Author: M.D. Grimm

I'm a Pisces born on February 29th. I've wanted to write since the second grade, and I am forever grateful I had parents who never told me I couldn't. They encouraged me to write, but also told me I should get a day job that would pay the bills, since writing isn't always lucrative. So, I grew up with a practical view of writing. I never did it for money. Don't get me wrong, I like being paid for doing what I love, but I would do it anyway. I have to write. It's a compulsion. I know for a fact I would be mightily depressed if I didn't write; if I didn't continue to create characters, stories, magic in the most ordinary circumstances.

I am an intense reader, escaping from mundane life and living vicariously through characters. I write what I love to read, which is escapist stories. I'm not ashamed of that. I read and write to escape.

I know not everyone will like my stories and characters. That's fine. I'm still growing as a writer and as a person, so I know not every book will be perfection. I like to read critical reviews, however, to see if they have any suggestions or valid points to make about the story. But if the review is just to be cruel, then I roll my eyes and move on. No one is going to stop me from writing. No one is going to scare my muse away (she's a tough old bird).

I'm a huge fan of mythology. Any and all mythology and I also love creating my own. I also love dragons (who doesn't?), and other mythological creatures. I'm a big fan of the paranormal (ghosts, demons, and angels), and classic literature (Frankenstein, Dracula, Jane Austen..."classic" varies). I was an English Literature major in college, can you tell?

So enjoy! And if you love my books (or just like), please leave reviews so other people can find the magic I'm trying to bring to the world!

Library

Kindred Truths - The Shifters Book 12

Kindred Truths
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: B0767NH3XF
  • Release: 2017-10-25
  • Author: M.D. Grimm
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romance: Speculative / PNR, GLBTQ+
  • Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
  • Buy Now

Agent Poe loves being part of the Agency—an organization devoted to protecting shape-shifters—and he especially loves his mate of only a couple of months, Nordik, the nigh immortal master bear shifter. He has the best of both worlds—the man he loves and the job he loves. But when Nordik reveals he’s ready to rejoin society and accompany Poe on his missions, Poe must take the next step and make them a full partnership.

After the Agency intercepts a message from Arcas, the leader of the Knights of the Dawn—a cult bent on the annihilation of shifters—meant for his followers, their job gets a whole lot harder. The Knights don’t bother keeping their activities hidden anymore, stretching the Agency’s resources thinner than ever.

After a near-fatal mission almost costs Poe his life, Nordik insists on a break for both of them. They visit Poe’s family in Ireland and learn that true danger lies not without, but within. There’s no greater betrayal than that of a loved one.


Emerald: Good and Evil - The Stones of Power, #5

Emerald: Good and Evil
  • Number: 9781610409964
  • Release: 2015-11-17
  • Author: M.D. Grimm
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: GLBTQ+, * Fantasy
  • Publisher: Closed / Torquere Press, LLC.
  • Buy Now

Home. Family.

Those words often invoke a sense of love and comfort. But for the dark mage Morgorth, they mean hate and pain. As the seventh son of a seventh son, many believe Morgorth’s destiny is to become the Destroyer. His father embraced such a future and trained Morgorth through torture and fear to become his weapon. Morgorth managed to escape his father’s cruelty, but not the nightmares that still haunt him. For many years he’s lived with the stain of his father’s savagery, but now he must confront his nightmares head-on.

His father has found a stone of power.

Morgorth must return to his land of birth, to the memories he’s tried his entire life to suppress. Aishe is determined to help Morgorth defeat his inner demons, but he knows he might not be enough to save Morgorth from embracing his darkness. They know it will be a fight to the death and know Morgorth won’t be the same if he survives. With Aishe by his side, Morgorth hunts for his father, and finds answers to questions he never dared to ask—and must live with the truths they reveal.


Agate: Then and Now - The Stones of Power, #4

Agate: Then and Now
  • Number: B013HBA5KI
  • Release: 2015-08-04
  • Author: M.D. Grimm
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: GLBTQ+, * Fantasy
  • Publisher: Closed / Torquere Press, LLC.
  • Buy Now

Time travel. For mages, it violates their number one rule: what the Mother has written, let no one unwrite. The Mother writes the destinies of the creatures on the world of Karishian. If her writings were undone, it is feared that Creation itself could be undone. The Dark Mage Morgorth takes this rule to heart, but there are others who do not.

Morgorth is about to claim a stone of power when it is stolen from him by a female mage he hasn't seen in decades. As they struggle for the stone, she activates it, and Morgorth is unwillingly plunged into another time and another place. It isn't long before he realizes what time he's found himself in and there are a few familiar faces.

Most notable is a much younger version of Aishe. His mate.

Living with a tribe who will be massacred, caring for a young lad who will become his mate, and fighting a battle against a mage who can travel from past to future at a whim; Morgorth's life has never been easy but now he must contend with the will of the Mother. Unable to change the future and the tragedies of Aishe's life, he must decide what his role in his mate's past will be, and ask himself one vital question: how does one defeat time?


Amethyst: Bow and Arrow - Stones of Power, #3

Amethyst: Bow and Arrow
  • Number: B00KXB1OS8
  • Release: 2014-06-10
  • Author: M.D. Grimm
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: GLBTQ+, * Fantasy
  • Publisher: Closed / Torquere Press, LLC.
  • Buy Now

Every story has more than one point of view.

As mate to the Dark Mage Morgorth, Aishe has learned a lot about magick, love, and himself. He tries to find a home with Morgorth, to be accepted into his world and to survive in a world full of treachery and deception. But all the while he struggles to keep a secret about his past and their intertwined destinies. Despite the obstacles thrown at both of them, Aishe is determined to stay by Morgorth’s side, no matter what the future brings -- even if that future turns dark with death should Morgorth embrace his grim destiny.

When Morgorth leaves with his mentor to collect another stone of power, Aishe is left behind. It is then that a surprise attack comes, and Aishe, determined to protect and defend his new home, decides to take the invaders on by himself. It might prove to be too much for him to handle... especially when he learns the one who leads the invaders is a mage.

The third book in the “Stones of Power” series allows us a glimpse inside the mind of Lord Morgorth’s better half, a dialen named Aishe: his motivations, his personal sorrows, and his struggle to find a place to call home.


Peridot: War and Peace - Stones of Power, #2

Peridot: War and Peace
  • Number: B00EJIX3OO
  • Release: 2013-08-13
  • Author: M.D. Grimm
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: GLBTQ+, * Fantasy
  • Publisher: Closed / Torquere Press, LLC.
  • Buy Now

Morgorth is known as the Dark Mage of the North. Now all he feels is light and love as he pursues a budding relationship with Aishe, a dialen of the Ravena tribe. Morgorth hardly believes his good fortune. He has allowed Aishe into his home, his bed, his heart. He laughs more, smiles more, and feels happier than he ever has.

He should have known such bliss never lasts.

The Council of Mages, the ruling body over all mages on Karshian, knows he has Rambujek, a major stone of power -- won from a sorcerer. They also know his destiny -- to become the Destroyer. Fearful, they send two emissaries to take the stone from Morgorth, using whatever means necessary, including tricks, threats to those under his protection, and the threat of war. A war Morgorth knows he would never survive.

Conflict arises between him and Aishe. Their tenuous relationship is put into jeopardy, and their very beliefs are put into question. Morgorth doubts that he should keep Aishe in his life. Can he protect Aishe from his enemies, as well as the monster he might become?


Hunter and Hunted - The Shifters, #4

Hunter and Hunted
  • Number: B00AIR91PU
  • Release: 2012-12-04
  • Author: M.D. Grimm
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romance: Speculative / PNR, GLBTQ+, Diverse Books, * Under 45k Words
  • Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
  • Buy Now

Orphan Hunter Landon craves a family who will love him unconditionally. When he’s adopted by the Knights, an organization dedicated to destroying shifters, Hunter is grateful, but their ideology never sits right. Finally, on a rite of passage during which he’s supposed to kill his first shifter, Hunter discovers the truth: he meets Glenn Lightfoot, a deer shifter, and asks a lot of questions.

Glenn hates the Knights and worries about the safety of his herd with one in their midst. After all, the Knights have hurt his family before. On the other hand, this is his chance to convert an enemy, and some instinct tells him Hunter won’t betray him.

Soon Hunter sees the Knights for the monsters they are. When his time is up, he leaves the herd to protect Glenn. But Glenn is determined not to lose the man he has come to love and respect to the Knights' cruel campaign.


Ruby - The Stones of Power, #1

Ruby
  • Stars
  • Number: 9781610403542
  • Release: 2012-08-07
  • Author: M.D. Grimm
  • Genre: HOT Romance
  • Tags: * SPICY: HOT Romance, * Contemporary, GLBTQ+
  • Publisher: Closed / Torquere Press, LLC.
  • Buy Now

Morgorth is a mage on the planet Karishian. There is little he hates more than the Stones of Power -- gemstones infused with magick by the first seven mages ever born. So when a sorcerer gets hold of a major stone, a ruby, Morgorth has no choice but to go after him. But, to his irritation, he is not alone. Aishe is a dialen whose tribe was massacred by the sorcerer, and is now on a mission of vengeance. The attraction is instant between them, but Morgorth keeps his distance. Because of a traumatic childhood and a deadly destiny, he has no desire for emotional complications. But Aishe's very presence challenges Morgorth's resolve.

Not only does Morgorth begin to admire Aishe's strength and intelligence, but he begins to see Aishe as a friend. As their hunt continues and their time together lengthens, their bond deepens, as does Morgorth's fear. If he becomes the monster that destiny claims he will, will he hurt Aishe? Will he harm the one person who sees right through him? Who accepts him wholeheartedly? Determined to not let that happen, Morgorth keeps Aishe at a distance, but when Aishe is kidnapped by the sorcerer, what will Morgorth do to get him back? (233 Pages)


Love is a Whirlwind - The Shifters, #2

Love is a Whirlwind
  • Number: B007BYZS4G
  • Release: 2012-02-21
  • Author: M.D. Grimm
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romance: Speculative / PNR, Western, GLBTQ+, * Fantasy
  • Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
  • Buy Now

Ryan and Caleb became the best of friends while Caleb taught Ryan as best he could about being human. Born a bull shifter named Whirlwind, Ryan was taken in by Caleb’s mother, who wanted to protect him—just as Caleb did. Their time together leads to deeper feelings... and now they’ve decided to give a relationship a chance. Unfortunately, Ryan is kidnapped, and Caleb has to call in the Agency—an organization that protects shifters—or their new life together will end before it ever starts.


Psychic Moon

Psychic Moon
  • Stars
  • Number: B005EUR83I
  • Release: 2011-07-27
  • Author: M.D. Grimm
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romance: Speculative / PNR, GLBTQ+
  • Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
  • Buy Now

Humane Officer Derek Wiliams has been toying with the idea of asking out Brian O’Donogue since the veterinarian started working at the Pet Rescue Center two years ago. So why hasn’t he made his move? It’s complicated… but it has something to do with the fact that Derek occasionally likes to run around on four legs instead of two.

Recovering from an abusive relationship and hiding supernatural abilities of his own, Brian takes a chance and agrees to go on a date with Derek. The ensuing relationship is better than either of them could have hoped—until a rogue wolf shifter attacks Brian while he’s walking his dogs. The abrupt attack forces Derek to confront his feelings, but the danger isn’t over. The rogue shifter is out there, and he’s hunting them.


Book Library