Author: Rhys Bowen

Rhys Bowen is the New York Times Bestselling Author of the Royal Spyness Series, Molly Murphy Mysteries, and Constable Evans. She has won the Agatha Best Novel Award and has been nominated for the Edgar Best Novel. Rhys’s titles have received rave reviews around the globe.

Rhys currently writes two mystery series, the atmospheric Molly Murphy novels, about a feisty Irish immigrant in 1900s New York City, and the funny and sexy Royal Spyness mysteries, about a penniless minor royal in 1930s Britain. Her books have made bestseller lists, garnered many awards, nominations, and starred reviews. She was born in England and married into a family with historic royal connections. She now divides her time between California and Arizona.

Library

Four Funerals and Maybe a Wedding - A Royal Spyness Mystery, #12

Four Funerals and Maybe a Wedding
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: B077CNY4P9
  • Release: 2018-08-07
  • Author: Rhys Bowen
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags: Suspense: Mystery, Suspense: Cozy Mystery
  • Publisher: Berkley
  • Buy Now

In the days leading up to her wedding to Darcy O'Mara, Lady Georgiana Rannoch takes on the responsibilities of a grand estate, but proving she can run a household just may be the death of her in the new Royal Spyness Mystery from the New York Times bestselling author of On Her Majesty's Frightfully Secret Service.

If only Darcy and I had eloped! What I thought would be a simple wedding has been transformed into a grand affair, thanks to the attendance of the queen, who has offered up the princesses as bridesmaids. Silly me! I thought that withdrawing from the royal line of succession would simplify my life. But before Darcy and I tie the knot in front of queen and country, we have to find a place to live as man and wife...

House hunting turns out to be a pretty grim affair. Just as we start to lose hope, my globetrotting godfather offers us his fully staffed country estate. Mistress of Eynsleigh I shall be! With Darcy off in parts unknown, I head to Eynsleigh alone, only to have my hopes dashed. The grounds are in disarray and the small staff is suspiciously incompetent. Not to mention the gas tap leak in my bedroom, which I can only imagine was an attempt on my life. Something rotten is afoot--and bringing the place up to snuff may put me six feet under before I even get a chance to walk down the aisle...


The Ghost of Christmas Past - Molly Murphy Mysteries

The Ghost of Christmas Past
  • Number: B071V56DLF
  • Release: 2017-11-14
  • Author: Rhys Bowen
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags: Seasonal / Holiday, Suspense: Mystery, Suspense: Cozy Mystery
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books
  • Buy Now

From Rhys Bowen, the author of In Farleigh Field, comes the next Molly Murphy mystery: The Ghost of Christmas Past.

Semi-retired private detective Molly Murphy Sullivan is suffering from depression after a miscarriage following her adventure in San Francisco during the earthquake of 1906. She and her husband, Daniel, are invited for Christmas at a mansion on the Hudson, and they gratefully accept, expecting a peaceful and relaxing holiday season. Not long after they arrive, however, they start to feel the tension in the house’s atmosphere. Then they learn that the host couple's young daughter wandered out into the snow ten years ago and was never seen again. Molly can identify with the mother's pain at never knowing what happened to her child and wants to help, but there is so little to go on. No ransom note. No body ever found. But Molly slowly begins to suspect that the occupants of the house know more than they are letting on. Then, on Christmas Eve, there is a knock at the door and a young girl stands there. "I'm Charlotte," she says. "I've come home."


In Farleigh Field - A Novel of World War II

In Farleigh Field
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9781477818299
  • Release: 2017-03-01
  • Author: Rhys Bowen
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags: Historical Fiction, Suspense: Action / Thriller
  • Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
  • Buy Now

World War II comes to Farleigh Place, the ancestral home of Lord Westerham and his five daughters, when a soldier with a failed parachute falls to his death on the estate. After his uniform and possessions raise suspicions, MI5 operative and family friend Ben Cresswell is covertly tasked with determining if the man is a German spy. The assignment also offers Ben the chance to be near Lord Westerham’s middle daughter, Pamela, whom he furtively loves. But Pamela has her own secret: she has taken a job at Bletchley Park, the British code-breaking facility.

As Ben follows a trail of spies and traitors, which may include another member of Pamela’s family, he discovers that some within the realm have an appalling, history-altering agenda. Can he, with Pamela’s help, stop them before England falls?

Inspired by the events and people of World War II, writer Rhys Bowen crafts a sweeping and riveting saga of class, family, love, and betrayal.


Crowned and Dangerous - A Royal Spyness Mystery, #10

Crowned and Dangerous
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780425283486
  • Release: 2016-08-02
  • Author: Rhys Bowen
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags: Suspense: Mystery, Suspense: Cozy Mystery
  • Publisher: Berkley
  • Buy Now

Nothing is simple when you’re thirty-fifth in line for the British crown, least of all marriage. But with love on their side, and plans to elope, Lady Georgiana Rannoch and her beau Darcy O’Mara hope to bypass a few royal rules...

With Darcy driving me out of London in a borrowed motor car, I soon discover that he isn’t planning to introduce me to the pleasures of sinning in secret—as I had hoped—but to make me his wife!

Of course, there are some quibbles to be dealt with, such as my needing special permission from the King to marry a Roman Catholic and the question of where we might live after the honeymoon. Though he will inherit a title, Darcy is as broke as I am. Even his family’s Irish castle has been sold to a rich American who now employes Darcy’s father as a hired hand.

Throwing these cares to the wind, nothing could deter us from our mission—except perhaps the news that my future father-in-law has just been arrested. It seems the rich American was murdered and Darcy’s father had more than enough motive to do the deed. With the elopement postponed, we head for Ireland where he insists he’s innocent, and it’s up to us to prove it—for better or worse.


In Dublin's Fair City - Molly Murphy Mysteries

In Dublin's Fair City
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9781250091802
  • Release: 2016-05-31
  • Author: Rhys Bowen
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags: Historical Fiction, Suspense: Mystery
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books
  • Buy Now

Molly Murphy, a plucky P.I. in 1903 New York, sails back to her native Ireland on a case searching for the sister of an Irish American impressario. The woman was too sick to travel and was left behind when the family took a famine ship to New York fifty years ago, and now the man wants to settle his fortune on her.

But before Molly's ship reaches Ireland, her maid is found murdered and a famous Irish actress goes missing. Molly is shocked to discover a cache of rifles in the actress's luggage, and even more shocked to come upon her own brother trying to collect the bags in Dublin. She discovers he's now mixed up in the freedom movement, in which Molly herself becomes unwillingly embroiled in. And someone else seems to be on the trail of the missing woman, too - someone who wants to make sure Molly never finds her....

Available for the first time in trade paperback, this is the sixth in bestseller Rhys Bowen's beloved Molly Murphy series.


Time of Fog and Fire - Molly Murphy Mysteries

Time of Fog and Fire
  • Stars
  • Number: 9781250052070
  • Release: 2016-03-01
  • Author: Rhys Bowen
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags: Suspense: Mystery
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books
  • Buy Now

Molly Murphy Sullivan's husband Daniel, a police captain in turn-of-the-century New York City, is in a precarious position. The new police commissioner wants him off the force altogether. So when Daniel’s offered an assignment from John Wilkie, head of the secret service, he’s eager to accept. Molly can’t draw any details of the assignment out of him, even where he’ll be working. But when she spots him in San Francisco during a movie news segment, she starts to wonder if he’s in even more danger than she had first believed. And then she receives a strange and cryptic letter from him, leading her to conclude that he wants her to join him in San Francisco. Molly knows that if Daniel’s turning to her rather than John Wilkie or his contacts in the police force, something must have gone terribly wrong. What can she do for him that the police can’t? Especially when she doesn’t even know what his assignment is? Embarking on a cross-country journey with her young son, Molly can’t fathom what’s in store for her, but she knows it might be dangerous?in fact, it might put all of their lives at risk.


The Edge of Dreams - Molly Murphy Mysteries

The Edge of Dreams
  • Stars
  • Number: 9781250052056
  • Release: 2016-02-23
  • Author: Rhys Bowen
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags: Historical Fiction, Suspense: Mystery
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books
  • Buy Now

Molly Murphy Sullivan's husband Daniel, a captain in the New York City police force, is stumped. He's chasing a murderer whose victims have nothing in common?nothing except for the taunting notes that are delivered to Daniel after each murder. And when Daniel receives a note immediately after Molly and her young son Liam are in a terrible train crash, Daniel and Molly both begin to fear that maybe Molly herself was the target.

Molly's detective instincts are humming, but finding the time to dig deeper into this case is a challenge. She's healing from injuries sustained in the crash and also sidetracked by her friends Sid and Gus's most recent hobby, dream analysis. And when Molly herself starts suffering from strange dreams, she wonders if they just might hold the key to solving Daniel's murder case.

Rhys Bowen's characteristic blend of atmospheric turn-of-the-century history, clever plotting, and sparkling characters will delight readers in The Edge of Dreams, the latest in her bestselling Molly Murphy series.


Away in a Manger - Molly Murphy Mysteries, #15

Away in a Manger
  • Stars
  • Number: 9781250052032
  • Release: 2015-11-17
  • Author: Rhys Bowen
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags: Historical Fiction, Suspense: Mystery
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books
  • Buy Now

It''s Christmastime in 1905 New York City, and for once, Molly Murphy Sullivan is looking forward to the approaching holidays. She has a family of her own now: she and Daniel have a baby son and twelve-year-old Bridie is living with them as their ward. As Molly and the children listen to carolers in the street, they hear a lovely voice, the voice of an angel, and see a beggar girl huddled in a doorway, singing "Away in a Manger." Bridie is touched by the girl's ragged clothes and wants to help her out if they can. They give her a quarter, only to watch a bigger boy take it from her. But Molly discovers the boy is the girl's older brother. They've come from England and their mother has disappeared, and they're living with an aunt who mistreats them terribly.

Molly quickly realizes that these children are not the usual city waifs. They are well-spoken and clearly used to better things. So who are they? And what's happened to their mother? As Molly looks for a way to help the children and for the answers to these questions, she gets drawn into an investigation that will take her up to the highest levels of New York society.

This is another compelling and richly drawn mystery from New York Times bestseller Rhys Bowen.


In Like Flynn - Molly Murphy Mysteries, #4

In Like Flynn
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9781250075185
  • Release: 2015-09-08
  • Author: Rhys Bowen
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags: Historical Fiction, Suspense: Mystery
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books
  • Buy Now

Fledgling private investigator Molly Murphy's latest assignment gives her the opportunity to escape the typhoid epidemic sweeping across New York City in the summer of 1902 for the lush Hudson River Valley. And it comes from an unlikely source-Captain Daniel Sullivan, a New York City police detective and erstwhile beau of Molly's. She has vowed to keep him at arm's length until he can rid himself of his socialite fiancée, but she can't pass up the chance to take advantage of his offer of a real detective job.

Daniel hires Molly to go undercover inside the country household of Senator Barney Flynn, in Peekskill, New York. Flynn's wife, Theresa, has become the latest devotee of a pair of spiritualists known as the Sorensen Sisters. The frail Theresa is desperate to use the sisters' alleged abilities to hold a séance to contact her infant son, who was kidnapped five years ago and never found; the accused kidnapper was killed before he could tell police where the boy was being held. But the police are sure the women are frauds.

When Molly allows herself to be distracted from the Sorensen Sisters and the members of the Flynn household by the unsolved kidnapping, it is a race against time to find out what's really going on before it's too late.

In Like Flynn is the latest captivating installment in a series which has garnered an impressive array of awards and nominations in just three books: Rhys Bowen's Molly Murphy mysteries have won the Agatha Award, the Anthony Award, the Bruce Alexander Historical Award, and the Herodotus Award, and have been shortlisted for the Agatha Award, the Macavity Award, and the Mary Higgins Clark Award.


Queen of Hearts - A Royal Spyness Mystery, #8

Queen of Hearts
  • Number: 9780425260647
  • Release: 2015-08-04
  • Author: Rhys Bowen
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags: Suspense: Mystery, Suspense: Cozy Mystery
  • Publisher: Berkley
  • Buy Now

Downton Abbey fans will rejoice for Lady Georgiana Rannoch, thirty-fifth in line for the British throne, who’s off to Hollywood, where she must reprise her role as sleuth…

My mother, the glamorous and much-married actress, is hearing wedding bells once again—which is why she must hop across the pond for a quickie divorce in Reno. To offer my moral support, and since all expenses are paid by her new hubby-to-be, Max, I agree to make the voyage with her.

Crossing the Atlantic, with adventure in the air and wealthy men aboard, Mother meets movie mogul Cy Goldman who insists on casting her in his next picture. Meanwhile, I find myself caught up in the secret investigation of a suspected jewel thief. Lucky for me, the lead investigator happens to be my dashing beau, Darcy!

Mother’s movie and Darcy’s larceny lead everyone to Cy’s Hollywood home, where the likes of Charlie Chaplin are hanging about and there’s enough romantic intrigue to fill a double feature. But we hardly get a chance to work out the sleeping arrangements before Cy turns up dead. As if there wasn’t enough drama already…


Malice at the Palace - A Royal Spyness Mystery, #9

Malice at the Palace
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9780425260388
  • Release: 2015-08-04
  • Author: Rhys Bowen
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags: Suspense: Mystery
  • Publisher: Berkley
  • Buy Now

From the New York Times betselling author of Queen of Hearts comes another mystery for "fans of P.G. Wodehouse looking for laughs mingled with some amateur sleuthing." (Publishers Weekly)

Lady Georgiana Rannoch won’t deny that being thirty-fifth in line for the British throne has its advantages. Unfortunately, money isn’t one of them. And sometimes making ends meet requires her to investigate a little royal wrongdoing.

 

While my beau Darcy is off on a mysterious mission, I am once again caught between my high birth and empty purse. I am therefore relieved to receive a new assignment from the Queen—especially one that includes lodging. The King’s youngest son, George, is to wed Princess Marina of Greece, and I shall be her companion at the supposedly haunted Kensington Palace.

 

My duties are simple: help Marina acclimate to English life, show her the best of London and, above all, dispel any rumors about George’s libertine history. Perhaps that last bit isn’t so simple.

 

George is known for his many affairs with women as well as men—including the great songwriter Noel Coward. But things truly get complicated when I search the Palace for a supposed ghost only to encounter an actual dead person: a society beauty said to have been one of Prince George’s mistresses.

 

Nothing spoils a royal wedding more than murder, and the Queen wants the whole matter hushed. But as the investigation unfolds—and Darcy, as always, turns up in the most unlikely of places—the investigation brings us precariously close to the prince himself.


For the Love of Mike - Molly Murphy Mysteries, #3

For the Love of Mike
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9781250060501
  • Release: 2015-06-09
  • Author: Rhys Bowen
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags: Historical Fiction, Suspense: Mystery
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books
  • Buy Now

Molly Murphy is starting to think the cards are stacked against her. She's determined to be a private detective, but hampering her investigations is the fact that she's finding many places in turn-of-the-century New York City where women are not welcome, something that's as frustrating to her fiery Irish pride as it is to her rapidly emptying pocketbook.

Then two business opportunities pop up simultaneously. An aristocratic family in Dublin fears their daughter has fled to the New World with her unsavory boyfriend, and they hire Molly to track the two down and send the young woman back home. Before she has time to consider her good luck, she's asked to go undercover as a piece worker in the garment business and investigate a potential case of industrial espionage. Now if she can only solve both cases without the help of Daniel Sullivan, the police captain who claims he loves her but who is engaged to someone else...

Full of the rich detail of New York's teeming immigrant community and the colorful historical personalities of the age, For the Love of Mike is the triumphant third installment in Rhys Bowen's New York Times bestselling series, now in trade paperback.