't come any harder than this.

New York Times bestselling author Jim Butcher delivers a hard-boiled tale in which Harry Dresden's latest case may be his last.

Nightside dweller John Taylor is hired by a woman to find something she lost-her memory-in a thrilling noir tale from New York Times bestselling author Simon R. Green.

National bestselling author Kat Richardson's Greywalker finds herself in too deep when a "simple job" goes bad and Harper Blaine is enmeshed in a tangle of dark secrets and revenge from beyond the grave.

For centuries, the being that we know as Noah lived among us. Now he is dead, and fallen-angel-turned-detective Remy Chandler has been hired to find out who killed him in a whodunit by national bestselling author Thomas E. Sniegoski.


Daemons Are Forever - Book 2

Daemons Are Forever
  • 3 Stars
  • Number: 9780451462084
  • Release: Out now
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: Penguin Group
  • Buy Now

Second in the trilogy from the New York Times bestselling author of The Man with the Golden Torc.

Eddie Drood's clan has been watching mankind's back for ages. And now he's in charge of the whole kit and caboodle. But it's not going to be an easy gig...

During World War II, the Droods made a pact with some nasty buggers from another dimension known as the Loathly Ones, which they needed to fight the Nazis. But once the war was over, the Loathly Ones decided that they liked this world too much to leave. Now it's up to Eddie to make things very uncomfortable for them—or watch everything humanity holds dear go up in smoke.


The Unnatural Inquirer - Nightside, Book 8

The Unnatural Inquirer
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9780441015580
  • Release: Out Now
  • Author: Simon R. Green
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: Penguin Group
  • Buy Now

Welcome to the Nightside, that secret square mile located in the dark heart of London where the sun never rises and people can fraternize with every myth and monster imaginable. John Taylor is a P.I. with the special ability to locate anyone or anything. The Unnatural Inquirer, the Nightside's most notorious gossip rag, has offered him a million pounds to find a DVD purportedto contain an actual recording of the afterlife. John doesn't know if it's true, but someone-or something-thinks so, and will stop at nothing to possess the disc.