The Marquis

Buy Now

The Marquis

The 13th Floor series, #1

Marc was the greatest of all master demons, one of which legends were written. Marc retired when he grew tired of the death and destruction he wrought for his former employer. He has grown weaker over time and now can barely dispatch a minor minion without being physically drained. He is loosing his demon that he has suppressed so long and becoming a mere human. He has found a refuge in an apartment building which has a hidden 13th floor. The building itself decides who may enter and find its hidden floor. He was the first tenant and looks at his neighbors as being under his protection. The bright spot in his life is Mae, the owner operator of the diner just down from his apartment. Then Vetis, his old co-worker finds him and decides he wants to make points with the boss and bring him back into the fold. Suddenly all hell literally breaks loose on the streets of Carmine and Marc watches as his town burns around him. Can the love of a saint like Mae save him or is he doomed to be the right hand man to the devil himself forever.

The 13th Floor is the brainchild of Christine Rains and is a wonderful series written about a variety of different supernatural beings. This is part of what drew me to this series. The author has drawn a picture with her words so that the town to me sounds like a small town that is fighting to survive. It’s similar to many small towns that we have traveled through. The Marquis is a very quick read that flows very smoothly. It touches on the other residents of the 13th floor enough to keep you on the edge of your seat waiting for whatever Ms. Rains might come up with next. The characters are so well described you can imagine them as you read and to me that is one of the most important part of any book. Christina Rains' the Marquis may be a short read but she has managed to fit a whole hidden world in those few pages. "1301: The Marquis is the first in a series of books on that hidden world that exists within our own. Come and join her as she explores it. If you only read one book in this series this is the one as it lays the ground work for all the others.

Book Blurb for The Marquis

Life after Hell isn't more exciting than watching football and fixing a busted pipe. Once a powerful demon, Marc enjoys his quiet existence and a good cup of coffee. With big ambitions to gain his master's favor, a trickster demon named Vetis shatters Marc's peace and vows to deliver Marc's head to the fires of Hell. Not before he destroys everything Marc cares about, of course.

Marc's power has diminished over the years. Heaven will never grant him absolution, and he refuses to return to Hell. Running isn't an option. The city of Carmine is his territory. It's also home to his favorite cafe owner, Mae Hopkins. The dame has a lovely smile, but it's her heart and soul that shine bright.

While his city burns and his love is captured, Marc must decide to surrender or let hate and anger fuel him to become the fearsome beast he so loathes: The Marquis. If the Marquis rises, Vetis can be defeated and Mae saved, but Marc would be lost to his demon forever.

Night Owl Reviews Jun, 2013 4.50