Alyson McLayne

Visit Alyson McLayne's Web Site.

Night Owl Reviews provides author pages for published authors. To update or get an author page of your own, just click here!

Author: Alyson McLayne

Alyson McLayne is a mom of twins and an award-winning writer of contemporary, historical and paranormal romance. She’s also a dog lover and cat servant with a serious stash of dark chocolate. After getting her degree in theater at the University of Alberta, she promptly moved to the West Coast of Canada where she worked in film for several years and met her prop master husband.

Alyson has been nominated for several Romance Writers of America contests, including The Golden Heart, The Golden Pen, The Orange Rose, Great Expectations, The Molly’s and The Winter Rose.

Her debut historical romance, Highland Promise, will be published by Sourcebooks on October 3, 2017. Highland Promise is the first of five books in The Sons of Gregor MacLeod series. Highland Bride will come out February 1, 2018.

Alyson and her family reside in Vancouver with their sweet but troublesome chocolate lab puppy named Jasper.

Please look her up on Facebook ( or Twitter (@AlysonMcLayne). She loves chatting with her fans!


Highland Betrayal - The Sons of Gregor MacLeod, #3

Highland Betrayal
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: B079JWZ724
  • Release: 2018-08-07
  • Author: Alyson McLayne
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romance: Historical
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Buy Now

"Witty banter, adventure and passion!"—ELIZA KNIGHT, USA Today bestselling author

A betrothal. A betrayal. A love threatened by treachery.

Laird Callum MacLean vowed to marry Maggie MacDonnell. But when his father's apparent suicide makes him Laird of his clan, Callum must unmask his father's killer before bringing Maggie into his dangerous new home.

Maggie's home isn't any safer. When Callum fails to return, Maggie does what any resourceful Highland lass would do. She escapes—and finds herself toe-to-toe with Callum, who's determined to fulfill his promise. Maggie can't bring herself to trust him with her heart again. But with a traitor still at large, they must rely on each other in every way, or their clans—and their love—will be destroyed.

The Sons of Gregor MacLeod:

Highland Promise (Book 1)

Highland Conquest (Book 2)

Highland Betrayal (Book 3)

More praise for McLayne's Sons of Gregor MacLeod:

"Raises the bar of Scottish-set historical romances."—BookPage

"You'll be captivated by the humor, passion and adventure."—RT Book Reviews

"Expertly crafted... [a] page-turner."—Publishers Weekly

Highland Conquest - The Sons of Gregor MacLeod, #2

Highland Conquest
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: B076BW7G2D
  • Release: 2018-02-06
  • Author: Alyson McLayne
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romance: Historical
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Buy Now


Laird Lachlan MacKay never planned on leading his clan, but when his older brother was murdered, he was left with no choice. His vow to avenge his brother has led him to the MacPherson clan—and their bewitching healer, Amber.


Amber MacPherson is desperate. Dressed as a boy to escape her clan's treacherous leader, she runs right into Lachlan—who orders her detained. At first she causes him nothing but frustration, especially when she blackmails him into helping her clan. But when she's threatened by the same man who murdered his brother, Lachlan will do whatever it takes to keep her safe—and by his side.

Highland Promise - The Sons of Gregor MacLeod Book 1

Highland Promise
  • Stars
  • Number: B01NAYPML2
  • Release: 2017-10-03
  • Author: Alyson McLayne
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Romance: Historical, #FirstInaSeries
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Buy Now


Darach MacKenzie vowed never again to let a woman near his heart after his betrothed betrayed him. It sparked a blood feud between his clan and the Frasers. Now all-out war is in the wind, and he can’t allow a woman to distract him again—even a charming, troublesome lass who desperately needs his help.


When Darach rescued Caitlin MacInnes from the vile Laird Fraser, she vowed to never let men or misery rule her life again. She has a plan, and it involves leaving Darach and the MacKenzies no matter how safe and happy she feels. But when Laird Fraser shows up to claim what is rightfully his, it’s too late, Darach will have to use all his brawn and brains to protect Caitlin—even if it means losing his heart.

The Fabrizio Bride - Sizzling Sexy Santa Barbara Book 1

The Fabrizio Bride
  • Number: B01DUUA12S
  • Release: 2016-04-04
  • Author: Alyson McLayne
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary, #FirstInaSeries
  • Publisher: Starlane Entertainment Inc.
  • Buy Now

From Golden Heart Finalist Alyson McLayne comes a new contemporary romance series set in Sizzling, Sexy, Santa Barbara.

A year after being dumped by her childhood friend-turned-lover, Sarika Dkany has decided to move on with her life. No more waiting for Rafe to come back for her. No more putting her life on hold. She wants everything he can’t give her: a home, husband, and family, and she’s going to get them – with someone else.

She’s done trying to make him love her.

But then Rafe shows up and turns her world upside down – again – and it takes every ounce of determination she has to keep her hands to herself and keep saying ‘no’…even though she’s waited half her life to hear the question.

* * *

For all of Rafael Fabrizio’s trappings of success – his old-money family, his multi-national company, his movie star good looks – he’s a man afraid to let his guard down and take what he really wants: Sarika, his grandmother’s Goddaughter and only woman to set his body – and soul – on fire.

A fire that burns so hot, so all-consuming, he feels out of control.

So when his grandmother falls ill and he has to bring Sarika back to Santa Barbara, he’s determined to keep his distance – except Sarika does the unthinkable and says she’s over him. Faced with a lifetime without her, Rafe realizes he needs her and vows to convince her he’s changed – before she finds someone else who’s not afraid to love her.

* * *

But has he really changed? Sarika doesn’t think so. To prove it, she has a plan, and if he truly wants to be with her, he’ll get on board…no matter where it takes them.

The D'amici Mistake - Sizzling, Sexy, Santa Barbara Book 2

The D'amici Mistake
  • Number: B01DUWNMJU
  • Release: 2016-04-04
  • Author: Alyson McLayne
  • Genre: Romance
  • Tags: * Contemporary
  • Publisher: Starlane Entertainment Inc.
  • Buy Now

From Golden Heart Finalist Alyson McLayne comes a new contemporary romance series following the boys of St. Ignatius who are all grown up and still fighting it out on the soccer field--and finding love in Sizzling, Sexy, Santa Barbara.

It was only supposed to be one night...

Ever since self-made man Santo D'amici and heiress Elena Berrucci snuck off for a tryst at their best friends' wedding, they've been trying to break up. The affair should have ended with the light of day, but something keeps pulling them back together--into his bed, the shower, the back seat of the limousine--anywhere they can retreat from Santa Barbara's prying, society eyes.

One night that turned into months...

Now Elena's threatened by a potential kidnapping and Santo insists on staying close even though Elena believes it's a hoax. If that weren't bad enough, a pregnancy test confirms their wild nights have had permanent consequences, and Santo sets out to convince Elena marriage is their only option. But having survived the crossfire of her parents' acrimonious relationship, Elena has vowed never to subject herself to that kind of misery.

Can Elena give their relationship--their family--a chance and turn one night into a lifetime of love?