Sara Shepard

Visit Sara Shepard's Web Site.

Night Owl Reviews provides author pages for published authors. To update or get an author page of your own, just click here!

Author: Sara Shepard

Hello! For lots of updates, follow me on www.twitter.com/sarabooks on Instagram at saracshepard and on Snapchat at sarabooks. I try very hard to get back to everyone, so send me a message!

I'm from outside Philadelphia, lived in New York for a long time, Arizona for less time, and now I'm in Pittsburgh, PA.

I've always been a writer. I made up stories about my sister's blanket, BeeBee, when I was four. From there I wrote about squareheaded creatures, an environmental saga about little yellow men who live in vegetable gardens, teenage dramas well before I was a teenager, a book series about a Japanese girl who finds out her ancestors are samaurai (and she must be one, too), a bunch of arty short stories, and some books that maybe you've heard of. The PRETTY LITTLE LIARS series is based on my experiences there...kind of. Sort of a hyperbolic version of them. Plus some random stuff thrown in.

I've also written THE LYING GAME, which is about a dead twin and an alive twin, THE HEIRESSES, which is about a rich family's curse, and THE PERFECTIONISTS, which is about five somewhat strangers who get everything they wanted...but that comes at a price. I wrote THE VISIBLES, which is about jackalopes and mental illness, and EVERYTHING WE EVER WANTED, which features a guy who discovers his ex lives on a commune. Coming up next is THE AMATEURS, a three-part series about amateur detectives (with a lot of soapy love stuff thrown in-- and a lot of scary, dark moments too).

Hit me up on twitter, Instagram, or Snapchat if you want to chat!

Library

The Amateurs - The Amateurs Book 1

The Amateurs
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9781484742273
  • Release: 2016-11-01
  • Author: Sara Shepard
  • Genre: YA
  • Tags: * Young Adult, * Susp: Mystery, #FirstInaSeries
  • Publisher: Freeform
  • Buy Now

As soon as Seneca Frazier sees the post on the Case Not Closed website about Helena Kelly, she's hooked. Helena's high-profile disappearance five years earlier is the one that originally got Seneca addicted to true crime. It's the reason she's a member of the site in the first place.

So when Maddy Wright, her best friend from the CNC site, invites Seneca to spend spring break in Connecticut looking into the cold case, she immediately packs her bag. But the moment she steps off the train in trendy, glamorous Dexby, things begin to go wrong. Maddy is nothing like she expected, and Helena's sister, Aerin Kelly, seems completely hostile and totally uninterested in helping with their murder investigation.

But when Brett, another super user from the site, joins Seneca and Maddy in Dexby, Aerin starts to come around. The police must have missed something, and someone in Dexby definitely has information they've been keeping quiet.

As Seneca, Brett, Maddy, and Aerin begin to unravel dark secrets and shocking betrayals about the people closest to them, they seem to be on the murderer's trail at last. But somewhere nearby the killer is watching . . . ready to do whatever it takes to make sure the truth stays buried.

First in a new series by the #1 New York Times best-selling author of the Pretty Little Liars series, Sara Shepard, The Amateurs is packed with the twists and turns, steamy romance, and stunning revelations that her fans have been waiting for.


Stunning - Pretty Little Liars #11

Stunning
  • 3 Stars
  • Number: 9780062081896
  • Release: 2012-06-05
  • Author: Sara Shepard
  • Genre: YA
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Young Adult
  • Publisher: HarperTeen
  • Buy Now

In Rosewood, Pennsylvania, four stunningly beautiful girls are haunted by a very ugly past. Spencer, Aria, Hanna, and Emily want nothing more than to forget Alison DiLaurentis, their former best friend who tried to ruin their lives. But someone refuses to let her memory die. A is still out there, lurking in the shadows and digging up the pretty little liars' newest secrets.

Emily's reconnecting with an old flame, one baby step at a time. But is she headed toward true love or another bundle of heartache? Spencer's learning about the highs and lows of campus life on a trip to Princeton. Aria's seeing a whole new side to Noel's dad—and it could drive a wedge between her and Noel. And, for better or worse, Hanna's getting in touch with her inner A.

Secret by secret, lie by lie, the girls get tangled in A's dangerous web. A knows about everything, from their tiniest transgressions to the awful incident in Jamaica. Soon A will have enough ammunition to pull the trigger and end the pretty little liars, once and for all. . . .


Ruthless - Pretty Little Liars #10

Ruthless
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780062081865
  • Release: 2011-12-06
  • Author: Sara Shepard
  • Genre: YA
  • Tags: * Young Adult
  • Publisher: HarperTeen
  • Buy Now

For years scandal has rocked Rosewood, Pennsylvania-and high school seniors Aria, Emily, Hanna, and Spencer have always been at the center of the drama. They've lost friends, been targeted by a ruthless stalker named A, and narrowly escaped death. And it's not over yet.

Aria's love life is on the fritz. Emily's exploring her wild side. Hanna's kissing the enemy. And someone from Spencer's past-someone she never thought she'd see again-is back to haunt her.

But none of that compares to what happened last spring break. It's their darkest secret yet and guess who found out? Now A is determined to make them pay for their crime, and the only thing scarier than A is the fear that maybe, just maybe, they deserve what's coming to them.


Everything We Ever Wanted - A Novel

Everything We Ever Wanted
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780062080066
  • Release: 2011-10-11
  • Author: Sara Shepard
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags:
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Buy Now

A recently widowed mother of two, Sylvie Bates-McAllister finds her life upended by a late-night phone call from the headmaster of the prestigious private school founded by her grandfather where her adopted son Scott teaches. Allegations of Scott's involvement in a hazing scandal cause a ripple effect, throwing the entire family into chaos. For Charles, Sylvie's biological son, it dredges up a ghost from the past who is suddenly painfully present. For his wife Joanna, it forces her to reevaluate everything she's hoped for in the golden Bates-McAllisters. And for Scott, it illuminates harsh truths about a world he has never truly felt himself a part of.

But for all the Bates-McAllisters, the call exposes a tangled web of secrets that ties the family together: the mystery of the school hazing, the event that tore Charles and Scott apart the night of their high school awards ceremony, and the intended recipient of a certain bracelet. The quest to unravel the truth takes the family on individual journeys across state lines, into hospitals, through the Pennsylvania woods, and face-to-face with the long-dormant question: what if the life you always planned for and dreamed of isn't what you want after all? 


Never Have I Ever - The Lying Game #2

Never Have I Ever
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780061869723
  • Release: 2011-08-02
  • Author: Sara Shepard
  • Genre: YA
  • Tags: * Young Adult
  • Publisher: HarperTeen
  • Buy Now

My perfect life was a lie.

Now I’d do anything to uncover the truth.

Not long ago, I had everything a girl could wish for: amazing friends, an adorable boyfriend, a loving family. But none of them know that I’m gone—that I’m dead. To solve my murder, my long-lost twin sister, Emma, has taken my place. She sleeps in my room, wears my clothes, and calls my parents Mom and Dad.

And my killer is watching her every move.

I remember little from my life, just flashes and flickers, so all I can do is follow along as Emma tries to solve the mystery of my disappearance. But the deeper she digs, the more suspects she uncovers. It turns out my friends and I played a lot of games—games that ruined people’s lives. Anyone could want revenge . . . anyone could want me—and now Emma—dead.

From Sara Shepard, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Pretty Little Liars books, comes a riveting series about secrets, lies, and killer consequences.


Twisted - Pretty Little Liars #9

Twisted
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9780062081018
  • Release: 2011-07-05
  • Author: Sara Shepard
  • Genre: YA
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Young Adult
  • Publisher: HarperTeen
  • Buy Now

It’s been a year since the torturous notes from A stopped and the mystery of Alison DiLaurentis’s disappearance was finally put to rest. Now seniors in high school, Aria, Spencer, Hanna, and Emily are older, but they’re not any wiser. The pretty little liars have more secrets than ever—twisted secrets that could destroy the perfect lives they’ve worked so hard to rebuild.

Aria’s jealous of her boyfriend’s new exchange student. Spencer’s getting a little too cozy with her soon-to-be-stepbrother. Hanna’s one scandalous photo away from ruining her dad’s Senate campaign. And Emily will do anything to get a swim scholarship.

Worst of all: Last spring break in Jamaica, they did something unforgivable. The girls are desperate to forget that fateful night, but they should know better than anyone that all secrets wash ashore . . . eventually.


Wanted - Pretty Little Liars #8

Wanted
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9780061566196
  • Release: 2011-04-26
  • Author: Sara Shepard
  • Genre: YA
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Young Adult
  • Publisher: HarperTeen
  • Buy Now

Being wanted isn't always a good thing.

For three long years, Hanna, Spencer, Aria, and Emily wondered what happened the night their best friend Alison disappeared. Now that all their questions have finally been answered, they can put this awful chapter of their lives behind them. Or so they think.

Not every story has a happy ending, especially when four pretty little liars have done so many wicked things. Will the girls get everything they've ever wanted? Not if I have anything to say about it.


The Lying Game

The Lying Game
  • Number: 9780061869709
  • Release: 2010-12-07
  • Author: Sara Shepard
  • Genre: YA
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Young Adult
  • Publisher: HarperTeen
  • Buy Now

I had a life anyone would kill for.

Then someone did.

The worst part of being dead is that there’s nothing left to live for. No more kisses. No more secrets. No more gossip. It’s enough to kill a girl all over again. But I’m about to get something no one else does—an encore performance, thanks to Emma, the long-lost twin sister I never even got to meet.

Now Emma’s desperate to know what happened to me. And the only way to figure it out is to be me—to slip into my old life and piece it all together. But can she laugh at inside jokes with my best friends? Convince my boyfriend she’s the girl he fell in love with? Pretend to be a happy, carefree daughter when she hugs my parents good night? And can she keep up the charade, even after she realizes my murderer is watching her every move?

From Sara Shepard, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Pretty Little Liars books, comes a riveting new series about secrets, lies, and killer consequences.

Let the lying game begin.