Author: Maria T. Lennon

Student life suited me. At the age of fifteen I left California for Switzerland and in between getting kicked in and out of several schools, I was able to make it almost all the way through. But not quite.

Library

Watch Out, Hollywood! - More Confessions of a So-called Middle Child

Watch Out, Hollywood!
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780062126931
  • Release: 2014-08-26
  • Author: Maria T. Lennon
  • Genre: YA
  • Tags: Kids: Children's
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Buy Now

Hilarious tween heroine Charlie C. Cooper—reformed bully, misguided fashionista, and so-called middle child—is back! This sequel to Confessions of a So-called Middle Child will delight fans of Louise Rennison, Mean Girls, and Harriet the Spy.

Charlie's adventures offer a fresh look at middle school, bullying, and mean girls. In Book Two, Charlie navigates sudden celebrity and auditions for a television series, but a little white lie may endanger the one friendship Charlie can truly count on—and her connection to swoon-worthy crush Bobby! Poignant and seriously funny, Charlie's account of her dilemma is one all tweens will relate to.

Charlie knows what it feels like to be stuck in the middle, but it's finally her time to shine. After saving her friend Marta in the old Houdini tunnels of Los Angeles, Charlie's become a local hero, gained sudden celebrity, and *MIGHT* just become a TV star! But will Charlie let her newfound fame go to her head? Watch out, Hollywood!


Confessions of a So-called Middle Child

Confessions of a So-called Middle Child
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9780062126917
  • Release: 2014-08-26
  • Author: Maria T. Lennon
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Kids: Children's
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Buy Now

Meet Charlie C. Cooper, reformed bully, misguided fashionista, and so-called middle child! Fans of Louise Rennison, Harriet the Spy, and Mean Girls will cheer when they meet her. This fresh tween coming-of-age story is an honest look at bullying and the obstacles of middle school from talented screenwriter Maria T. Lennon. Extras in the back of the paperback offer tidbits about famous middle children (including Abraham Lincoln and Madonna) and a special interview with heroine Charlie herself.

Both seriously funny and poignant, this story follows the hilarious Charlie as she tries to fit in at her new school in Los Angeles. As a middle child, she knows what it feels like to be overlooked. To get attention, she resorts to becoming a prankster, which leads to big trouble. So her therapist gives her a seventh-grade mission—she must turn over a new leaf, find the most bullied girl at her school ("Marta the Farta"), and become her friend.

Charlie faces down the mean girls and decides between right and wrong once and for all. And she does it all in turquoise Doc Martens boots! As Charlie learns to help Marta, she uncovers the meaning of true friendship and impresses new crush Bobby along the way.