Author: Lisa Shearin

Lisa Shearin currently works as the editor at an advertising agency. She has been a magazine editor and writer of corporate marketing materials of every description. Lisa enjoys singing, reading, writing novels, and fencing. She lives in North Carolina with her husband, two cats, two spoiled-rotten retired racing greyhounds, and a Jack Russell terrier who rules them all. Visit her online at www.lisashearin.com.

Library

The Myth Manifestation - A SPI Files Novel, #5

The Myth Manifestation
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: B078SC3ZSR
  • Release: 2018-01-16
  • Author: Lisa Shearin
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: NLA Digital LLC
  • Buy Now

The agents of Supernatural Protection & Investigations (SPI) protect people from predatory supernaturals. This time, we’re the ones who need protection.

New York is one of the most popular convention destinations in the world—for humans and supernaturals. Every hundred years, rulers of the world’s supernatural races come together to negotiate and renew a peace treaty. Meeting in the same hotel are the governors of our world’s goblin and elf colonies. SPI is saddled with the security nightmare of keeping the living delegates alive and the undead delegates from becoming permanently deceased. We’ve got our work cut out for us.

I’m Makenna Fraser, seer for SPI. Our security nightmare becomes real when monsters from the delegates’ mythologies begin mysteriously appearing in the flesh to hunt delegates from every side of the debate. And when the hotel gets sucked into another dimension, there’s no escape.

We discover that we’re all pieces in an elaborate and deadly game. A game about to spill out into the real world. Failing to escape is game over and not an option. We have to save the world—but first, we have to save ourselves.


Ruins and Revenge - Raine Benares, #9

Ruins and Revenge
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: B0713Q3F9T
  • Release: 2017-05-02
  • Author: Lisa Shearin
  • Genre: Sci-Fi / Fantasy
  • Tags: * Fantasy
  • Publisher: NLA Digital LLC
  • Buy Now

An ancient power.

Beneath a mountain on an uninhabited continent is said to be a fabled city, a city occupied by an ancient goblin civilization founded for only one reason—to protect and defend the Heart of Nidaar, an artifact that can harness the forces of nature as a weapon.

An elite team of combat mages.

Chief mage and goblin duke Tamnais Nathrach must help the guardians keep the legendary power out of the hands of a malevolent goblin brotherhood and their otherworldly allies, whatever the cost. Together with his hand-picked team—which includes elf pirate (and team demolitions expert) Phaelan Benares—Tam descends into a vast subterranean world both wondrous and terrifying, a world laid with deadly traps and filled with apex predators from another age.

The countdown to the end of the world.

Some secrets are meant to stay buried. When the Heart of Nidaar is accidentally awakened, and aimed at the west coast of the Seven Kingdoms, Tam and his team are in a race against time to prevent the deaths of millions. To succeed, they must confront their deepest fears, unmask their darkest secrets, and reveal their shameful pasts, testing the bonds of friendship and beyond. To fail means death for them all—and the end of all life in the Seven Kingdoms.


The Ghoul Vendetta - A SPI Files Novel, #4

The Ghoul Vendetta
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9781101989401
  • Release: 2017-01-31
  • Author: Lisa Shearin
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

Men in Black meets Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum in the fourth urban fantasy novel in the series starring seer Makenna Fraser and her fellow agents at Supernatural Protection & Investigation.

The agents of Supernatural Protection & Investigations (SPI) are paid to keep the peace. But that’s not so easy when an endless evil threatens to tear that peace to pieces...

A vampire gangster’s nephew is abducted off his yacht by a bunch of low-rent Creatures from the Black Lagoon. A slew of banks are knocked over by what looks like the cast of Night of the Living Dead. All of this may seem like the movies, but, I promise you, it’s not.

I’m Makenna Fraser, seer for SPI, and I know the culprits aren’t wearing disguises or makeup. They’re real. Deadly real. Especially their leader—an ancient shapeshifter who leaves a trail of chaos and blood in his wake. Now, he’s taken my partner, Ian—and his intentions aren’t pretty.

The worst part? This is only the beginning...

The beginning of the end of the human race.


Wedding Bells, Magic Spells - Raine Benares, #8

Wedding Bells, Magic Spells
  • Stars
  • Number: B01AOKY63W
  • Release: 2016-02-16
  • Author: Lisa Shearin
  • Genre: Sci-Fi / Fantasy
  • Tags: * Fantasy
  • Publisher: NLA Digital LLC
  • Buy Now

Name: Raine Benares

Race: Elf

Job: Seeker, bride, peace talks referee

Problem: Back-stabbing diplomats, bride-hating mother-in-law

I’ve successfully destroyed the Saghred (AKA, a legendary soul-sucking rock).

I’ve sent an evil goblin demigod to the Lower Hells.

I’m coming to terms with my burgeoning new powers.

I’m marrying super sexy paladin Mychael Eiliesor.

You’d think I could handle a wedding and meeting my soon-to-be mother-in-law without another calamity brewing.

You’d be wrong!

The new, thankfully non-psychotic, Goblin King is willing to come to the table to discuss a peace treaty. The Isle of Mid is the site of these delicate negotiations, meaning all hands on deck for Mychael and his Conclave Guardians. When the head of elven intelligence (and my wedding guest) Duke Markus Sevelien is nearly assassinated upon his arrival, I suspect my mother-in-law will be the least of my concerns. Sabotaging the peace talks is the first salvo in a treacherous and deadly new apocalyptic plot.

Mychael and I might not make it to the altar after all!


The Brimstone Deception - A SPI Files Novel, #3

The Brimstone Deception
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780425266939
  • Release: 2016-01-26
  • Author: Lisa Shearin
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

Men in Black meets Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum in the new urban fantasy novel starring seer Makenna Fraser and her fellow agents at Supernatural Protection & Investigation.

The agents of Supernatural Protection & Investigations (SPI) know that fighting evil is a full-time job, especially when a new designer drug—with mind-blowing side effects—hits the streets...

It’s called Brimstone. And after the first few hits, you’ll see every supernatural beast sharing the sidewalk, train, or office with you. After that, you’ll start seeing the really scary stuff.

I’m Makenna Fraser, seer for the SPI. And the collateral damage caused by Brimstone is something I’d like to unsee: dead drug dealers missing their hearts—and souls. Because your local pusher doesn’t stand a chance against the new cartel muscling its way into New York. And since the drug can only be produced with magic and molten brimstone fresh from Hell, that means a rift to the underworld is open somewhere in the city.

And when—not if—the cartel loses control of it, well...

It’s going to be Hell on earth.


The Dragon Conspiracy - A SPI Files Novel, #2

The Dragon Conspiracy
  • Number: 9780425266922
  • Release: 2015-01-27
  • Author: Lisa Shearin
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

After solving The Grendel Affair, the agents have another SPI File to investigate...

We’re Supernatural Protection & Investigations, known as SPI. We battle the real monsters of myth and legend, but this Halloween, we’re searching for diamonds?

A gala opening at the Metropolitan Museum of Art has attracted the upper crust of Manhattan?and thieves. A trio of vile harpies attacks the crowd and steals the stars of the exhibition: a colorful cluster of seven cursed diamonds known as the Dragon Eggs.

In the right mage’s hands, each stone can pack a magical wallop. Together they have the power to ?cure” the supernaturals of the tristate area?but for many of those vampires and werewolves, that means turning into dust.

I’m Makenna Fraser, a seer for SPI. With the help of my partner, Ian, and the other agents, I have twenty-four hours to prevent total global panic, find the diamonds, and save the supernatural community. No biggie...


Night Shift

Night Shift
  • Number: 9780425273920
  • Release: 2014-11-25
  • Authors: Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews, Lisa Shearin, Milla Vane
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: * Romance: Speculative / PNR, Urban Fantasy / Paranormal, Collections & Anthologies
  • Publisher: Berkley
  • Buy Now

Four masters of urban fantasy and paranormal romance plunge readers into the dangerous, captivating world unearthed beyond the dark...

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh delivers a smoldering story with Secrets at Midnight, as the scent of Bastien Smith’s elusive lover ignites a possessiveness in him that’s as feral as it is ecstatic. And now that he’s found his mate, he’ll do anything to keep her.

In #1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews’ novella, Magic Steals, when people start going missing, shapeshifting tigress Dali Harimau and jaguar shifter Jim Shrapshire must uncover the truth about the mysterious creatures responsible.

From Milla Vane?a warrior princess must tame The Beast of Blackmoor to earn a place among her people. But she quickly discovers that the beast isn't a monster, but a barbarian warrior who intends to do some taming himself. 

It’s seer Makenna Frazier's first day on the job at Supernatural Protection and Investigations, and her first assignment is more than she bargained for when bodyguard duty for a leprechaun prince’s bachelor party goes every which way but right in national bestselling author Lisa Shearin’s Lucky Charms.


Wild Card - Raine Benares Novella

Wild Card
  • Number: B00PZ2BZOS
  • Release: 2014-11-25
  • Author: Lisa Shearin
  • Genre: Sci-Fi / Fantasy
  • Tags: * Fantasy, * Under 45k Words
  • Publisher: NLA Digital LLC
  • Buy Now

My name is Raine Benares. I'm a seeker, a finder of things lost and people missing. I've never had to do both in one day, or had this many lives at stake--including mine.

The search for a missing ring leads me to the abduction of eight magically gifted children. Their souls were stolen while they slept, and unless I find those souls by sunrise, their bodies will die.

Both cases have one thing in common--they're linked to a goblin secret society high-stakes poker game, whose members are practitioners of the blackest of black magic. As a seeker, I can track those captured children's souls, but to spring them will take magic I haven't got.

That's where Tamnais Nathrach comes in. He's the seductive embodiment of sin itself. He's also a goblin dark mage with an even darker past, the owner of the city's most notorious casino--and the only person with magic enough to reach the kids in time.

Why are the most dangerous predators the most beautiful?

The stakes are high; the odds of success are low. And I'm betting with my life--a life I'll have to trust to a darkly tempting goblin mage I just met.


The Grendel Affair - A SPI Files Novel, #1

The Grendel Affair
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780425266915
  • Release: 2013-12-31
  • Author: Lisa Shearin
  • Genre: Paranormal
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

We’re Supernatural Protection & Investigations, known as SPI. Things that go bump in the night, the monsters you thought didn’t exist? We battle them and keep you safe. But some supernatural baddies are just too big to contain, even for us?

When I moved to New York to become a world famous journalist, I never imagined that snagging a job at a seedy tabloid would change my career path from trashy reporter to undercover agent. I’m Makenna Fraser, a Seer for SPI. I can see through any disguise, shield, or spell that a paranormal pest can come up with. I track down creatures and my partner, Ian Byrne, takes them out.

Our cases are generally pretty routine, but a sickle-wielding serial killer has been prowling the city’s subway tunnels. And the murderer’s not human. The fiend in question, a descendant of Grendel?yes, that Grendel?shares his ancestor’s hatred of parties, revelry, and drunkards. And with New Year’s Eve in Times Square only two days away, we need to bag him quickly. Because if we don’t find him?and the organization behind him?by midnight, our secret’s out and everyone’s time is up.

FIRST IN A NEW SERIES


All Spell Breaks Loose

All Spell Breaks Loose
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: B0072NWIZS
  • Release: 2012-05-29
  • Author: Lisa Shearin
  • Genre: Sci-Fi / Fantasy
  • Tags: * Fantasy
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

From national bestselling author Lisa Shearin comes a new chapter in "one of the best fantasy series currently on the market." (Night Owl Reviews)

My name is Raine Benares—and it sucks to be me right now. 

I’m a seeker who found the Saghred, a soul-stealing stone that gave me unlimited powers I never wanted. Now I’ve lost the rock—and the magic it gave me—to a goblin dark mage whose main goals are my death and world domination. This is more than incentive enough for a little trip to the goblin capital of Regor with a small band of good friends, not-so-good friends, and one outright enemy. Don’t ask. All we need to do is destroy the Saghred, kill the mage, and put a renegade goblin prince on the throne. Did I mention I’ll be doing that with no magic?


Con & Conjure - Raine Benares, #5

Con & Conjure
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780441020188
  • Release: 2011-03-29
  • Author: Lisa Shearin
  • Genre: Sci-Fi / Fantasy
  • Tags: * Fantasy
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

Raine Benares is a seeker who finds lost things and people. Ever since the Saghred, a soul-stealing stone that's given her unlimited power, has bonded to her, the goblin king and the elves have wanted to possess its magic themselves. Which means a goblin thief and her ex-fiancé-an elven assassin-are after her. To survive, she'll need the help of her notorious criminal family.


Magic Lost, Trouble Found - Raine Benares, #1

Magic Lost, Trouble Found
  • Number: 9780441015054
  • Release: Out Now
  • Author: Lisa Shearin
  • Genre: Sci-Fi / Fantasy
  • Tags: * Fantasy
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

Raine Benares is a Sorceress Seeker of average ability until she comes into possession of an amulet that amplifies her powers-and her enemies.


Bewitched & Betrayed - Raine Benares, #4

Bewitched & Betrayed
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780441018727
  • Release: 04/27/2010
  • Author: Lisa Shearin
  • Genre: Sci-Fi / Fantasy
  • Tags: * Fantasy
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

My name is Raine Benares. I’m a seeker. I find lost things and missing people — usually alive. Finding the specters of six evil mages who escaped the Saghred, a soul-eating stone of unlimited power, was easy. Stopping them before they unleash Hell on earth just may be the death of me.

Being bonded to the Saghred wasn’t my idea — neither is hunting down its escapees. Especially not when one of them is also hunting me. He’s regenerating his body by taking the lives of powerful victims, along with their memories, knowledge, and most important of all, their magic. The dark mage wants control of the Saghred, and if he gets it, he’ll become an evil demigod whom no one can stop. The only thing in his way is me.

One of us doesn’t stand a ghost of a chance.


The Trouble with Demons - Raine Benares, #3

The Trouble with Demons
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780441017126
  • Release: April 28, 2009
  • Author: Lisa Shearin
  • Genre: Sci-Fi / Fantasy
  • Tags: * Fantasy
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

My name is Raine Benares. I'm a seeker. People hire me when they need something found. I'm not usually the one being sought. But that all changed when I found the Saghred, a soul-stealing stone of unlimited power -- and the bane of my existence. Now mages and madmen have me in their sights, not to mention demons...

An opened Hellgate leads to a demon infestation on the Isle of Mid, and while there's never an ideal time to face down demon hordes, it's hard to imagine a worse one. Already fighting the influence of the Saghred, Raine discovers she is also magically bonded to a dark mage and a white knight, two dangerous and powerful men on opposing sides -- and Raine's stuck in the middle.

But with demons pouring through the Hellgate, Raine can't afford to be distracted. Turns out, the demons want the key to unlock the Saghred. As a seeker, Raine should be able to find it first. As the axis of light and dark powers, she's a magical cataclysm waiting to happen...


Armed and Magical - Raine Benares, #2

Armed and Magical
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780441015870
  • Release: Out Now
  • Author: Lisa Shearin
  • Genre: Sci-Fi / Fantasy
  • Tags: * Fantasy
  • Publisher: ACE
  • Buy Now

New from "a definite star on the rise." (Linnea Sinclair) Raine Benares is a sorceress linked to the Saghred, an ancient soul-stealing stone of unfathomable power. Only the Isle of Mid, home to the most prestigious sorcery college, can free her from the power of the stone.