Author: Dan Gutman

This author's biography has not yet been added to our database.

Library

The Titanic Mission - Flashback Four #2

The Titanic Mission
  • Stars
  • Number: 9780062236357
  • Release: 2017-04-04
  • Author: Dan Gutman
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Kids: Children's, Kids: Middle Grade
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Buy Now

In New York Times bestselling author Dan Gutman’s all-new series, which blends fascinating real history with an action-packed adventure, four very different kids are picked by a mysterious billionaire to travel through time and photograph some of history's most important events.

This time, Luke, Julia, David, and Isabel are headed to the deck of the doomed Titanic. Their mission? Capture a shot of the sinking ship, then come right back. The only problem is, once they arrive aboard the ship, the four friends can’t agree on what to do next. Should they try to save the passengers? Or maybe bring back a priceless book before it sinks with the ship?

With real historical photographs to put young readers right in the action, plus back matter that separates fact from fiction, The Titanic Mission tells the story of the ship’s fateful last voyage like you’ve never seen it before.


License to Thrill - The Genius Files #5

License to Thrill
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780062236333
  • Release: 2016-03-01
  • Author: Dan Gutman
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Kids: Children's, Kids: Middle Grade
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Buy Now

The wackiest road trip in history comes to an action-packed conclusion in book five of the New York Times bestselling Genius Files series.

When we last left our heroes, twins Coke and Pepsi McDonald were in Roswell, New Mexico, and they had just seen a strange beam of light. Now their cross-country road trip is about to take a detour that's out of this world—literally!

Once the twins get their feet back on the ground, they embark on the final leg of their trip, which will take them from the Hoover Dam all the way to the Golden Gate Bridge. Chased by nefarious villains, the twins will be trapped with a venomous snake, pushed through a deadly turbine, and thrown into a volcano. And craziest of all, their parents might finally believe them!

With the real-kid humor that has earned him millions of readers around the world and featuring facts and photographs from the weird-but-true locations in the story, this fifth and final book in the Genius Files series is the most thrilling adventure yet.

Age Range: 8 - 12 years / Grade Level: 3 - 7


Willie & Me - Baseball Card Adventures

Willie & Me
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9780061704062
  • Release: 2016-03-01
  • Author: Dan Gutman
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Kids: Children's, Kids: Middle Grade
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Buy Now

With more than 1.5 million books sold, the Baseball Card Adventures series brings the greatest players in history to life.

Featuring black-and-white photographs and stats throughout, plus back matter separating fact from fiction, Willie & Me is the perfect mix of history and action for every young baseball fan.

Stosh thought he was finished traveling back in time. But then Ralph Branca shows up in his room one night, begging for Stosh's help. In 1951, Branca pitched a ball to Bobby Thomson that would become the "Shot Heard Round the World," a home run that won the National League pennant for the New York Giants and changed the lives of Branca and Thomson forever. Branca says the Giants were cheating, and he needs Stosh to use his power with baseball cards to go back in time and set things right.

Stosh is determined to help, but he quickly learns that you can't change just one little thing in history. If he erases the "Shot Heard Round the World," he may forever alter the life of a young rookie named Willie Mays. With wisdom from all the players he has helped before—plus the surprise return of some familiar faces—Stosh uses his power to travel in time using baseball cards one last time in a fabulous finale to the adventure of a lifetime.

Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in the English Language Arts

Age Range: 8 - 12 years / Grade Level: 3 - 7


The Lincoln Project - Flashback Four #1

The Lincoln Project
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9780062374417
  • Release: 2016-02-23
  • Author: Dan Gutman
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Kids: Children's, Kids: Middle Grade
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Buy Now

Congratulations! You are invited to participate in a very special once-in-a-lifetime experience. Please do not share this invitation or discuss it with anyone.

In New York Times bestselling author Dan Gutman's all-new series, which blends fascinating real history with an action-packed and hilarious adventure, four very different kids are picked by a mysterious billionaire to travel through time and photograph some of history's most important events. This time, the four friends are headed to 1863 to catch Abraham Lincoln delivering his famous Gettysburg Address. They'll have to work together to ask the right questions, meet the right people, and capture the right moment. And most important—not get caught! Back matter separating fact from fiction and real black-and-white photographs make Flashback Four the perfect mix of true history and uproarious fun.

Age Range: 8 - 12 years / Grade Level: 3 - 7


Johnny Hangtime

Johnny Hangtime
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9780062385741
  • Release: 2016-02-16
  • Author: Dan Gutman
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Kids: Children's, Kids: Middle Grade
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Buy Now

It's a bird, it's a plane—no, it's Johnny Hangtime! From New York Times bestselling author Dan Gutman comes an action-packed story of a stunt kid's daring escapades.

Jumping off the Empire State Building, fighting on the wing of a biplane, and parachuting onto the back of a horse are all in a day's work for thirteen-year-old Johnny Thyme, a stunt kid known in the movie business as Johnny Hangtime. But Johnny's phenomenal feats are a movie industry secret. Ricky Corvette, the superstar teen for whom Johnny doubles, wants his fans to think he does all his own stunts.

Johnny is devoted to repeating the career of his legendary stuntman father, but what's he going to do when his favorite director asks him to perform the super-dangerous stunt that killed his father? Will following in his daredevil dad's footsteps take him over the edge?

Age Level: 8 - 12 / Grade Level: 3 - 7


Mrs. Meyer Is on Fire! - My Weirdest School #4

Mrs. Meyer Is on Fire!
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780062284303
  • Release: 2016-02-16
  • Author: Dan Gutman
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Kids: Children's
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Buy Now

With more than 9 million books sold, My Weird School really gets kids reading!

In this fourth book in the new My Weirdest School series, the students of Ella Mentry School are learning about fire safety. Mrs. Meyer of the local fire department has been brought in to teach the students, but she is the weirdest safety expert in the world. She likes fire just a little too much. Will Mrs. Meyer catch on fire? Will she retire? What will transpire?

Perfect for reluctant readers and word lovers alike, Dan Gutman's hugely popular My Weird School series has something for everyone. Don't miss the hilarious adventures of A.J. and the gang.

Age Range: 6 - 10 years / Grade Level: 1 - 5


Deck the Halls, We're Off the Walls! - My Weird School Special

Deck the Halls, We're Off the Walls!
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780062206824
  • Release: 2013-09-24
  • Author: Dan Gutman
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Kids: Children's, Seasonal / Holiday
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Buy Now

A.J. and the gang from My Weird School star in this series of after-school, holiday-themed chapter books featuring brand-new hilarious stories and thirty-two pages of games, puzzles, and more.

It's Christmas, and you know what that means! Santa Claus is coming to town! Or at least to the local mall. But what happens when kid rapper Cray-Z gives a Christmas concert at the same mall and all his fans go bananas? One thing's for sure—if A.J. and his friends from Ella Mentry School want to save the day, they will need a Christmas miracle.

Bestselling author Dan Gutman brings his wacky, kid-friendly sense of humor to this all-new series of holiday adventures. With My Weird School trivia and Christmas-themed facts and puzzles, this is one weird Christmas special you don't want to miss!


It's Halloween, I'm Turning Green! - My Weird School Special

It's Halloween, I'm Turning Green!
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780062206794
  • Release: 2013-07-23
  • Author: Dan Gutman
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Kids: Children's, Seasonal / Holiday
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Buy Now

In this Weird School Special, It’s Halloween, I’m Turning Green!,  A.J. and the gang from the My Weird School series are ready for one of their favorite holidays!

It’s Halloween, and you know what that means! Candy! Costumes! More candy! What would happen if a kid ate a million hundred pounds of chocolate in one night? One thing’s for sure—when A.J. and his friends from Ella Mentry School go trick-or-treating, it will be a Halloween to remember.

Bestselling author Dan Gutman brings his wacky, kid-friendly sense of humor to this all-new series of holiday adventures. With hilarious illustrations by Jim Paillot, plus My Weird School trivia and Halloween-themed games, facts, and puzzles, this is one weird Halloween special you don’t want to miss!


My Weird Writing Tips

My Weird Writing Tips
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780062091062
  • Release: 2013-06-25
  • Author: Dan Gutman
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Kids: Middle Grade
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Buy Now

The ability to put thoughts into writing is an essential skill vital to success in school—from elementary school through college. Bestselling author Dan Gutman helps kids master this important skill with his fun, informative writing guide, My Weird Writing Tips.

Dan offers tricks for spelling hard words, understanding the difference between similar words like “its” and “it’s,” and conquering grammar stumbling blocks like commas and apostrophes. He also teaches readers how to write an engaging story, in line with the grades 2–5 Common Core goals for writing a narrative.

With illustrated appearances from A.J. and Andrea, stars of his bestselling My Weird School series, and with his trademark wacky sense of humor, Dan makes learning the writing and storytelling basics so fun kids will forget they’re learning.


Dr. Nicholas Is Ridiculous! - My Weirder School #8

Dr. Nicholas Is Ridiculous!
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9780062042187
  • Release: 2013-06-25
  • Author: Dan Gutman
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Kids: Children's
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Buy Now

A.J. and his friends are now third graders at Ella Mentry school in Dan Gutman’s outrageously funny chapter book series My Weirder School. 

In this eighth book, Dr. Nicholas Is Ridiculous!, college professor Dr. Nicholas visits A.J.’s class to help the students improve their standardized test scores in history. The weird thing is, Dr. Nicholas doesn’t care about the date Christopher Columbus came to America, who wrote the Declaration of Independence, or other important historical facts. She’s more interested in weird information like the history of the toilet bowl!

Dr. Nicholas has even built a time machine to take the class on a field trip to the past and future. Who will get stuck in time? You’ll have to read to find out!

Goofy illustrations by Jim Paillot make this adventure with Dr. Nicholas even more hilarious.

Age Level: 6 and up | Grade Level: 1 and up