Author: Cari Z

This author's biography has not yet been added to our database.

Library

Romantic Behavior - Bad Behavior Book 4

Romantic Behavior
  • 4 Stars
  • Number:
  • Release: 2018-01-15
  • Authors: Cari Z, L.A. Witt
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romantic Suspense, GLBTQ
  • Publisher: Riptide Publishing
  • Buy Now

Detective Andreas Ruffner is no fool—he’s found a man who loves him, puts up with him, and has stuck with him through hell and back, and it’s time to put a ring on it. Darren Corliss is the love of his life, and he wants the whole world to know it.

Now the fun part—the wedding!

Well, after the not-so-fun part of planning the wedding in between dealing with overbearing and impossible-to-please family members. With future mothers-in-law driving them both up a wall, the guest list growing out of control, and the wedding getting ever more complicated, Darren and Andreas have to wonder if they’re in over their heads.

But they’re going to make it to the altar if it kills them . . . and at this rate, it just might.


Suspicious Behavior - Bad Behavior Book 2

Suspicious Behavior
  • Stars
  • Number: B074YT42W3
  • Release: 2017-08-19
  • Authors: Cari Z, L.A. Witt
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romantic Suspense, GLBTQ
  • Publisher: Riptide Publishing
  • Buy Now

Book two in the Bad Behavior series

Detective Darren Corliss is hanging by a thread. In between recovering from a near-fatal wound and returning to work at a hostile precinct, he’s struggling to help care for his ailing brother. His partner and boyfriend, Detective Andreas Ruffner, wants to help, but doesn’t know how. And with his own family crises brewing, Andreas is spread almost as thin as Darren.

For cops, though, life takes a backseat to the job. When a stack of unsolved homicides drops into their laps, Andreas and Darren think they’re unrelated cold cases. But when a connection surfaces, they find themselves on the tail of a prolific serial killer who’s about to strike again.

Except they’ve got nothing. No leads. No suspects. Just a pile of circumstantial evidence and a whole lot of hunches. Time is running out to stop the next murder—and to pull themselves back from their breaking points.

Word count: 74,700; page cont: 280


Risky Behavior - Bad Behavior Book 1

Risky Behavior
  • Stars
  • Number: B071VB4HQ7
  • Release: 2017-04-29
  • Authors: Cari Z, L.A. Witt
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romantic Suspense, GLBTQ, #FirstInaSeries
  • Publisher: Riptide Publishing
  • Buy Now

It’s day one of Darren Corliss’s career as a detective, and not only has he been assigned a notoriously difficult partner, but the guy might also be a pill-popping dirty cop. Internal Affairs needs proof, and Darren gets to be their eyes and ears whether he wants to or not.

Detective Andreas Ruffner doesn’t play by the rules, and he doesn’t play well with others. With bodies piling up and a list of suspects who are way above his pay grade, the last thing he needs is a wet-behind-the-ears kid for a partner. Or babysitter. Not even if that partner is easy on the eyes.

As Darren gains Andreas’s hard-won trust, they both realize there’s more than just mutual suspicion simmering beneath the surface. But their investigation is heating up as quickly as their relationship, and Darren has no choice but to go along with Andreas’s unorthodox — and borderline unethical — methods. As IA puts the squeeze on Darren to give up the man he’s falling for, he has to wonder—is Andreas the only cop left in this town who isn’t dirty?

* * * * * * *

Word count: 81,800; page count: 319


Where There's a Will - Panopolis, #3

Where There's a Will
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9781626494053
  • Release: 2016-05-02
  • Author: Cari Z
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romance: Speculative / PNR, GLBTQ
  • Publisher: Riptide Publishing
  • Buy Now

Being a Hero in Panopolis means living the high life: parties, money, influence, even reality television. And I’m one of the most powerful Heroes in the city. I have plenty of fans, a manager who looks out for me (after himself), and a job that pays the bills. I should be enjoying myself.

Unfortunately, the downside of my superpower means I can’t touch anyone, which tends to put a damper on things. I probably don’t deserve all those perks anyway, since I’m working in secret with two of Panopolis’s biggest Villains to undermine GenCorp—my main sponsor and the company that controls what gets through my force field.

I obviously don’t trust my corporate overseers, but they’ve hired a new scientist who actually seems interested in helping me. Dr. Mansourian might have the answers to all my questions—not to mention a starring role in most of my dreams—but he’s hiding something big. If I let him have what he wants, I might not live to regret it.

Then again, the way things are going in Panopolis these days, I might not live either way.


Tempest

Tempest
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 9781619233386
  • Release: 2016-04-05
  • Author: Cari Z
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romance: Speculative / PNR, GLBTQ
  • Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd.
  • Buy Now

Love can change a soul. But can it save one life?

Colm Weathercliff is a simple fisherman with an uncanny—some might say preternatural—knack for his trade. He thought leaving his small village to take his father’s ashes to the capital city of Caithmor for a proper burial would be the grandest adventure of his life.

At first, all his hopes seem to be fulfilled. He finds a home where he’s accepted without question, the freedom to use his talent to its fullest effect, and love with Nichol, a man with a longing for the sea as powerful as Colm’s.

But Caithmor holds as many dangers as it does attractions. Colm’s greatest secret turns out to be a dark revelation that gets him and his family shunned—and changes everything he thought he knew about himself.

The truth—about his parentage, his gift, even his physical form—could poison his chance for love. And doom both him and Nichol to a gruesome, inescapable fate.

Warning: Contains graphic violence, explicit sex, and scenes of torture that may not be for the faint of heart. These mermen bear no resemblance to those you might have seen in a certain animated film.


Where There's Fire - Panopolis, #2

Where There's Fire
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: B011HI0L70
  • Release: 2015-07-12
  • Author: Cari Z
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romance: Speculative / PNR, GLBTQ
  • Publisher: Riptide Publishing
  • Buy Now

Making a name for myself as a Villain in Panopolis is hard work. Six months ago, my boyfriend broke me out of jail. Now he’s spending most of his time defending our turf against other Villains he accidentally freed along with me. And my new psychic powers are not only impossible to control, but they’re also giving me migraines.

But it’s not all doom and gloom. My skills are improving every day, and Raul—aka the Mad Bombardier—and I have never been happier. That is, until my first solo job is interrupted by a mysterious woman who tells me that Raul has been kidnapped by a ruthless new Villain. The only way to free him is to do a job for Maggot, a man with scary ideas and an even scarier superpower.

I can’t go to the cops or a Hero for help. Odds are they wouldn’t listen to me anyway. If I fail, Raul will be killed. If I succeed, we’ll both be bound to a man who’ll stop at nothing to put Panopolis on the path to civil war.

It looks like the only way to win is to take out the competition.


Where There's Smoke - Panopolis, #1

Where There's Smoke
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: B00WQ3YHGW
  • Release: 2015-04-25
  • Author: Cari Z
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romance: Speculative / PNR, GLBTQ, * Under 45k Words
  • Publisher: Riptide Publishing
  • Buy Now

Panopolis is a rough place to be an average Joe. I came here looking for adventure and excitement, but nobody cares about one more normal guy in a city filled with super-powered heroes. The closest I’ve come to glory is working in a bank that villains often rob.

But then I maybe accidentally-on-purpose helped a villain escape the hero who was trying to save the day. Imagine my shock when, a week later, that villain asked me out for coffee. One date turned into more, and now I’m head over heels in love with Raul.

Falling in love with the guy dubbed the Mad Bombardier isn’t without its downsides, though. I’ve had to deal with near-death encounters with other villains, awkwardly flirtatious heroes who won’t take no for an answer, and a lover I’m not sure I can trust. It’s getting to the point where I know I’ll have to make a choice: side with the heroes, or stand fast by my villain.

Either way, I think my days as a normal guy are over.


Camellia - Camellia, #1

Camellia
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: B00K61Y8WO
  • Release: 2014-05-06
  • Authors: Cari Z, Caitlin Ricci
  • Genre: HOT Romance
  • Tags: * SPICY: HOT Romance, * Contemporary, * SPICY: BDSM, * Under 45k Words
  • Publisher: Less Than Three Press, LLC
  • Buy Now

Danny doesn't expect much to come from the interview she has lined up through her modelling agency, who told her only that it involved tea and a kink convention. She thinks it won't be much more than wearing some strange outfit, sitting around, and getting easy money that she desperately needs.

What she gets instead is Lucy, a formidable woman in riding boots and a corset, who makes Danny want to please her without saying a word. By the end of the interview, Danny is convinced that her new job isn't going to be anywhere near as easy as she first believed. Can Danny make the woman determined to keep her at the end of her riding crop let her into her heart as well as her bed?


The Solstice Gift

The Solstice Gift
  • Number: 9781781841587
  • Release: 2012-11-19
  • Author: Cari Z
  • Genre: HOT Romance
  • Tags: * Romance: Speculative / PNR, * SPICY: HOT Romance, GLBTQ, Suspense: Action / Thriller, * Under 45k Words
  • Publisher: Totally Bound Publishing
  • Buy Now

How long can a human survive in the treacherous court of the winter fae, when even his allies are fighting for their lives?

Dis is a changeling, a human stolen away from his own world as a child by the vicious winter fae. He's survived to adulthood through a combination of luck and careful oversight by his only ally, a fairy lord named Marten, but his success might have finally reached its end.

It's the winter solstice, and Oberon's court is preparing for a hunt with a history of bloodshed, one that requires Dis to be an unwilling participant. Even if Dis lives through that, he's being watched by the king of the fae himself, and no one can save him if Oberon has marked him for sacrifice.


A Blinded Mind

A Blinded Mind
  • Number: B0062M1E0A
  • Release: 2011-11-01
  • Author: Cari Z
  • Genre: HOT Romance
  • Tags: * SPICY: HOT Romance, GLBTQ, Diverse Books, Suspense: Mystery
  • Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
  • Buy Now

Jonathan Hatcher has led an interesting life. Once the psychic prot‚g‚ of Dr. Nelson Cagney of the Bureau of Psychological Corrections, he escaped and went on the run through post-World War Three Europe, scraping a living out of the ruins of civilization and avoiding the mindless vics: humans turned berserker by exposure to biological and chemical weapons.

Once again at Cagney's mercy, Jonathan is stuck in PsyCo's high-security wing with no idea whether Sam, the man he thinks he may love, is alive or dead by his hand. Though at first he only plays along for news of Sam, soon Jonathan sees the conditions in the warring European Coalition are desperate. Sam and Jonathan must make a choice: make for France and a life together. or team up with their captors against a devastating new threat.


Silver Wings

Silver Wings
  • Number:
  • Release: Out Now
  • Authors: Cari Z, Leigh Ellwood, Mahalia Levey
  • Genre: HOT Romance
  • Tags: GLBTQ, Collections & Anthologies
  • Publisher: Phaze Books
  • Buy Now

Wayward cowboys with mechanical toys, an enterprising post-Civil War pleasure seeker, lovers conflicted in flight, and a lonely inventor whose salvation washes up on the shore of Penzance...these stories of passion in the time of steam are guaranteed to set fire to your sense.

Silver Wings, an anthology of M/M and bi-male steampunk, features works by Cari Z., Mahalia Levey, Ross Baxter and JT Whitehall, edited by Phaze bestseller Leigh Ellwood. 


Strangely Familiar - A Phaze Roar Heat Sheet

Strangely Familiar
  • 4 Stars
  • Number: 978-1-60659-145-1
  • Release: Out Now
  • Author: Cari Z
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romance: Speculative / PNR
  • Publisher: Phaze Books
  • Buy Now

Cecily Mason is the youngest in a long line of powerful witches, and the time has come for her to summon her familiar, an animal companion to strengthen her abilities and share her life. Only instead of summoning a simple animal she summons a werejaguar, and the man inside the beast isn't happy to be under her control. Like it or not, they're stuck with each other, and in order to save both their lives they'll have to learn to live with each other, and eventually to love each other as well.

Length: HeatSheet (15K words)