Author: Alastair Sim

This author's biography has not yet been added to our database.

Library

The Unbelievers

The Unbelievers
  • 5 Stars
  • Number: 9780312621698
  • Release: 2010-09-14
  • Author: Alastair Sim
  • Genre: Suspense
  • Tags:
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Buy Now

A brooding, Victorian murder mystery set in the Scottish Highlands and featuring Inspector Allerdyce and Sergeant McGillivray

Scotland’s richest man has been shot dead and dumped down a well. Was the Duke of Dornoch murdered by one of the miners whose wages he cut because of “market forces”? Was he killed in return for his part in clearing the Highlands of their people? Did a discarded lover take their final revenge?

Inspector Allerdyce and Sergeant McGillivray VC must find out before the killer strikes again. But their search, from the material heights of Victorian society to its moral dregs, threatens to overturn everything Allerdyce believes and loves.

In the tradition of Charles Finch and The Somnambulist, Alastair Sim has crafted a memorable, atmospheric novel that covers new ground in the world of Victorian mysteries.