Author: Elise Sax

I worked as a journalist, mostly in Paris, France for many years, but I always wanted to write fiction. Finally, I decided to go for my dream and write a novel. I was thrilled when An Affair to Dismember, the first in the Matchmaker Series, was sold at auction to Ballantine.

Story ideas come to me day and night, and I'm inspired by my imagination and the news, especially weird news. I'm a plotter. I map out chapters, but sometimes characters have a mind of their own. That happened in book two of the Matchmaker Series, where it ended in a surprise. (Oh, have I divulged too much?)

I wish I was one of those superhero authors who write five or ten thousand words everyday, but I write in bursts. I'm trying to get more organized and increase my word count, but I'm not a fast writer. I regularly hound very productive authors to try and learn their magic recipes for high word counts, but I haven't managed to learn the technique, yet.

I write either at my desk in my office or in my bed. I listen to music while I write romantic or scary scenes, but for the majority of scenes, written (hopefully) with humor, I have the television on in the background. I love TV, and I write well while listening to the rhythm of banter.

Otherwise, I'm an overwhelmed single mother of two boys in Southern California. I'm an avid traveler, a beginner dancer, an occasional piano player, and an online shopping junkie.

Library

Going Down and Man Candy - Five Wishes Book 1

Going Down and Man Candy
  • Number: B071KK44PL
  • Release: 2017-06-15
  • Author: Elise Sax
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, #FirstInaSeries
  • Publisher: Independently Published
  • Buy Now

The Five Wishes Series: Novellas about wishes that go terribly wrong…fortunately. Five Wishes...A happy ending is just a coin toss away. Each novella is approximately 100 pages with NO cliffhanger.

Book 1: Going Down:

Marion MacAlister wants to nail her audition, not get nailed. Truly. Honestly. All right...maybe she does want to get nailed, but that's just because her hottie landlord and local diner owner Mack Ryan is confusing her. Can friends become lovers? Especially friends who might not even be friends in the first place?

Book 2: Man Candy:

Raine Harper is in love with Wade Gates. But Wade likes women who are model thin, and Raine is model thin plus a whole lot of pounds. Desperate to make him love her, she trains just a little too hard and passes out in the arms of superstar movie star Dirk Adams. Dirk thinks Raine’s junk in the trunk is perfect and proposes to make Wade jealous by becoming her pretend boyfriend. Pretend soon seems very real. Is Dirk a great actor, or is something really developing between Raine and the movie star?


Playing the Field - The Matchmaker, #4

Playing the Field
  • Number: B013FPC694
  • Release: 2015-08-04
  • Author: Elise Sax
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romantic Suspense, Suspense: Mystery, Suspense: Cozy Mystery
  • Publisher: Independently Published
  • Buy Now

Gladie is back with the fourth installment of the hilarious Matchmaker series.

Involved on one level or another—hot sex, almost committed, and crying in her pillow—with three men, Gladie distracts herself by giving up on matchmaking and starting a new career. But when Gladie stumbles on body parts of dead baseball players all over town, she’s dragged into solving yet another murder mystery. With her life in chaos and the killer getting closer, Gladie has to come to terms with the fact that love is murder.


Wicked Ride - Wish Upon A Stud, #5

Wicked Ride
  • Number: B00PUKZC2G
  • Release: 2015-01-08
  • Author: Elise Sax
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Under 45k Words
  • Publisher: Independently Published
  • Buy Now

Fiona Jones has never killed anyone, but there’s a first for everything. Still, maybe she shouldn't have hired Ronin—a sexy killer with a wicked motorcycle-- who’s giving her more than her share of attention.

Wicked Ride is the sexy and hilarious fifth and last novella in the five-part Wish Upon A Stud series.

Wish Upon A Stud...A happy ending is just a coin toss away.

His eyes are dark and bore through me. I wonder if he’s playing chicken with his eyes. Well, if he is, he wins, because I can’t keep his gaze. It makes my throat close and my uterus spasm. I stare at his nose, instead. It’s perfectly proportioned and as straight as a razor, but it doesn’t make my airways close.


Body Movers: Moving Violations

Body Movers: Moving Violations
  • Number: B00QFYI8M2
  • Release: 2014-11-30
  • Author: Elise Sax
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags: Suspense: Mystery, * Under 45k Words
  • Publisher: Kindle Worlds
  • Buy Now

Dinah Lord is having a bad day. If losing her job, her Mercedes, and her good name weren’t enough, she’s now on her way to the morgue, sentenced to three-hundred hours of community service for a minor altercation with a cop (totally not her fault). Her grey cloud has one silver lining…the hunky hottie medical examiner. When the local body movers fall ill, it’s up to the doctor and Dinah to take their place. As the body count begins to rise, Dinah falls into a mystery that might have her wind up on her own slab.

Moving Violations is a funny adventure into Stephanie Bond’s Body Movers world.


Just Sacked - Wish Upon A Stud, #4

Just Sacked
  • Number: B00NRH7J2A
  • Release: 2014-09-20
  • Author: Elise Sax
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Under 45k Words
  • Publisher: Independently Published
  • Buy Now

Layla has been working at her family’s bar since she was five years old. But it’s more than a bar. It’s home. Now with her family gone and debts piling up, her bar is repossessed and taken over by local businessman Hank Taylor. Hank offers Layla a deal: If she can win a drinking contest, she can have the bar back. Layla’s never lost a drinking contest in her life, but after an evening swigging back whiskey, she and Hank wake up together, naked and handcuffed in Mexico. Getting home offers dangerous adventure, and it’s a toss up whether Hank and Layla will get back before they kill each other or fall in love.

Just Sacked is the sexy and hilarious fourth novella in the five-part Wish Upon A Stud series. Each novella is roughly 100 pages with no cliffhanger.

Wish Upon A Stud...A happy ending is just a coin toss away.


Man Candy - Wish Upon A Stud, #2

Man Candy
  • Number: B00MW0MUJU
  • Release: 2014-08-19
  • Author: Elise Sax
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Under 45k Words
  • Publisher: Independently Published
  • Buy Now

Raine Harper is in love with Wade Gates. But Wade likes women who are model thin, and Raine is model thin plus a whole lot of pounds. Desperate to make him love her, she trains just a little too hard and passes out in the arms of superstar movie star Dirk Adams. Dirk thinks Raine’s junk in the trunk is perfect and proposes to make Wade jealous by becoming her pretend boyfriend. Pretend soon seems very real. Is Dirk a great actor, or is something really developing between Raine and the movie star?

Man Candy is the sexy and hilarious second novella in the five-part Wish Upon A Stud series.


Hot Wired - Wish Upon A Stud, #3

Hot Wired
  • Number: B00MT7UKAW
  • Release: 2014-08-17
  • Author: Elise Sax
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Under 45k Words
  • Publisher: Independently Published
  • Buy Now

Marie Foster is not a cheater. Nevertheless, she gets thrown out of college for doing just that. With her life turned upside down, she decides to try new things. You know…Get drunk in a bar. Pick up a guy. Marry a stranger, who just happens to be a hot billionaire.

Hot Wired is the sexy and hilarious third novella in the five-part Wish Upon A Stud series.

Wish Upon A Stud...A happy ending is just a coin toss away.


Going Down - Wish Upon A Stud, #1

Going Down
  • Number: B00MT7UIQI
  • Release: 2014-08-17
  • Author: Elise Sax
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Under 45k Words
  • Publisher: Independently Published
  • Buy Now

Marion MacAlister wants to nail her audition, not get nailed. Truly. Honestly. All right...maybe she does want to get nailed, but that's just because her hottie landlord and local diner owner Mack Ryan is confusing her with his mouth.

Can friends become lovers? Especially friends who might not even be friends in the first place?

Going Down is the sexy and hilarious first novella in the five-part Wish Upon A Stud series. Each novella is roughly 100 pages with no cliffhanger.

Wish Upon A Stud...A happy ending is just a coin toss away.


Switched

Switched
  • Number: B00LDY9G5C
  • Release: 2014-06-28
  • Author: Elise Sax
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary
  • Publisher: Independently Published
  • Buy Now

Debra’s wedding day ended when the groom jilted her three hours before the ceremony, leaving her with a stiff catering bill and a broken heart. Now, he’s off to Bora Bora on a one-man honeymoon, and she’s on the couch in her wedding dress, watching Christmas movies and eating her way through the corner market. Inspired by her movie marathon, she decides to do a home exchange on a Spanish island to get over her ex. But Debra’s life is nothing like the movies, and her home exchange goes terribly wrong. Stranded, she draws the attention of a hunky café owner who might know more than he admits about the disappearances of some local women. If Debra's not careful, she may be the next one to disappear.


Love Game - The Matchmaker Series, #3

Love Game
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780345532268
  • Release: 2014-02-25
  • Author: Elise Sax
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Romantic Suspense, Supernatural
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Buy Now

Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax’s wickedly funny Matchmaker series proves that the road to love comes with a few dead ends.

Five months have passed since Gladie Burger came to Cannes, California, to join her eccentric Grandma Zelda in the family matchmaking business, and Gladie is quickly mastering the rules of attraction. Her latest fix-up is still going strong and Gladie’s bank account is back in the black—until a rival matchmaker arrives in town and has both Gladie and Zelda seeing red.

Not only is self-proclaimed psychic Luanda Laughing-Eagle stealing Grandma Zelda’s clients, but Zelda is convinced that Luanda’s ESP is total BS. She tasks Gladie with exposing Luanda as a fraud, but Gladie’s attention is diverted when murder comes a-calling. Spencer Bolton, the gorgeous chief of police and Gladie’s on-again, off-again flame, wants her to stay out of the investigation—and away from the deliciously chiseled detective who also aims to win Gladie’s heart. But the one thing Gladie’s learned is that in business, love and murder . . . it’s always personal.


Bounty

Bounty
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: B00HDFM5LM
  • Release: 2014-01-14
  • Author: Elise Sax
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romantic Suspense
  • Publisher: Independently Published
  • Buy Now

Abby Williams has got it made: First a new job as magazine editor in London, and now a trip to an exotic island to review a five-star resort with poolside service. Unfortunately, on day two of her vacation, Abby finds herself bound and stuffed into a burlap bag and dragged across two continents. And worse than that? Her hottie abductor has got her distracted. Maybe escape is overrated.

Iain Brodie is a muscle-bound mercenary. He just helped a despotic dictator take over an island. He's also Abby's kidnapper, and he has his own problems. Framed for a murder he didn't commit and a boss who’s out to get him, he has to face facts: Early retirement is out of the question and Abby Williams looks damned good in a burlap bag.

Elise Sax delivers another hilarious page-turner, filled with adventure, murder, mayhem, and love. BOUNTY is a sexy, wild ride.


Matchpoint - The Matchmaker Series, #2

Matchpoint
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780345532244
  • Release: 2013-07-30
  • Author: Elise Sax
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Romantic Suspense, Suspense: Mystery
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Buy Now

Lovably troublesome Gladie Burger runs into sizzling danger and a fiery love triangle in the second installment of Elise Sax’s hilarious and sexy Matchmaker romance series.

Since joining the family matchmaking business run by her eccentric Grandma Zelda, Gladie is always looking for love. But when an unbearable toothache knocks her out of commission and into the dentist’s chair, she prays only for relief. No such luck. Emerging from an anesthetic haze, Gladie awakes to find that not only is her tooth still throbbing, but her dentist is dead—and the lead suspect in the murder, office receptionist Belinda, just so happens to be Gladie’s first real client. Now it’s up to Gladie to find Belinda a man and keep her from being locked up behind bars.

As if that weren’t enough distraction, two gorgeous men are vying for Gladie’s attention: Spencer, the playboy chief of police, and Holden, Gladie’s secretive, gorgeously muscled neighbor. Still, Gladie’s not complaining about having a helping hand or two when the case leads her to a dangerously bizarre cult. She may have met her match—and if she’s not careful, it could be her last.


An Affair to Dismember - The Matchmaker Series, #1

An Affair to Dismember
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780345532220
  • Release: 2013-01-29
  • Author: Elise Sax
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, * Romantic Suspense, Romantic Elements, Suspense: Mystery
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Buy Now

Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax’s hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.

Three months has been Gladie Burger’s limit when it comes to staying in one place: She’s always been a temp agency kind of girl, ever ready to move on. That’s why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. Gladie is also highly unqualified: Her beloved grandmother’s business is matchmaking, and Gladie has a terrible track record with romance. Still, despite evidence to the contrary, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has “the gift.” But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.

When Zelda’s neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family’s drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor’s death was murder. It’s not too long before she’s in way over her head—with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she’s unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued—either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?


Book Library