The Flower Reader

Buy Now

The Flower Reader

Rinette Leslie is at the deathbed of Mary of Guise, queen regent of Scotland, and plans on making her way home to her beloved Granmuir. But the dying queen entrusts Rinette with a silver casket filled with secrets of Scotland's leading families. Rinette makes it home to Granmuir and marries her beloved Alexander, but the silver casket claims his life and her happiness. She trades the silver casket for her husband's murderer, but will Rinette be able to survive long enough to see that trade happen? She must rely on her ability to read the flowers, but can she trust her instincts?

This was a great historical read, with Rinette being a strong female character in a time that neither valued nor appreciated a woman's worth. I was skeptical when I first started the book, about Rinette's flower reading ability, but it was portrayed in a way that fit the book and wasn't hokey or over the top. I enjoyed how the historical personages, such as Nostradamus and James Stewart, were interplayed with fictional characters. Fans of Karen Harper and Philippa Gregory will enjoy Elizabeth Loupas' new take on historical fiction.


Book Blurb for The Flower Reader

Rinette Leslie of Granmuir has the ancient gift of divining the future in flowers, but her gift cannot prepare her for the turmoil that comes when the dying queen regent entrusts her with a casket full of Scotland's darkest secrets. On the very day she means to deliver it to newly crowned Mary, Queen of Scots, Rinette's husband is brutally assassinated.

Devastated, Rinette demands justice before she will surrender the casket, but she is surrounded by ruthless men who will do anything to possess it. In the end, the flowers are all she can trust-and only the flowers will lead her safely home to Granmuir.


Night Owl Reviews Mar, 2012 4.00