Author: Nicole Arlyn

I was born in Brooklyn NY. I started writing from as far back as I can remember. Scribbles of things, poems, feelings, thoughts, little fairy tales and diaries. I read all the time, from a very early age, romance novels mostly, classical novels, and any book I could get my hands on. I loved writing more than anything and the very first thing I ever thought I would be and do with my life, was to be an author. While living in Paris, where I wrote passionately everyday, I sometimes read my poems on the street, and I have also read my poems in poetry lounges both in Paris and New York (Cornelia Street and the Nuyoricans Poets Cafe) and in Los Angeles (Beyond Baroque).

I had my first play, The Holy Hooker, produced in Los Angeles to great reviews. The other plays I have written are called Broken Ribs, and Embrace of the Father. I have also written hundreds of poems in stream of consciousness and some short stories. As well as The Sugarspear Chronicles, I have also written another novel called, Gigi’s Room and am at work on another book in Rome, Italy and more fairy tales.

I live back and fourth between New York City and Rome, Italy.


Sadie Sugarspear and the Weeping Willow - The Sugarspear Chronicles: The Strange and Dark Journey of Sadie Sugarspear

Sadie Sugarspear and the Weeping Willow
  • Number: B00FK6VNK0
  • Release: 2013-09-30
  • Author: Nicole Arlyn
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: * Young Adult, Urban Fantasy / Paranormal, * Fantasy, * Under 45k Words
  • Publisher: Nicole Arlyn
  • Buy Now

In a small town called Muddlewoods, a brave young girl named SADIE SUGARSPEAR fights everyday to survive the brutal menace of her stepfather, RALPH TORNACHILD. Sadie looks for peace every chance she gets, finding something like a sanctuary under a weeping willow and in the one thing her real father, SAM SUGARSPEAR, had left behind—a book about an imaginary land and the King that granted wishes, a book Sam read from each and every night to Sadie before he up and left.

But one day, when Ralph’s cruelty reaches unimaginable lows and he rapes Sadie, she runs away and hides inside a crevice in her beloved willow tree. To her surprise, the tree opens up completely, sending Sadie falling down into the abyss.

When she comes to, she learns that the strange land in which she has landed is a placed called the Land of Thornesboggle. And in this land, Sadie sets out on the mission of and for her life—to find the wish granting King that she’d so often read about and heard about from her father, the one and only KING ORPHANOS. She just knows that all her problems and all her pains will disappear if she could only speak to the King. Now if only things were that simple...

From every nook and cranny of this unfamiliar landscape, Sadie is confronted by the demons and monsters that she has carried inside her for so long, all of them coming to slimy and blood-thirsty life. There is nowhere to run. There is nowhere to hide. There is only one option—to use every drop of energy, wits, and faith she possesses to defeat the creatures that are coming for her to obtain the secret treasure that she unwittingly carries within her.

It is a journey full of heartbreak, full of pain, full of physical challenges that seem insurmountable. It is a journey filled with giant snakes, kindly frogs, burning swamps, mud-men and witches, angels and vampires. It is a journey in which Sadie will not only test the limitations of her own strength, but will force her to learn to trust, to love, and to fight for what she believes in. It is a journey in which she falls in love, experiences sex and passion, and finds that the King of Wishes is not what she’d hoped he’d be.

Ultimately, Sadie grows into a woman through the experience and when she encounters the one person who she has longed for more than anybody else, even more than the King himself—her father, Sam—she realizes that she has all the tools now to live her life without him, that inside, she has found the strength to make her own wishes come true.

Book Library

  • Sadie Sugarspear and the Weeping Willow Sadie Sugarspear and the Weeping Willow