Author: Jessica Scott

USA Today Bestselling author Jessica Scott is a career army officer, mother of two daughters, three cats and three dogs, wife to a career NCO and wrangler of all things stuffed and fluffy. She is a terrible cook and even worse housekeeper, but she's a pretty good shot with her assigned weapon and someone liked some of the stuff she wrote. Somehow, her children are pretty well adjusted and her husband still loves her, despite burned water and a messy house.

She's written for the New York Times At War Blog, PBS Point of View Regarding War, and IAVA. She deployed to Iraq in 2009 as part of OIF/New Dawn and has served as a company commander at Fort Hood, Texas.

She's pursuing a PhD in Sociology in her spare time and most recently, she's been featured as one of Esquire Magazine's Americans of the Year for 2012.

Library

The Long Night - A Novel of Suspense

The Long Night
  • Stars
  • Number: B01F08DFLM
  • Release: 2016-05-16
  • Author: Jessica Scott
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags: Suspense: Action / Thriller
  • Publisher: Jessica Scott
  • Buy Now

"This one will haunt you." J.D. Rhoades

Whatever it takes, just come home to me. Promise me, Sam.

In eight months, Staff Sergeant Sam Brown will become a father. But first, he has to survive his fourth tour in Iraq. On his last night home, he tries to pretend that everything is fine, that the war is fine, that his life is fine.

But as he returns to the war zone, things are anything but fine and the promise he made to his fiancé takes on a desperate edge. As things spiral down, Sam starts to wonder about that promise.

How high is the price he will pay when the long night comes to an end?


Break My Fall - Falling Book 2

Break My Fall
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: B01AYYLLQ8
  • Release: 2016-02-16
  • Author: Jessica Scott
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Romance: Uniformed Heroes, New Adult & College
  • Publisher: Jessica Scott
  • Buy Now

Violence. I'm addicted to it. It's how I feel alive. It's the only thing that's real any more.

And now I have to sit around and discuss it like it's physics or calculus. I can't do it. I can't pretend that it's some sterile academic topic. Violence isn't sterile. It isn't calm. It's pulsing. It's alive.

It's my drug.

Until I met Abby, I never wanted anything beyond the next fight. Never considered that I might finally find a way back to the land of the living.

Now? Now I find myself dreaming of a woman with golden eyes.

But I can never be with her. Because I am not whole. And I never will be again.

But I cannot stay away.

And loving her might finally be what breaks me.


Homefront

Homefront
  • Stars
  • Number: B00UI4F46S
  • Release: 2015-04-07
  • Author: Jessica Scott
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Romance: Uniformed Heroes
  • Publisher: Jessica Scott
  • Buy Now

He’s always loved her…

First Sergeant Gale Sorren waited a war and half a lifetime for a chance to get stationed near the ex-wife who left him years ago. When he finally musters the courage to see her, the life he imagined she was living was nothing close to the reality.

She’s never stopped loving him…

Melanie never stopped worrying about Gale each time he headed off to war. But he’s never been there when she needed him and she’s had fifteen years to steel her heart against him.

But when Gale moves to Fort Hood, he finally has a chance to make things right with Melanie and the daughter she raised without him.

Can Mel trust her heart to a man who has always let her down?


Before I Fall - Falling, #1

Before I Fall
  • Stars
  • Number: B00TCV5Z1C
  • Release: 2015-03-03
  • Author: Jessica Scott
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, New Adult & College
  • Publisher: Jessica Scott
  • Buy Now

Stay focused. Get a job. Save her father’s life.

Beth Lamont knows far too much about the harsh realities of life her gilded classmates have only read about in class. She’ll do whatever it takes to take care of her father, even if that means tutoring a guy like Noah - a guy who represents everything she hates about the war, soldiers and what the Army has done to her family.

Noah Warren doesn’t know how to be a student. All he knows is war. But he’s going to college now to fulfill a promise and he doesn’t break his promises. Except he doesn’t count on his tutor being drop dead gorgeous and distracting as hell. One look at Beth threatens to unravel the careful lies Noah has constructed around him.

A simple arrangement turns into something neither of them can deny. And a war that neither of them can forget could destroy them both.


It's Always Been You - A Coming Home Novel, #3

It's Always Been You
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9781455553808
  • Release: 2015-03-31
  • Author: Jessica Scott
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Romance: Uniformed Heroes
  • Publisher: Forever
  • Buy Now

Captain Ben Teague is many things: a tough soldier, a loyal friend, and a bona fide smart-ass. He doesn't have much tolerance for BS, which is why he's mad as hell when a trusted colleague and mentor is brought up on charges that can't possibly be true. He's even more frustrated with by-the-book lawyer Major Olivia Hale. But there's something simmering beneath her icy reserve--and Ben just can't resist turning up the heat . . .

. . . and he's determined to break them

The only thing riskier than mixing business with pleasure is enjoying it . . . and Olivia can't resist locking horns--and lips--with Ben. He's got more compassion in his little finger than any commander she's ever met, a fact that makes him a better leader than he realizes. But when the case that brought them together awakens demons from Olivia's past, she will have to choose between following orders--or her heart . . .


All I Want For Christmas Is You - Coming Home 5.5

All I Want For Christmas Is You
  • Stars
  • Number: B00MRHWM5K
  • Release: 2014-10-25
  • Author: Jessica Scott
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, Seasonal / Holiday, * Under 45k Words
  • Publisher: Independently Published
  • Buy Now

From USA Today Bestselling author Jessica Scott comes an all new novella about a woman who came back from war changed and the man who loves her enough not to let her go.

All Major Patrick MacLean wanted was Christmas with the woman and child who were his family in everything but name. But Captain Samantha Egan has come back from the war a different woman than the one who left - and she doesn't know if she can love him anymore.

But neither of them counted on the determination of a little girl they both call daughter and if Natalie has her wish, her parents may have no idea what's coming for them. It's going to take Christmas miracle to bring these two wounded warriors back from the edge of a broken heart.

This story has been featured in Home For Christmas: A Holiday Duet with JoAnn Ross.


All for You - A Coming Home Novel, #2

All for You
  • Stars
  • Number: 9781455553754
  • Release: 2014-02-04
  • Author: Jessica Scott
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Romance: Uniformed Heroes
  • Publisher: Forever
  • Buy Now

Can a battle-scarred warrior . . .

Stay sober. Get deployed. Lead his platoon. Those are the only things that matter to Sergeant First Class Reza Iaconelli. What he wants is for everyone to stay out of his way; what he gets is Captain Emily Lindberg telling him how to deal with his men. Fort Hood's newest shrink is smart as a whip and sexy as hell. She's also full of questions-about the army, its soldiers, and the agony etched on Reza's body and soul.

. . . open his heart to love?

Emily has devoted her life to giving soldiers the care they need-and deserve. Little does she know that means facing down the fierce wall of muscle that is Sergeant Iaconelli like it's just another day at the office. When Reza agrees to help her understand what makes a soldier tick, she's thrilled. Too bad it doesn't help her unravel the sexy warrior in front of her who stokes her desire and touches a part of her she thought long dead. He's the man who thinks combat is the only escape from the demons that haunt him. The man who needs her most of all . . .


Back to You - A Coming Home Novel, #1

Back to You
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: B00DG8ZY8G
  • Release: 2014-01-07
  • Author: Jessica Scott
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Romance: Uniformed Heroes
  • Publisher: Forever
  • Buy Now

Army captain Trent Davila loved his wife, Laura, and their two beautiful children. But when he almost lost his life in combat, something inside him died. He couldn't explain the emptiness he felt or bridge the growing distance between him and his family-so he deployed again. And again. And again...until his marriage reached its breaking point. Now, with everything on the line, Trent has one last chance to prove to his wife that he can be the man she needs ...if she'll have him

. . . to win back his only love.

Laura is blindsided when Trent returns home. Time and again, he chose his men over his family, and she's just beginning to put the pieces of her shattered heart back together. But when Trent faces a court martial on false charges, only Laura can save him. What begins as an act of kindness to protect his career inflames a desire she thought long buried-and a love that won't be denied. But can she trust that this time he's back to stay?


I'll Be Home For Christmas - A Coming Home Novella

I'll Be Home For Christmas
  • Stars
  • Number: B00DG8ZY9K
  • Release: 2013-11-05
  • Author: Jessica Scott
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, Seasonal / Holiday, * Under 45k Words
  • Publisher: Forever Yours
  • Buy Now

There's nothing in the world Army Sergeant Vic Carponti loves more than his wife and his country. Smart-mouthed and easy tempered, he takes everything as a joke . . . except his promise to come home to his wife, Nicole, for Christmas. As he prepares to leave for his latest deployment into Iraq, Vic will do everything he can to shield his beautiful, supportive wife from the realities of war . . . and from his own darkest fears.

As a career army wife, Nicole Carponti knows just what to expect from her husband's tour of duty: loneliness, relentless worry, and a seemingly endless countdown until the moment Vic walks through the door again. But when the unthinkable happens, Nicole and Vic's bond is tested like never before and changes everything they believe to be true about the power of love and the simple beauty of being home for the holidays.


Because of You

Because of You
  • Stars
  • Number: B005GFBQWU
  • Release: 2011-11-14
  • Author: Jessica Scott
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, Romantic Elements, * Romance: Uniformed Heroes
  • Publisher: Loveswept
  • Buy Now

From the war-torn streets of Baghdad to the bittersweet comforts of the home front, two wounded hearts navigate the battlefield of coming home from war in this explosive eBook original from newcomer Jessica Scott.

Keeping his men alive is all that matters to Sergeant First Class Shane Garrison. But meeting Jen St. James the night before his latest deployment makes Shane wonder if there's more to life than war. He leaves for Iraq remembering a single kiss with a woman he'll never see again- until a near fatal attack lands him back at home and in her care.  Jen has survived her own brush with death and endured its scars. And yet there's a fire in Shane that makes Jen forget all about her past. He may be her patient, but when this warrior looks her in the eyes, she feels - for the first time in a long time - like a woman. Shane is too proud to ask for help, but for Jen, caring for him is more than a duty -it's a need. And as Jen guides Shane through the fires of healing, she finds something she never expected - her deepest desire.


Until There Was You

Until There Was You
  • Stars
  • Number: B008IU9SSE
  • Release: 2012-10-08
  • Author: Jessica Scott
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, Romantic Elements, * Romance: Uniformed Heroes
  • Publisher: Loveswept
  • Buy Now

Jessica Scott returns with an all-new contemporary eBook original romance, following last fall’s release of her sizzling debut novel Because of You. Includes a special message from the editor, as well as excerpts from these Loveswept titles: Blaze of Winter, Light My Fire, and Santerra’s Sin.