Linda Broday

Visit Linda Broday's Web Site.

Night Owl Reviews provides author pages for published authors. To update or get an author page of your own, just click here!

Author: Linda Broday

Though I now reside in the Texas Panhandle, I grew up in a small town in New Mexico. From an early age, I was lucky enough to discover wealth didn’t exactly pertain to money. Though my parents could barely afford the necessities, they managed to instill deep rooted values and a thirst for books. My favorite memories are the yearly road trips we made to California on Route 66 to visit grandparents. We’d stop at museums, trading posts, ghost towns and anything else that held our interest. I’m sure that’s where my love of history and the Old West was born.

I’ve been a “writer in training” my whole life. As young girls, my sister and I became obsessed with books. Many nights long after the house grew dark and everyone else was asleep, we’d lie beneath our covers and read by flashlight until we either reached the end of the book or our eyes got too heavy to see the words. Books opened up entirely new, exciting worlds that seemed limited only by our imaginations. I never imagined in a hundred years that I could create my own worlds. That undertaking seemed as far-fetched as scaling Mt. Everest. But write I did. It took me five years to finish that first novel and it will never be anything more than fire-starter material. With a small measure of confidence though, I wrote others that found their way onto an editor’s desk and then into bookstores.

Cowboys have always fascinated me so it’s no wonder that I love to write about them and their ladies and the struggles they endure in trying to carve out a small place to call home. It took some awfully tough men and women to settle this great country of ours.

I grew up watching TV westerns and hated that the cowboy always rode into the sunset all by his lonesome. I vowed to write stories that gave the cowboy someone to share his life with besides his trusty horse. I wanted him to marry that pretty woman he fell in love with, not leave her behind. That’s what I’ve endeavored to do and I think in that aspect I’ve succeeded. If I can capture one small portion of his grit and determination, that’s an added bonus. I want to show in my stories people who might’ve lived at one time. They’re ordinary, but they have more guts and more backbone than anyone.

Western romance is my passion. I feel truly blessed. Humble roots and the love of family have become focal points in my stories. I sincerely hope readers enjoy the characters and tales I strive to bring to life on the printed page.

Library

The Cowboy Who Came Calling - Texas Heroes, #2

The Cowboy Who Came Calling
  • Number: B0748MDZZB
  • Release: 2018-02-06
  • Author: Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Rom: Historical, Western
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Buy Now

A Former Texas Ranger on a mission

A determined woman slowly losing her sight

A love neither could have predicted

...and a danger that may steal their happy ending before it can even begin.

Glory Day may be losing her vision, but that doesn't mean she'll ever stop fighting. Determined to provide for her struggling family, she confronts an outlaw with a price on his head. But when a mysterious cowboy gets between her and her target, Glory accidentally shoots him instead. Flustered, she has no option but to take the handsome stranger home to treat his wounds.

Former Texas Ranger Luke McClain didn't plan to fall in love, but there's no denying the strength of Glory's will or the sweetness of her heart. But Glory's been burned before, and Luke will have to reach into the depths of his own battered soul to convince her to take a chance...

And trust that love is worth fighting for.


To Marry a Texas Outlaw - Men of Legend Book 3

To Marry a Texas Outlaw
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: B01N39EZ0F
  • Release: 2017-11-07
  • Author: Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Rom: Historical, Western
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Buy Now

Three Brothers. One Oath.

No Compromises.

The MEN of LEGEND

The Outlaw

Outlaw Luke Weston survives by his wits. On the run for a murder he didn’t commit, the last thing he needs is to go looking for more trouble. But when Luke stumbles across a fiercely beautiful woman struggling against two heavily armed men, it’s obvious that trouble has found him.

After all, he never could resist a damsel in distress.

Josie Morgan’s distressed, all right—and hopping mad. She has no idea why she’s been kidnapped…or who she is…or why her body melts for the mysterious gunslinger who saved her life. But as the lost memories come tumbling back together, Josie is faced with the stark reality of why she and Luke can never be…even as her heart is telling her she will always be his.


Christmas in a Cowboy's Arms

Christmas in a Cowboy's Arms
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: B01N27V1HX
  • Release: 2017-10-03
  • Authors: Rosanne Bittner, Leigh Greenwood, Margaret Brownley, Anna Schmidt, Amy Sandas, Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Rom: Historical, Western, Collections & Anthologies, Seasonal / Holiday
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Buy Now

In the wild and untamed West, it takes cowboy's embrace to see you through a long winter's night. Stay toasty this holiday season with heart-warming tales from bestselling authors Leigh Greenwood, Rosanne Bittner, Linda Broday, Margaret Brownley, Anna Schmidt, and Amy Sandas.

The Beating Heart of Christmas

Whether it's a lonely spinster finding passion at last...an infamous outlaw-turned-lawman reaffirming the love that keeps him whole...a lost and broken drifter discovering family in unlikely places...a Texas Ranger risking it all for one remarkable woman...two lovers bringing together a family ripped apart by prejudice...or reunited lovers given a second chance to correct past mistakes...a Christmas spent in a cowboy's arms is full of hope, laughter, and—most of all—love.


Knight on the Texas Plains - Texas Heroes, #1

Knight on the Texas Plains
  • Number: B01N4TJ75L
  • Release: 2017-08-01
  • Author: Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Rom: Historical, Western, #FirstInaSeries
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Buy Now

He'll do whatever it takes

To keep them safe

Duel McClain has lost everything he's ever loved: his wife, his son, his sense of self. But when a strange twist of fate—and a poker game he'll never forget—leaves an innocent little girl in his care, Duel vows to defend his new family to his very last breath. If only he knew a single thing about taking care of babies...

Just as Duel swears his life can't get any more complicated, a beautiful woman stumbles into the light of his campfire, desperate for help. Jessie Foltry is hungry, tired, and running for her life. She agrees to help Duel care for the child in exchange for his protection, even as she fights to guard her broken heart. But Duel will do whatever it takes to make Jessie see that the Texas plains have more than one kind of knight, and perhaps their salvation is closer than either of them could have dreamed...

"Linda Broday's heroes step right out of her books and into your heart." —JODI THOMAS, New York Times bestselling author


The Heart of a Texas Cowboy - Men of Legend, #2

The Heart of a Texas Cowboy
  • Number: 9781492630203
  • Release: 2017-05-02
  • Author: Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Rom: Historical, Women's Fiction
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Buy Now

Three Brothers. One Oath.

No Compromises.

The MEN of LEGEND

The Cowboy

One bullet is all it takes to shatter Houston Legend’s world. He swore he’d never love again, but with the future of the Lone Star Ranch on the line, he finds himself at the altar promising to love and cherish a woman he’s never met—a woman whose vulnerable beauty touches his heart.

All Lara Boone wants is a name for her baby. She never expected to fall in love with her own husband—or any man—after the heartache she’s endured. Yet when her troubled past catches up with them, Houston will move heaven and earth to protect his bride…and discover depths to a marriage of convenience neither realized could be theirs.


Texas Redemption

Texas Redemption
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9781492646440
  • Release: 2017-02-07
  • Author: Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Rom: Historical, Western
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Buy Now

Two brothers

One woman

A final chance to find...

REDEMPTION

Desperate to escape her dark past, Laurel James agrees to wed the mayor of a small east Texas town. With him, life will be quiet. Respectable. Safe. It should be everything she ever wanted.

And it is. Until Shenandoah rides back into town.

Shenandoah never thought he would find the woman he's loved and lost...and he certainly never dreamed she'd be pledged to his brother. He knows he should step aside-he has nothing to offer a woman like Laurel James-but the moment their eyes meet, Shenandoah is lost. He can only find peace in her arms...but can redemption be more than a dream for a man who has known nothing but war?


To Love a Texas Ranger - Men of Legend, #1

To Love a Texas Ranger
  • Number: 9781492630173
  • Release: 2016-10-04
  • Author: Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Rom: Historical, Western, #FirstInaSeries
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Buy Now

A Ranger. A Cowboy. An Outlaw.

Men of Legend

The Texas Ranger

Gravely injured on the trail of a notorious criminal, Texas Ranger Sam Legend boards a train bound for his family ranch to recuperate...only to find himself locked in battle to save a desperate woman on the run. Determined to rescue the beautiful Sierra, Sam recruits an unlikely ally. But can he trust the mysterious gunslinger to fight at his side?

Sam is shocked to discover his new ally is not only an outlaw, but his half-brother. Torn between loyalty to his job and love of his family, Sam goes reeling straight into Sierra's arms. Yet just as the walls around his battered heart begin to crumble, Sierra is stolen away. Sam will risk anything to save her-his life, his badge, his very soul-knowing that some bonds are stronger than the law...and some legends were born to be told.


Forever His Texas Bride - Bachelors of Battle Creek, #3

Forever His Texas Bride
  • Number: 9781492602873
  • Release: 2015-12-01
  • Author: Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Rom: Historical
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Buy Now

"There's this thing between us that refuses to die. I'd like nothing better than to be able to..." His words faded. He'd give anything to change people's views about his race...to be able to make her his wife.

But the world wasn't that simple. Not for people like them.

All his life, Brett Liberty has straddled two worlds: white and Iroquois. The only place he's truly at peace is with his wild mustangs. But after he's arrested for the color of his skin, he discovers Rayna Harper in the cell next to him. Rough and tumble Rayna has known little kindness, but Brett sees the depth of her heart hidden beneath layers of hurt and fear, and he refuses to leave without her.

Rayna never thought she'd find a place she could call home until she found herself at Brett's side. But men driven by hate are determined to tear them apart, forcing Brett and Rayna to fight for their love, their future, and their very survival...


Twice a Texas Bride - Bachelors of Battle Creek, #2

Twice a Texas Bride
  • Number: 9781492602842
  • Release: 2015-05-05
  • Author: Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Rom: Historical, Western
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Buy Now

Left with emotional scars from his time in an orphanage, Rand Sinclair has vowed never to marry. But when he discovers Callie Quinn and a small orphan boy hiding on his ranch, he can't help but open his home to the desperate runaways.

Callie has been betrayed by every man she's ever known. While she's grateful for Rand's incredible kindness, she knows it's only a matter of time before he shows his true colors. But she needs this safe haven-maybe the outlaw on her trail won't find them here. Yet as Rand slowly uncovers her secret fears, they each come to realize that the only way to keep her safe is for Rand to risk everything to offer her the protection of his name...and his heart.


Texas Mail Order Bride - Bachelors of Battle Creek, #1

Texas Mail Order Bride
  • Stars
  • Number: 9781492602811
  • Release: 2015-01-06
  • Author: Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Rom: Historical, Western
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Buy Now

"So beautiful. You make it impossible to think." He pulled her against him and found her mouth. "You don't know how long I've wanted to do this."

When he let her up for air, she whispered as though she couldn't trust her voice, "Is this another Texas custom?"

"Absolutely," he growled. "Welcome to Texas."

Rancher Cooper Thorne thinks his life is finally on an even keel-until Delta Dandridge steps off the stagecoach and claims she's his mail order bride. Brash and quick-witted, the meddling Southern Belle is everything Cooper thought he never wanted...and everything his heart is telling him he needs.

But Cooper swore long ago that he'd never marry, and he aims to keep his word, especially now that the demons from his past have returned to threaten everything-and everyone-he holds dear...


Be My Texas Valentine

Be My Texas Valentine
  • Stars
  • Number: 9781420119671
  • Release: 2012-01-03
  • Authors: Jodi Thomas, Phyliss Miranda, Dewanna Pace, Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Rom: Historical, Collections & Anthologies, Seasonal / Holiday
  • Publisher: Zebra Books
  • Buy Now

Out on these rugged plains, love never comes easy. And four daring ladies will do whatever it takes to capture the hearts of four irresistibly sweet-talking Texans...When a quiet foreman comes to the aid of a mystery lady, they'll find that this perfect starlit night is made for courtin'...A determined heiress gambles high to reclaim the rancher she's never stopped wanting...When a spirited lady and a go-getter mayor compete for their town's future, it's two dreams for a lifetime...And to attract a lonely doctor's attention, a shy young woman needs courage - and two unlikely matchmakers...


A Texas Christmas

A Texas Christmas
  • Number: 9781420119664
  • Release: 2011-10-04
  • Authors: Jodi Thomas, Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: Western, Collections & Anthologies, Seasonal / Holiday
  • Publisher: Zebra Books
  • Buy Now

In the Texas Panhandle, the winters are long, the storms fierce--and the Yuletide nights are sizzling. New York Times bestselling author Jodi Thomas along with Linda Broday, Phyliss Miranda and DeWanna Pace, bring you one tempting holiday delight. . .

On the eve before Christmas a blizzard arrived, transforming a small Texas town into a night to remember. Four ladies desperately in need of saving, four hard-ridin' cowboys who aim to please. . .

When a lone farmer strides to a pretty store owner's rescue, their deepest wishes just might come true. . .

A brave heiress can't believe a rugged angel is riding out of the night to save her and her fellow train passengers--until she gets him under the mistletoe. . .

A quiet loner wants to help a stranded widow have a holiday to remember. . .

And a female saloon owner tired of being scorned by respectable folk gets some very naughty help from a handsome greenhorn. . .


Give Me a Texas Outlaw

Give Me a Texas Outlaw
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9781420111736
  • Release: 2011-07-05
  • Authors: Jodi Thomas, Phyliss Miranda, Dewanna Pace, Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Rom: Historical, Western
  • Publisher: Zebra Books
  • Buy Now

If Cozette Camanez's groom doesn't show up for their wedding by dawn, she'll lose her family ranch. Trouble is, the groom doesn't exist - until unsuspecting thief Michael Hughes comes along. Larissa Patrick, the beautiful daughter of a wealthy rancher, has been kidnapped. Only one man can save her: gunfighter Johnny Bravo. Rescuing Larissa is the easy part - but getting her home without losing his heart will take the discipline of a saint. And Johnny's no saint...Lawman Ethan Kimble is finally face to face with his quarry: socialite and bank robber Savannah Parker. The only thing between them is a Winchester pointed at his heart-and some undeniable sparks. When outlaw Shadow Rivers and desperado Odessa Kilmore escape a hail of bullets and team up on a long journey, both are determined to hide their secrets - and their attraction. No easy task as they discover a love more powerful than their enemies combined...


Give Me A Texas Ranger

Give Me A Texas Ranger
  • Number: 9781420111743
  • Release: Out Now
  • Authors: Jodi Thomas, Phyliss Miranda, Dewanna Pace, Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Rom: Historical, Western, Collections & Anthologies
  • Publisher: Zebra Books
  • Buy Now

When Nurse Ellie Anderson whispers her dreams to Mitchell Clark, the wounded ranger has a new battle on his hands. For the sweet beauty's words awaken his every protective instinct and he knows he's found a woman worth fighting for. When Stoney Burke finds Texanna Wilder in need of rescue, he's caught between his hardened heart and his duty to his best friend's lovely widow. Marriage is merely a solution to keep Texanna safe, but Stoney is suddenly aching for his wedding night. Forced to take feisty Kate Stevenson into custody, Hayden McGraw has his hands full. But when he discovers the spitfire is on his side of the law, they're soon working as a team - up close and very personal. Thomas Longbow only plans to use Happy Devine as his cover on his latest assignment. But the passion that explodes between them threatens to expose his plot - and his heart.


Give Me A Cowboy

Give Me A Cowboy
  • Number: 9781420103717
  • Release: 2009-01-24
  • Authors: Jodi Thomas, Phyliss Miranda, Dewanna Pace, Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Rom: Historical, Western, Collections & Anthologies
  • Publisher: Zebra Books
  • Buy Now

In the rough-and-ready Texas Panhandle, the rodeo is where to find a real man. New York Times bestselling author Jodi Thomas teams up with DeWanna Pace, Linda Broday, and Phyliss Miranda to prove that the right kind of love can tame the wildest heart...

Rowdy Darnell was born to be wild and Laurel Hayes knows she shouldn't get involved with him--but oh, how he can kiss...When Augusta Garrison finds out Dally Angelo is hell-bent on riding the bull that killed his father, she's ready to break their engagement--until pure passion takes over...Tempest LeDoux doesn't play by anyone's rules. When a tall gunslinger named McKenna Smith rides into town, Tempest knows he's the one for her--if she can catch him...Alaine LeDoux is pure tomboy--and she likes shooting and riding more than dresses and tea. Good thing Mr. Morgan Payne turns out to be one hell of a cowboy under his citified suit...


Give Me A Texan

Give Me A Texan
  • Number: 9781420101034
  • Release: 2008-02-01
  • Authors: Jodi Thomas, Phyliss Miranda, Dewanna Pace, Linda Broday
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Rom: Historical, Western, Collections & Anthologies
  • Publisher: Zebra Books
  • Buy Now

Roots that go deep...men who stand tall...and real women who have what it takes to love and be loved by them. Jodi Thomas, "New York Times" and "USA Today" bestselling author, teams up with Linda Broday, Phyliss Miranda, and DeWanna Pace to bring you four of the best Texas romances ever...Hank Harris wasn't even looking for a woman when he ended up with a wife. Their hasty marriage is for appearances only: a capable, intelligent woman like Aggie is exactly who he needs as a business partner - if only she weren't so damn beautiful, spirited - and in his bed...Payton McCord thought he was one tough cowboy until Amanda Lemmons made him mind his manners. And a woman of her caliber is worth the trouble she causes...Newspaperman Quinten Corbett wasn't expecting his new apprentice to be female. Boston-born Kaira Renaulde is far too refined for a rough-and-tumble frontier town - and far too pretty for his peace of mind...Briar Duncan knows he needs someone to help him raise his headstrong little daughter. But Mina McCoy is more than he bargained for - much more! The woman has the face of an angel and a very definite mind of her own...


Book Library