Author: Jody Feldman

This author's biography has not yet been added to our database.

Library

Friend or Foe - The Gollywhopper Games

Friend or Foe
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780062211286
  • Release: 2015-04-21
  • Author: Jody Feldman
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Kids: Children's, Kids: Middle Grade
  • Publisher: Greenwillow Books
  • Buy Now

Chock-full of puzzles, riddles, and challenges for the reader to solve along with the main characters, this companion to the first two Gollywhopper Games books offers readers plenty of action and fun. The perfect choice for fans of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and Chasing Vermeer.

Zane is not that interested in the Gollywhopper Games. He'd rather play football and is sure that he's headed straight for the NFL. But when he gets his second concussion, his parents tell him, "No football for a year." Instead, to his surprise, he gets a chance to compete in the Gollywhopper Games. Zane's sense of strategy, his physical strength, and his competitive edge are all assets, and so is his ability to motivate his teammates and get them to work together. Zane becomes particularly close to Elijah, a young and scrawny genius who is friendly, awkward, and funny—Zane's polar opposite. These two unlikely friends end up head-to-head in the final challenge, where Elijah's quick thinking and Zane's physical strength make it a tough fight. This is a fun and fast-paced and interactive read for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Age Level: 8 - 12 | Grade Level: 3 - 7


The Gollywhopper Games - The New Champion

The Gollywhopper Games
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9780062211255
  • Release: 2014-05-27
  • Author: Jody Feldman
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Kids: Children's, Kids: Middle Grade
  • Publisher: Greenwillow Books
  • Buy Now

The Gollywhopper Games: The New Champion will appeal to fans of The Amazing Race, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, The Mysterious Benedict Society, and Chasing Vermeer. Chock-full of puzzles, riddles, and challenges for the reader to solve along with the main characters, this fast-paced companion to the acclaimed and kid-tested The Gollywhopper Games is bigger, bolder, and braver!

The Golly Toy and Game Company's Gollywhopper Games was such a big success the first time, the company's executives have decided to host the competition again. Cameron and Spencer Schein have scored two highly sought-after slots in the regional round—will one of the Schein brothers make it all the way to the finals? Favorite characters from the first book make guest appearances, and a new cast of competitors, both boys and girls, get set to compete against (and with) Cameron and Spencer. There are twists and turns and complications in this page-turner of a race to the finish line!

Age Range: 8 - 12 years / Grade Level: 3 - 7