Author: Caleb Krisp

Caleb Krisp was raised by militant librarians who fed him a constant diet of 19th century literature and room temperature porridge. His childhood was cut tragically short after he sold his Great Aunt Mabel for a handful of perfectly ordinary pumpkin seeds. Caleb graduated from the University of Sufferance with a degree in Whimsy and set out to make his mark in the world as a writer. Years of toil and failure followed, until, following a brief stint working in a locked box, Caleb moved to an abandoned cottage deep in the woods and devoted himself to writing about the adventures of a twelve year old lady's maid of no importance. His only communication with the outside world is via morse code or kettle drum. Caleb has a strong dislike of pastry chefs and certain domesticated rabbits. It is his express wish that you stop reading this now.

Library

Somebody Stop Ivy Pocket - Ivy Pocket, #2

Somebody Stop Ivy Pocket
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780062364371
  • Release: 2016-05-31
  • Author: Caleb Krisp
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Kids: Children's, Kids: Middle Grade
  • Publisher: Greenwillow Books
  • Buy Now

Are you ready for Ivy Pocket? The wickedly funny, completely unreliable maid of no importance returns—this time as a coffin maker’s daughter—in this action-packed sequel to Anyone but Ivy Pocket. School Library Journal says, “Fans of . . . Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events will love Ivy Pocket’s zany adventures.” Featuring extensive black-and-white interior art by Barbara Cantini throughout.

Everyone seems to want a piece of Ivy Pocket. Her adoptive parents keep trying to get her to clean the funeral home, even though Ivy’s certain she’s already the picture of a perfect daughter. A beautiful heiress named Estelle wants Ivy to uncover the dark truth behind her brother’s death. Her new friend, Miss Carnage, keeps asking Ivy the most curious questions (the poor, clueless dear). To top it all off, Ivy must protect the Clock Diamond from the evil Miss Always, who seems to be lurking around every corner! A fast-paced and hilarious follow-up to Anyone but Ivy Pocket, which Booklist praised as “a droll chapter book with a Victorian setting and a one-of-a-kind protagonist.” This is the second of three books about Ivy Pocket!

Age Range: 8 - 12 years / Grade Level: 3 - 7


Anyone but Ivy Pocket

Anyone but Ivy Pocket
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780062364340
  • Release: 2015-04-21
  • Author: Caleb Krisp
  • Genre: Mainstream
  • Tags: Kids: Children's, Kids: Middle Grade
  • Publisher: Greenwillow Books
  • Buy Now

A darkly whimsical and wickedly funny tale about a twelve-year-old maid who finds herself at the very heart of a conspiracy involving mischief, ghosts, and intrigue. Just right for fans of Lemony Snicket and Neil Gaiman, Anyone but Ivy Pocket is the first book in a four-book series and is illustrated throughout.

Ivy Pocket is a walking disaster, at every turn enraging and appalling the fancy aristocrats she works for. But our protagonist doesn't see herself that way at all. In fact, she's convinced she's rather wonderful, perfectly charming, and extremely talented. When Ivy finds herself abandoned and penniless in Paris, she has no idea how she will get back to England. Fate intervenes when Ivy is called to the sickbed of a dying duchess and is charged with delivering a spectacular (and possibly cursed) diamond necklace to Matilda Butterfield on her twelfth birthday. From that moment on, Ivy Pocket is propelled towards her remarkable destiny in a surprising adventure full of villains, mayhem, and misunderstandings.

Age Level: 8 - 12 | Grade Level: 3 - 7